Digital Art Zone

 
     
How To Make Daz3d Hair For Genesis
Posted: 16 December 2012 05:00 PM   [ Ignore ]
New Member
Total Posts:  1
Joined  2012-12-10

Hi i want to create my own hair for daz model
i try to find tutorial but google didnt show any good result about this topic.
can any one tell me in details how to do that form 1st to last.
i am new to daz3d
i can use 3d max, zbrush, poser,
Thanks for the help in advance :)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 December 2012 05:50 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2945
Joined  2011-12-10

there’s always Hexagon.

One thing, creating hair requires a very good understanding of UVS.  I started with UVMapper http://www.uvmapper.com

Building hair is, IMHO, the single most difficult thing to model well for a human figure.  clothing is easier.

 Signature 

My DeviantArt Galleries
My ShareCG Gallery
OPENSUBDIV Testing and Discussion
3Delight Surface and Lighting Thread

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 December 2012 01:29 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5595
Joined  2006-02-20

There are some hair tutorials at the end of this message:
http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/447/#2963

 Signature 

I like Bryce, DazStudio, Poser and Vue ... in alphabetical order. And I would probably like Carrara too, if I could find the time to become acquainted with it. Peace?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 December 2012 03:47 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2754
Joined  2009-02-24
wancow - 16 December 2012 05:50 PM

there’s always Hexagon.

One thing, creating hair requires a very good understanding of UVS.  I started with UVMapper http://www.uvmapper.com

Building hair is, IMHO, the single most difficult thing to model well for a human figure.  clothing is easier.

Actually, I find hair slightly easier to model, since alpha maps can do a lot of the hard work for you. The hard part isn’t the modelling but the texturing. Getting the right looking texture and alpha’s in the right place makes all the difference, and when it works well, the effect can be stunning. When it doesn’t, it’s VERY noticeable.

 Signature 

Find me on DeviantArt
Download my free IBL presets for Luxus
Re-upload of Cresent’s awesome pwToon shaders
Create your own Smart Content

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 December 2012 02:43 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2945
Joined  2011-12-10

How I model hair, I find it more difficult because I have to plan for the UVS before I ever create a polygon.  It always works better if I do…

Clothing is mostly just shape matching and adding detail… hair involves layering, and then you have to create morphs… uhg…

 Signature 

My DeviantArt Galleries
My ShareCG Gallery
OPENSUBDIV Testing and Discussion
3Delight Surface and Lighting Thread

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 September 2013 07:02 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  7
Joined  2006-07-08

Why is it I cannot export poser 7 hair into Daz3d?  I would really like to use dynamic hair for a model I am working on.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 September 2013 07:13 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5595
Joined  2006-02-20

Poser Dynamic Hair depends on the render engine of Poser - DazStudio uses another render engine.

There are plugins that you can use to create similar hair for DazStudio’s render engine (but these hairs don’t work easily in Poser):
http://www.daz3d.com/garibaldi-express-hair-system-for-daz-studio
http://www.daz3d.com/look-at-my-hair
Comparison thread for the two different plugins: http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/17345/

 Signature 

I like Bryce, DazStudio, Poser and Vue ... in alphabetical order. And I would probably like Carrara too, if I could find the time to become acquainted with it. Peace?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 September 2013 07:14 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15323
Joined  2003-10-09

Poser dynamic hair is dependent upon the Poser hair room, so export is not possible.

There are a couple of hair plug-ins that do work with DS

http://www.daz3d.com/look-at-my-hair

http://www.daz3d.com/garibaldi-express-hair-system-for-daz-studio

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        Neil’Vs Freebies and stuff        L Summer Bryce Rendering Challenge        July Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 September 2013 07:29 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  7
Joined  2006-07-08
chohole - 11 September 2013 07:14 AM

Poser dynamic hair is dependent upon the Poser hair room, so export is not possible.

There are a couple of hair plug-ins that do work with DS

http://www.daz3d.com/look-at-my-hair

http://www.daz3d.com/garibaldi-express-hair-system-for-daz-studio

That is what I thought.  Thank you.

Profile