Digital Art Zone

 
   
1 of 2
1
Weirdly named installation files
Posted: 11 December 2012 07:51 AM   [ Ignore ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1577
Joined  2005-02-25

I’m sure some people love it, or have their own methods, but i personally HATE it when folks put their products in either vendor-named folders or give them weird, abbreviated names.  I never can find it! 

Example, today I installed Buccaneer Basics.  I could not find it in my folder anywhere!!  Finally reinstalled it in an empty folder, and it was in a folder called essence. 

WHAT?? WHY?

I mean seriously… how can we find and use the things if we can’t find them in a logical place? 

it’s bad enough that most of the time (IMO.. i know some out there actually like it) vendors put their stuff under their name, and sure if you want to memorize what each vendor has made….ick.

I sort my folders by category.  at the VERY LEAST put the character it was for on the folder.

I hate having to hunt down and rename installs.  i spend enough time hunting for lost socks, missing keys, and misplaced eyeglasses in real life…. I don’t want to search my runtime too :(

*end crazy lady’s ‘can’t find anything-anywhere-ever’ ranting*

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 December 2012 08:22 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1231
Joined  2004-11-07

I’ve been in the habit of installing to a dummy folder for quite a while. Solves a lot of issues before they start wink

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 December 2012 10:01 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7665
Joined  2009-05-14

I am so with you on this score…having to remember who the vendor is or the wierd naming conventions is taxing my old brain. Make it simple keeping the name of the product is best for me as I do remember what I have purchased and the product names. smile

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 December 2012 11:09 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1615
Joined  2012-01-04

The naming convention and where items are placed is a complete fiasco that I think will never be resolved.

In other words, load items one thing at a time and put it where you need it or can find it if you want some sort of organization, because it certainly isn’t going to be done for us.

Even metadata is a nightmare. Props called Actors and Actors called Props. This is something so simple, yet it can not be done correctly.

Okay, ranting is over as I continue to load all of my content one item at a time.

 Signature 

Old Post Count: Maybe 3 or 4.
O/S: Windows 7x64
D/S: 4.6.0.18

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 December 2012 11:18 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1577
Joined  2005-02-25

It’s just a mess. the point of an installer is useless when it installs stuff that you have to move, rename, and place yourself.  That it takes forever to install each piece of software (what is it now, 12 clicks??? stupid!) and then on top, you have to install in a dummy folder, move and rename everything….. geeze.

Just go with the name of the product it’s not hard.

To the vendors who put your name on everything as if it will make me buy more from you…. FYI… it won’t. It makes me remember you as the ANNOYING VENDOR WHO MAKES ME JUMP THROUGH HOOPS TO FIND YOUR CONTENT AND MUST REMEMBER TO THINK TWICE WHEN I BUY..

Sorry for ranting, just lots of content, and repeatedly under vendor name or unrelated name. GRRRR come on, there’s no good reason to do that!!!
Such a waste of time. :(

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 December 2012 11:23 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1615
Joined  2012-01-04

Actually it is exactly 9 clicks for the newest installers, those that install metadata, unless you want to see the promo page.

 Signature 

Old Post Count: Maybe 3 or 4.
O/S: Windows 7x64
D/S: 4.6.0.18

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 December 2012 11:38 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1577
Joined  2005-02-25

Nope 13 clicks. i just double and triple and quadruple checked on 3 diff installers….. blah.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 December 2012 11:52 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1615
Joined  2012-01-04
belovedalia - 11 December 2012 11:38 AM

Nope 13 clicks. i just double and triple and quadruple checked on 3 diff installers….. blah.

Then they are not the latest installers. It is 9 clicks, including the double click (2),  the run click (3), the next on the welcome page (4), I accept the agreement (5), then next after accepting agreement (6), clicking next on settings (7), unless you customize it, then installation (8), then finish (9).

My guess is you customize the installation, whereas mine is set up to where I do not have to customize it.

Edited to add: so there! lol

 Signature 

Old Post Count: Maybe 3 or 4.
O/S: Windows 7x64
D/S: 4.6.0.18

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 December 2012 12:34 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1577
Joined  2005-02-25

you absolutely have to customize installation or it A: installs in a bad place and you have to search for it and reinstall it anyway, and B: so it doesn’t install yet another shortcut and other redundant items.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 December 2012 05:40 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2285
Joined  2003-12-06

Another reason to always run an installer customised — if you have your content set up like I do, putting all Genesis stuff directly into D|S4’s My Library and all older stuff into my old D|S3 content location via a dummy folder (I still use D|S3 a lot), there is no guarantee the installer will guess correctly which of your content locations to put stuff into. The clicks add up.

Not just the clicks, the big sweeping mouse movements. Several installer versions back, I could run a pre-Bitrock installer quickly, never using default settings, and barely moving the mouse between rapid clicks. Now we have to bounce back and forth going clicky-clicky until our eyes cross.  gulp

 Signature 

Gone to Vegas to play poker. Back when I run out of clothes.—Your Muse.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 December 2012 07:46 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1615
Joined  2012-01-04

As I said I do not need to customize my installation because I am only installing content with metadata. I then categorize it for use in Smart Content because it is not categorized worth a crap. I will load the other content that does not have metadata when the installer comes out with the new zips. I want everything to be able to be used with Smart Content and the ability to put the content where I want in the program. I don’t care where it is in the folder structure in my Library.

I may do something different with content purchased form Rendo or RDNA, but I will approach that when the time comes.

 Signature 

Old Post Count: Maybe 3 or 4.
O/S: Windows 7x64
D/S: 4.6.0.18

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 December 2012 04:06 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  996
Joined  2003-10-09
belovedalia - 11 December 2012 12:34 PM

you absolutely have to customize installation or it A: installs in a bad place and you have to search for it and reinstall it anyway, and B: so it doesn’t install yet another shortcut and other redundant items.

Amen

I install only Genesis stuff to My Library (plus the odd prop or scene set which requires DS4 and that I can never find or forget to look for because all my scene stuff I normally keep in a separate runtime.).

Everything else I install to a temp folder. Then I consolidate everything for an item into a single folder and move that to its final destination organized runtime which contains only a character folder.

What that means is that the uninstallers created by the installer are useless so I have to do a custom install so they aren’t created. It also means the metadata is useless as well so I have to hunt down the ‘run once’ folder and delete everything BEFORE I run Studio again.

This means I have to do installs in batches and can’t mix Genesis stuff with other stuff from DAZ during an install binge.

The stuff from Rendo and RDNA I just unzip to a temp folder, do the single folder consolidate thing and move to final destination. Sometimes I can simply move piece by piece from the zip directly to the destination runtime. No worries about an uninstaller. No worries about metadata. No worries about sequence of installs.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 December 2012 04:41 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5612
Joined  2006-02-20

Sorry - but kick Daz, not the PA!
It has happened too often to me - and always on products that Daz bought from an artist and sold as a DO.
It’s why I am installing to temporary folders.

 Signature 

I like Bryce, DazStudio, Poser and Vue ... in alphabetical order. And I would probably like Carrara too, if I could find the time to become acquainted with it. Peace?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 December 2012 07:14 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1577
Joined  2005-02-25

Isn’t the PA the one who names the folders after themselves? because there ARE plenty Daz originals who are named reasonably, but certain vendors name folders after themselves….. I installed no less than 18 files by one particular vendor under their name….. grrrrrrr.  I don’t think I’ll buy that person’s stuff for a while, so annoyed…. :(

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 December 2012 08:18 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  13703
Joined  2003-10-09

I believe the Buccaneer set was intended as part of a series of male clothing, but was purchased by DAZ and released on its own. The folder, however, reflects the name of the planned series.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 December 2012 08:28 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5612
Joined  2006-02-20

Another one I know of is Luthbel’s Asesina for V4/A4, I don’t remember the folders name, but it was decidedly different. And again it is a DO. I think the PAs are coming up with their own names for the items and then Daz decides to buy them out and give it a new name for the store, but forgets about renaming the runtime/content folders.

If you are talking about something different, like Genesis / Clothes / Vendor name / Folder with items name ...
well, there are buyers who really like that, because it makes it easier for them to find the clothes by a certain Artist.

 Signature 

I like Bryce, DazStudio, Poser and Vue ... in alphabetical order. And I would probably like Carrara too, if I could find the time to become acquainted with it. Peace?

Profile
 
 
   
1 of 2
1