Problems with ART Dungeon

TomViolaTomViola Posts: 38

I purchased the Dungeon Bundle. The two other items loaded fine, but the Dungeon itself refuses to unpack. I have deleted and re-loaded twice. It is a large file, so it takes a long time to download. But it finally does download. The problem is when I go to install it. It seems to stop most often at the "Moonlight" which I would estimate to be about 12 percent along the progress line.

Comments

  • ChoholeChohole Posts: 19,349
    edited December 1969

    The Vendor has a thread here, and pulls in to it regularly when on line, so you may be better saking there http://www.daz3d.com/forums/discussion/13312/

  • NeilV_1NeilV_1 Posts: 411
    edited December 1969

    Hi sorry to hear you are having problems installing I have just done a test on the copy of the instiller I have and it runs correctly

    it does slow down on a few files but not any of the one ones with the name you mention.

    the size of my installer is 284MB

    and I am sorry to say all I can suggest if it still does not work it to download it again I know it's a big file but that's the best suggestion I have at the moment

  • Richard HaseltineRichard Haseltine Posts: 19,311
    edited December 1969

    Make sure you clear your browser's cache before trying a fresh download.

  • TomViolaTomViola Posts: 38
    edited December 1969

    I cleared the cache... and I still get the same problems. At several points along the installation I get a pop-up directing me to Abort, Retry or Ignore. RETRY does nothing. So I am left with IGNORE. When finished another pop-up says that installation was not completed properly.

  • SimonJMSimonJM Posts: 2,889
    edited December 1969

    Absolutely no help to you I know, but I only had issues getting the download to complete (I think I had 7 tries in all) but once I got the file it installed without problem. Faulty/corrupt downloads tend to evidence themselves (to me at least) by not not getting beyond the point of WIndows 7 asking me if I want to run the program. Once I get that I am usually pretty certain the file is all present and correct.

  • ChoholeChohole Posts: 19,349
    edited December 1969

    Having struggled to download on my less than optimal broadband (only 3 hours to download) I installed it with no problems.

    I chose custom installation and chose my own path, because I use Poser and keep my content on an external drive.

    Which program are you trying to install to, DS or Poser.

  • TomViolaTomViola Posts: 38
    edited December 1969

    I am using DS 3.1.2.32 on a Windows 7 laptop

  • frank0314frank0314 Posts: 8,582
    edited December 1969

    Where are you downloading the content to? What's the file path?

  • Richard HaseltineRichard Haseltine Posts: 19,311
    edited December 1969

    Where exactly are you pointing the installer? Have you tried creating a new, empty, folder and installing to that - just to see if the installer completes.

  • TomViolaTomViola Posts: 38
    edited December 1969

    I have been posting to an external hard drive. But, after a few tries, I switched to the main Harddrive (C:)... same results.

  • frank0314frank0314 Posts: 8,582
    edited December 2012

    Are you install to My Documents or some other location outside the Programs folder? Do you happen to have antivirus scanning the installer? It could be stopping it. There are one files in two of the packs with the same map it may be stopping you from overwriting it. What is the file size of the install so we can see if its a complete installer

    Post edited by frank0314 on
  • TomViolaTomViola Posts: 38
    edited December 1969

    Hard to answer how big the file is... it generally get up to 284, but I have to hit IGNORE several time befoire then... and it never installs correctly. I

  • TomViolaTomViola Posts: 38
    edited December 1969

    I am installing to the G: drive... an external harddrive.

  • ChoholeChohole Posts: 19,349
    edited December 1969

    If you have tried downloading it several times, have you made sure that you completely cleared your browser cache before you attempted a new download. Any corrupted files will stay in the cache and will affect any futrue downloads, as the browser will take the cached files as being the true ones.

    So close your browser, delete any download attempts that have not worked, then clear your cache.

    Mybe even reboot you computer after that, to make sure that everything has been removed before you attempt another download.

  • TomViolaTomViola Posts: 38
    edited December 1969

    Did that. Cleared my cache after a few attempts.

  • SimonJMSimonJM Posts: 2,889
    edited December 1969

    TomViola said:
    Hard to answer how big the file is... it generally get up to 284, but I have to hit IGNORE several time befoire then... and it never installs correctly. I

    Now I am getting confused ... that sounds like you are having to select Ignore (presumably from a Retry, Abort, Ignore prompt?) during the actual download?
    Here are the file sizes quoted by my Win 7 system

    Dungeon_filesize.jpg
    377 x 515 - 37K
  • frank0314frank0314 Posts: 8,582
    edited December 1969

    What anti virus are you using

  • TomViolaTomViola Posts: 38
    edited December 1969

    I have Comcast as my provider. With them I get Norton anti-virus.

  • frank0314frank0314 Posts: 8,582
    edited December 1969

    Try shutting of Norton and try reinstall the Dungeon. Norton doesn't like some DAZ installer

  • DAZ_ann0314DAZ_ann0314 Posts: 1,520
    edited December 1969

    I also offered some other solutions in our thread (I see hubby was in trying to help while I was afk) worse comes to worse, I can send you a zip of the pack if that may be easier to deal with. Not sure why the installer is hanging on you...but one way or another we will get you up and going. So sorry for any inconvenience while we try to help sort this out :(

  • TomViolaTomViola Posts: 38
    edited December 2012

    I would like to try the Zip and hope I have better luck with it.

    Post edited by DAZ_ann0314 on
  • SzarkSzark Posts: 8,759
    edited December 2012

    Don't put your e-mail address on a public forum unless you want to get spammed

    Best to send Ann a PM with your address

    Though you havn't answered many of the questions asked of you? Did you try all the suggested things to try?

    Post edited by Szark on
  • Richard HaseltineRichard Haseltine Posts: 19,311
    edited December 1969

    Have you actually downloaded the installer, or are you running it from the website? As SimonJM notes, getting the size of a downloaded file is simple and having t locally allows you to retry without burning up your bandwidth.

  • DAZ_ann0314DAZ_ann0314 Posts: 1,520
    edited December 1969

    TomViola said:
    I would like to try the Zip

    Sent...let me know if you got it ok :)

  • DAZ_ann0314DAZ_ann0314 Posts: 1,520
    edited December 1969

    PS I removed your email addy from your post now :)

Sign In or Register to comment.
Rocket Fuel