Digital Art Zone

 
     
Finding newly installed content in Default but not in Unassigned
Posted: 16 December 2012 04:51 PM   [ Ignore ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1348
Joined  2003-10-09

When I install new content, sometimes it goes in Unassigned where I can find it, and sometimes it goes into other Default categories.

To make categorizing easier, I usually only install one product at a time, or a combination of obviously unrelated content.  Because the Unassigned category is always empty, everything in here can be immediately found, no problem.  However the non-Unassigned Default categories are a bit trickier.  Theoretically one can look for the blue highlighting to find the content.  Unfortunately sometimes the blue highlighting is not removed for empty categories which would gradually create more and more categories to have to look through to find your newly installed content, and of of course if you actually try to use any of the content (perhaps to see exactly how it interacts with existing content to determine where to put it) the blue highlighting will be lost.  Short of manually looking at every single category and subcategory in the entire system under Default, I don’t see a good way to find lost content in here if you don’t know it’s name.

How do other people avoid this problem?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 December 2012 05:01 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2945
Joined  2011-12-10

That’s been a problem for me as well… I sometimes end up using Windows explorer to search for files after looking for a file list.

You could check your products tab, I usually forget to do this as I’m comfortable moving around in the content library.  I have Town and Country, for instance, which is spread out in the wardrobe smart content, but shows as a single group under products…. that’s a set I’m particularly fond of.

 Signature 

My DeviantArt Galleries
My ShareCG Gallery
OPENSUBDIV Testing and Discussion
3Delight Surface and Lighting Thread

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 December 2012 05:20 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1348
Joined  2003-10-09

Thanks, I forgot all about the Products list since I don’t normally use that.  That will help.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 December 2012 10:31 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8427
Joined  2007-11-06

What I do is NOT import metadata after installing a new product.  I do a search for new content, it ends up in Unassigned, and I categorize it using my own system.  Only then do I import metadata for the product.

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ

Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips starting July 2013
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Plugin Version Numbers for DS 4.5
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 December 2012 07:47 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1336
Joined  2006-03-14
fixmypcmike - 16 December 2012 10:31 PM

What I do is NOT import metadata after installing a new product.  I do a search for new content, it ends up in Unassigned, and I categorize it using my own system.  Only then do I import metadata for the product.

This is about the only way to make it work for those of use who prefer our content structure to the default one.

 Signature 

My Tutorials and Freebies Index

Profile