V4.2 hair not fitting

TabianTabian Posts: 68
edited December 1969 in DAZ Studio Discussion

Hello 3D people, can anybody tell me why the hair on my Victoria 4.2 does not fit her head...

V4.2_.jpg
1920 x 1089 - 154K

Comments

  • Richard HaseltineRichard Haseltine Posts: 19,387
    edited December 1969

    Which hair is it, and what type (.hr2 prop hair or .cr2 figure hair)? If it's prop hair it may be that its default fit is for another figure, and it needs a morph or pose applied to fit V4

  • BejaymacBejaymac Posts: 1,025
    edited December 1969

    Your trying to fit the Aldora hair that comes with DS4 to V4.2, that hair is meant for Genesis and doesn't "fit to" any of the older figures very well.

  • TabianTabian Posts: 68
    edited December 1969

    Thanks Richard for answering my post. The hair I am using is Aldora Hair it works OK on Genesis but not on V4
    Regards Tabian
    :roll:

  • TabianTabian Posts: 68
    edited December 1969

    Thanks Bejaymac, That says it all. I must go and buy some more hair. If it’s good enough for Elton John is good enough for me...

    By the way I love your dancing Avatar.

    My best Tabian

  • wancowwancow Posts: 2,708
    edited December 2012

    You can export the aldora hair to OBJ and fit it to V4 after re-importing it. If you're going to invest anything, I'd invest in Generation X and the V4/M4 shapes for Genesis, that way you don't have to use V4, you can just go with Genesis, which is a far more advanced and all around better figure, and translate any character to it...

    That's the path I took, and I think it's money better spent.
    http://www.daz3d.com/shop/genesis-generation-x
    http://www.daz3d.com/shop/v4-and-m4-shapes-for-genesis

    Post edited by wancow on
  • TabianTabian Posts: 68
    edited December 1969

    Thanks for the links Wancow, I'll see what Santa brings for me before I stick my hand into my pocket.

  • mjc1016mjc1016 Posts: 7,240
    edited December 1969

    Take a look at this thread...

    http://www.daz3d.com/forums/discussion/447/

    Many of the hair items in it are for Gen4 (V4, M4, etc) or have 'fit poses' for Gen4.

  • BlackFeather1973BlackFeather1973 Posts: 739
    edited December 1969

    Most hair can be used on most figures with little trouble.
    Right-click the hair, "Fit Aldora Hair to..." --> None
    Right-click the hair again, "Change Aldora Hair Parent..." --> choose Victoria's head from the list

    Et voila...

    V4_aldora.png
    500 x 500 - 223K
  • TabianTabian Posts: 68
    edited December 1969

    Thanks BF for the intel. I'll have a go at your method It seems like a quick inexpensive way of doing it.
    Tabian

    PS how many posts do I have to make before I can display my Avatar

  • wancowwancow Posts: 2,708
    edited December 2012

    I see your avatar... it looks like a very creepy clown with red hair and a top hat... I have the very strange urge to buy him a beer....

    Post edited by wancow on
  • mjc1016mjc1016 Posts: 7,240
    edited December 1969

    Tabian13 said:
    PS how many posts do I have to make before I can display my Avatar

    It's Johnny Depp as the Mad Hatter...

  • TabianTabian Posts: 68
    edited December 1969

    It's the Mercury that does it...

  • jsdazjsdaz Posts: 40
    edited December 1969

    @blackfeather

    Super helpful. Thanks!

Sign In or Register to comment.
Rocket Fuel