Digital Art Zone

 
     
[Solved/Link Posted]Help packaging a “Martini Glass” freebie that will be posted here!
Posted: 03 June 2012 07:44 PM   [ Ignore ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1311
Joined  2003-12-16

[EDIT 6/7] The prop can be found here
http://www.renderosity.com/mod/freestuff/details.php?item_id=68579

So I decided to take the time that the forms were being overhauled and see if I could learn Blender.  Long story short I’ve opened a can of worms but an intriguing can of worms none the less.

Since most of the Google searches I do that point me back here no longer have live links that are accessible I’ll have to ask:
I’ve created a model in Blender, imported it over to Studio, textured it, and it renders. Now how do I package it up so I can post it and give it away? in other words were do I find the data files, this was done in DS 3.1.2.34 64 bit if that’s important.


[edited because I can’t spell worth a dam]
[edited a second time because I forgot to include the image]


Image removed by a moderator till resized…please see this thread for info: http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewannounce/510_98/

 

 Signature 

Gravy to potatoes, Luke to Darth Vader, I’m a souped up sucker and I’ll see you all later

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 June 2012 07:50 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1896
Joined  2005-12-31

Studio only or Poser and Studio?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 June 2012 07:51 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  194
Joined  2006-04-15

1. The olives. I want this for the olives.
2. That image is pagebreaking. Please make it less than 800px on the largest side.


Yeah, I’ve got nothing useful. Yay, olives.

 Signature 

“Why’s all the rum gone?”  *looks at the last render*  “Oh. That’s why the rum’s gone…”
DAZ Studio 3.1.2.32 | Windows 7 Pro SP1 x32 | ATI Radeon HD 4200
Say YES to David 5!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 June 2012 08:51 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2304
Joined  2006-01-19
StratDragon - 03 June 2012 07:44 PM

.... Now how do I package it up so I can post it and give it away?

pros must have better ways but here’s how i package my free props


lets suppose your poser content folder is C:\Program Files\DAZ\Studio\content\Runtime
load the .obj produced by Blender in Daz Studio
scale it down if needed,  ( create a primitive-cube, 10cm tall and see if your glass’s size makes sense and delete the cube )


apply textures and colors
if there’s image/textures they should be moved to
C:\Program Files\DAZ\Studio\content\Runtime\textures\StratDragon
your surfaces/materials should only make use of the images in that folder,
not the ones found elsewhere on your computer


select your object, ( or the parent-node if you grouped many objects under a null node ))
use the free script “PP2 Exporter” by duke533 —-> precious link follows !!
http://puzzlekiraly.hu/lom
change the destination folders like this:
save the prop in c:\program files\daz\studio\content\runtime\libraries\props\StratDragon
under the name cglass.pp2
save the geometry in C:\Program Files\DAZ\Studio\content\Runtime\geometries\StratDragon
under the name cglass.obj
——
navigate to c:\program files\daz\studio\content\runtime\libraries\props\StratDragon
and create a batch file that reads something like

md cglass
md cglass\Runtime
md cglass\Runtime\libraries
md cglass\Runtime\libraries\Props
md cglass\Runtime\libraries\Props\StratDragon
copy 
"C:\Program Files\DAZ\Studio\content\Runtime\libraries\Props\StratDragon\cglass.*" cglass\Runtime\libraries\Props\StratDragon

md cglass\Runtime\geometries
md cglass\Runtime\geometries\StratDragon
copy 
"C:\Program Files\DAZ\Studio\content\Runtime\geometries\StratDragon\cglass.*" cglass\Runtime\geometries\StratDragon

md cglass\Runtime\textures
md cglass\Runtime\textures\StratDragon
copy 
"C:\Program Files\DAZ\Studio\content\Runtime\textures\StratDragon\cglass.*" cglass\Runtime\textures\StratDragon 

you save this batch file under the name make_package_cglass_.bat

run/execute the batch file

if you’re not familiar with batch files, the important point is that “md” means “make directory”,
and * means “any”
so you could create the same folder structure manually and copy the files manually

in the example, i supposed that all the textures in C:\Program Files\DAZ\Studio\content\Runtime\textures\StratDragon\
have filenames starting with the prefix cglass
lets say there’s one named oliveskin.jpg
then you could add this line at the end of the batch file

copy “C:\Program Files\DAZ\Studio\content\Runtime\textures\StratDragon\oliveskin.jpg” cglass\Runtime\textures\StratDragon

—————-

navigate to

c:\program files\daz\studio\content\runtime\libraries\props\StratDragon\cglass

you should see a folder named runtime

zip this under the name StratDragon_cglass.zip

and give these instructions to people:

unzip the zip file found at the bottom of this web page in your Daz Studio content folder,
typically that's c:\program files\daz\studio\content
once installed, the props appear in the content/props/StratDragon folder 

note about pp2 exporter
when pp2 exporter converts your objects into a real poser prop
it needs to make all other objects in the scene invisible
if there’s a Victoria 4 in your scene and her head node is locked
then you’ll be packaging and distributing Victoria’s head along with your prop
... so, make sure the other objects in the scene are not locked,
or simply , use an empty scene smile


example of packaging a prop for my site

 

 

Image Attachments
pack.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 June 2012 11:33 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  84
Joined  2007-06-19

Casual’s explanation pretty much covers it. The PP2 script does most of the work for you.


I do think that using a batch file for copying the files is just over-complicating the process for most people. Personally I would just create an empty runtime with the essential directories and manually copy the correct files into it. You only need to create the empty runtime once and you can just duplicate it when you’re doing another freebie.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 June 2012 09:15 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1311
Joined  2003-12-16

thanks everyone! I was out of commission with a virus (not the computer kind) but I just submitted the prop to Renderosity.
I’ll post the link if/when they approve.

 Signature 

Gravy to potatoes, Luke to Darth Vader, I’m a souped up sucker and I’ll see you all later

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 June 2012 02:00 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3062
Joined  2004-10-25

Glad you’re feeling better, and thanks for the Martini Glass prop, it should come in handy.  grin

 Signature 

OK . . . Where’s my chocolate?     Post Count —> 3,263 and growing!     Visit my Renderosity Gallery

It’s what you learn after you know it all that counts ~ John Wooden

Profile