Transferring dynamic clothing from Poser to Carrara

cobusp0_1ab9abe960cobusp0_1ab9abe960 Posts: 130
edited December 2012 in Carrara Discussion

Hi all, I haven't been active on this forum for too long (it's been a very busy year)!

I recently started digging into Poser's Cloth room, an my, was I surprised at the easy results I got with dynamic clothing!

I prefer to render all my 3D ontent in Carrara, en figured out a way to "transfer" dynamic clothing between the two programs, by exporting the simulated dynamic clorting as Obj's or Collada files -- then adding them as morph targets for the clothes in Carrara.

HOWEVER:
The morphs work fine, but unfortunately the clothes offset from the Daz figures I use, and it is quite a mission to get it aligned with them again!

Does anyone know of a better way to do this??

I will appreciate it big-time!

Post edited by cobusp0_1ab9abe960 on

Comments

  • ManStanManStan Posts: 0
    edited December 1969

    Yes, transposer worked perfect for this, but since everyone that uses carrara and poser were upgrading poser, and P7 was incompatible with carrara, DAZ dropped the transposer.

    I still have Poser 6, I had no intention of upgrading from there, but carrara is supposed to work with studio, not poser, so.....

    If you are using the dynamic to morph plugin for poser, that is about as good as it gets. I gave up on it because I never could get it to work. Not sure if the plugin was updated to the latest version of poser.

  • holly wetcircuitholly wetcircuit Posts: 0
    edited December 1969

    Digitalcarversguild.com has a brand-spankin-new plugin for importing OBJ sequences...
    http://www.digitalcarversguild.com/plugin.php?ProductId=21

  • Kevin SandersonKevin Sanderson Posts: 653
    edited December 1969

    Digitalcarversguild.com has a brand-spankin-new plugin for importing OBJ sequences...
    http://www.digitalcarversguild.com/plugin.php?ProductId=21

    If it can get Poser dynamic cloth in with the figure, then it goes on my wishlist!

  • cobusp0_1ab9abe960cobusp0_1ab9abe960 Posts: 130
    edited December 1969

    Thanks for the feedback.

    I never knew that Transposer was actually capable of retaining dynamic cloth simulations for Poser 6. I still have both -- will Transposer work with Carrara 8? Perhaps I shoulkd go dig it out and try.

    That DCG Importer plufgin sounds promising -- but I wish there were a way to find out before investing in it, if the obj's would actaully retain their dynamic cloth equivalent's proximity to the imported Daz figure (such as M4).

  • argus1000argus1000 Posts: 468
    edited December 1969

    If it can get Poser dynamic cloth in with the figure, then it goes on my wishlist!

    I tried this plugin with a dynamic cloth from Poser, and Carrara only imports the first frame, even when I choose "sequenced OBJ ". Is there something I'm missing?

  • 3drendero3drendero Posts: 642
    edited December 2012
  • cobusp0_1ab9abe960cobusp0_1ab9abe960 Posts: 130
    edited December 1969

    3drendero -- very good work! Thanks for that link.

    However, I don't even know WHERE to find that "bullet thing"in Carrara because Daz has to my knowledge, not produced a manual to this date! Yup -- there's some nice video demos of bullet physics on Youtube, but thats' about it.

  • Kevin SandersonKevin Sanderson Posts: 653
    edited December 1969

    cobusp said:
    3drendero -- very good work! Thanks for that link.

    However, I don't even know WHERE to find that "bullet thing"in Carrara because Daz has to my knowledge, not produced a manual to this date! Yup -- there's some nice video demos of bullet physics on Youtube, but thats' about it.

    Here's Andy's (3dage) pdf file with the basics.

    https://dl.dropbox.com/u/7907045/First_step_Physics_C8.pdf

  • cobusp0_1ab9abe960cobusp0_1ab9abe960 Posts: 130
    edited December 1969

    Thank you thank you! This will definitely help!

  • ManStanManStan Posts: 0
    edited December 1969

    Bullet physics has changed in 8.5.

  • 0oseven0oseven Posts: 388
    edited December 1969

    There is a pythom script that will get poser dynamic cloth into Daz Studio and which is supposed to work in Carrara too. This is the Daz page

    http://docs.daz3d.com/doku.php/artzone/pub/tutorials/dazstudio/studio-export02

    But I had no luck downloading the script.

    Does anyone know anything about this - has it been withdrawn on account of DCG plugin mentioned above ??

  • 3drendero3drendero Posts: 642
    edited December 1969

    Good call, seems to be a bad migration from the old to the new site, files were posted but banned by admins, to be continued:
    http://www.daz3d.com/forums/discussion/5309/

  • cobusp0_1ab9abe960cobusp0_1ab9abe960 Posts: 130
    edited December 1969

    Hmmm ... thanks that python script looks very promising.

    3drendero - thanks also to that link to the relevant thread ... but I notice that Daz hasn't done anything to retore the links to those downloads since August. Sad, indeed.

  • 3drendero3drendero Posts: 642
    edited December 1969

    007 n cobusp, check your pms.

    I will try to make a post at CarraraCafe later.

  • JaguarEllaJaguarElla Posts: 10,645
    edited December 1969

    yes he does not check his PM's %-P

  • 0oseven0oseven Posts: 388
    edited December 2012

    007 n cobusp, check your pms.
    yes he does not check his PM’s


    Enlighten me please folks :-S

    EDIT Ohh !!! PEE EMS ---- got it

    sorry folks having carrara brain damage doesnt help

    Post edited by 0oseven on
  • 3drendero3drendero Posts: 642
    edited December 1969

    Made a quick and dirty tutorial at CarraraCafe about the Poser morph export method:
    http://carraracafe.com/?p=2513

    Any comments are appreciated.
    Any renders or youtube are welcome.

    Funny how lazy tablet typing can turn PMs into something different...

  • cobusp0_1ab9abe960cobusp0_1ab9abe960 Posts: 130
    edited December 1969

    3drendero -- you are a star! I'm donwloading now ...

  • JaguarEllaJaguarElla Posts: 10,645
    edited December 1969

    because apparently nobody pm'd it to you already!

  • cobusp0_1ab9abe960cobusp0_1ab9abe960 Posts: 130
    edited December 1969

    because apparently nobody pm'd it to you already!

    Allright allright! I found it at last (blushing heavily). I've never used it before.

    Thanks I got your PM's now. And thanks for the input!

  • JaguarEllaJaguarElla Posts: 10,645
    edited December 1969

    lol %-P believe me, you are not the only one to not notice PM's ;-P
    there's also one RichardChaos or maybe he has me on ignore?

  • cobusp0_1ab9abe960cobusp0_1ab9abe960 Posts: 130
    edited December 1969

    Geez ... but isn't Daz supposed to notify one of a PM? Or have I been ignorant in this regard too??:bug:

  • ChoholeChohole Posts: 19,836
    edited December 1969

    If you are signed on for ebots then yes you should get one. Also the PM at top left of the forum screen should light up if you have new messages.

  • cobusp0_1ab9abe960cobusp0_1ab9abe960 Posts: 130
    edited December 1969

    Thanks, I'll check my settings.

  • 3DLust3DLust Posts: 221
    edited December 1969

    Thanks for reviving that script - I was hoping it would still work in Poser, and it works just fine in Poser Pro 2012 :)

    Here is a sample ...

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QqT2pCo3ODI

  • evilproducerevilproducer Posts: 7,690
    edited December 1969

    3DLust said:
    Thanks for reviving that script - I was hoping it would still work in Poser, and it works just fine in Poser Pro 2012 :)

    Here is a sample ...

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QqT2pCo3ODI


    That's impressive.

  • Sam_16471Sam_16471 Posts: 0
    edited December 1969

    (bookmarked)

Sign In or Register to comment.
Rocket Fuel