Digital Art Zone

 
     
Needing a snow-covered Xmas tree/fir tree (or directions to a Bryce tut)
Posted: 19 December 2012 06:08 AM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  32
Joined  2010-06-06

I’m working on a Christmas card for some of my military buds, and I need a snow-covered conically shaped tree (or a pointer to a Bryce tutorial on how to make one and cover it with snow).

I wouldn’t mind some “Foley trees” for the background, but I need some 3d trees for the foreground.

Thanks

Jim

 Signature 

“If I can leave you with one thing it would be this: Live life with your heart and your mind. Those are the two most powerful organs. And have the courage to show the world your soul. Put it out there – some people will love it, some will hate it, but at least you took the risk. And that’s what matters.”
—Shirley Kirk © 2009

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 December 2012 06:37 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15915
Joined  2003-10-09

Moved to the Bryce forum because it is a request for, not an offer of, a freebie.  Someone here may have some ideas.

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        Neil’Vs Freebies and stuff        Autumn Bryce Rendering Challenge        September Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 December 2012 07:22 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1611
Joined  2007-12-10

Here you go

It’s the one I used in this render, though I added my own decorations, the snow is already on it as a separate mesh so you can recolour it or remove it as you wish.

Image Attachments
BearTree2.jpg
 Signature 

I’ve got nothing of my own to promote, no models, no tutorials, no website, nothin’, nada, nill, nowt.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 December 2012 01:58 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Addict
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4766
Joined  2004-07-01

here’s a free tree and other stuff -
http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/13287/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 December 2012 04:25 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  32
Joined  2010-06-06

Thanks to both of y’alll. This is going to be a tree farm so with two, I can do a lot of tweeking.

JIm

 Signature 

“If I can leave you with one thing it would be this: Live life with your heart and your mind. Those are the two most powerful organs. And have the courage to show the world your soul. Put it out there – some people will love it, some will hate it, but at least you took the risk. And that’s what matters.”
—Shirley Kirk © 2009

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 December 2012 05:31 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1611
Joined  2007-12-10

One fir tree looks much like an other fir tree. You’ll only need to rotate them a bit each time to give them a slightly different profile and maybe alter the size a few percent.
Ideally, you could use the Instance Lab to do all that for you, but if you try, remember to save your work at each stage as the IL can be a bit unstable.

Also, with the tree I linked to, the fir needles are separate from the branches and the snow, so you can select the needle mesh and alter the colour in the material lab, maybe making the smaller trees a lighter green colour.

 Signature 

I’ve got nothing of my own to promote, no models, no tutorials, no website, nothin’, nada, nill, nowt.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 December 2012 06:15 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  32
Joined  2010-06-06
TheSavage64 - 19 December 2012 05:31 PM

One fir tree looks much like an other fir tree. You’ll only need to rotate them a bit each time to give them a slightly different profile and maybe alter the size a few percent.
Ideally, you could use the Instance Lab to do all that for you, but if you try, remember to save your work at each stage as the IL can be a bit unstable.

Also, with the tree I linked to, the fir needles are separate from the branches and the snow, so you can select the needle mesh and alter the colour in the material lab, maybe making the smaller trees a lighter green colour.

Thanks, i’ll give that a try. And I shall be honest - as a novice, I seriously doubt if I’d have thought about instancing.

Regardless, I’ll post it in the WIP section as soon as I get a preliminary scene set up.

 

 Signature 

“If I can leave you with one thing it would be this: Live life with your heart and your mind. Those are the two most powerful organs. And have the courage to show the world your soul. Put it out there – some people will love it, some will hate it, but at least you took the risk. And that’s what matters.”
—Shirley Kirk © 2009

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 December 2012 08:35 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  927
Joined  2003-10-09
RangerJimK - 19 December 2012 06:15 PM
TheSavage64 - 19 December 2012 05:31 PM

One fir tree looks much like an other fir tree. You’ll only need to rotate them a bit each time to give them a slightly different profile and maybe alter the size a few percent.
Ideally, you could use the Instance Lab to do all that for you, but if you try, remember to save your work at each stage as the IL can be a bit unstable.

Also, with the tree I linked to, the fir needles are separate from the branches and the snow, so you can select the needle mesh and alter the colour in the material lab, maybe making the smaller trees a lighter green colour.

Thanks, i’ll give that a try. And I shall be honest - as a novice, I seriously doubt if I’d have thought about instancing.

Regardless, I’ll post it in the WIP section as soon as I get a preliminary scene set up.

 

Well if the goal is a tree farm then you pretty much would have to use instancing to accomplish it as bryce is rather limited by today’s standards on how much memory it can use. If you were to load the scene with a sufficient number of individual tree objects to constitute a tree farm then you’ld likely run into memory usage problems at some point. The instancing lab can give you the large number of trees though without the memory overhead of loading that many individual trees. What TheSavage64 said about the instancing lab being unstable to a degree is true but I think alot of the reported instability is a lack of understanding on how to use the Instancing lab and to help minimize that Rashad Carter has developed a tutorial of sorts that can be found here http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/3381/

He used the Instancing Lab to create the scene below so I think a tree farm should be very doable.

 

Image Attachments
Alpine_Valley.jpg
Profile