Digital Art Zone

 
     
Has anyone else had this happen at rendo?
Posted: 10 December 2012 02:24 AM   [ Ignore ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2267
Joined  2005-09-05

Okay I was bored so I googled my user name to see what came up and found this
http://www.renderosity.com/mod/bcs/index.php?vendor=pendraia

I’ve never been a vendor at rendo but seem to have a vendor page. The avatar is one I use at the forums there…so do we all have this sort of page? Anyone know why I would have one?

Cheers
Pen

 Signature 

Shadermixer tutorials and recipes
My ShareCG Gallery
Shadermixer Documents

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 December 2012 02:31 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  728
Joined  2010-03-13
Pendraia - 10 December 2012 02:24 AM

Okay I was bored so I googled my user name to see what came up and found this
http://www.renderosity.com/mod/bcs/index.php?vendor=pendraia

I’ve never been a vendor at rendo but seem to have a vendor page. The avatar is one I use at the forums there…so do we all have this sort of page? Anyone know why I would have one?

Cheers
Pen

I am getting a bunch of MySQL errors there, so it looks to me like this is just a bug.

It probably starts to gather some information based on the “vendor” parameter provided via the URL, which leads to your avatar being displayed. The MySQL errors are probably resulting then from trying to fill the “potential” vendor page further (getting products etc.) and since you are not a vendor, this fails.

Would probably be better if they’d check in advance on whether you are a vendor at all and then either present a sort of “sorry, no vendor” page or display the adequate vendor page.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 December 2012 02:38 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2267
Joined  2005-09-05
Renpatsu - 10 December 2012 02:31 AM
Pendraia - 10 December 2012 02:24 AM

Okay I was bored so I googled my user name to see what came up and found this
http://www.renderosity.com/mod/bcs/index.php?vendor=pendraia

I’ve never been a vendor at rendo but seem to have a vendor page. The avatar is one I use at the forums there…so do we all have this sort of page? Anyone know why I would have one?

Cheers
Pen

I am getting a bunch of MySQL errors there, so it looks to me like this is just a bug.

It probably starts to gather some information based on the “vendor” parameter provided via the URL, which leads to your avatar being displayed. The MySQL errors are probably resulting then from trying to fill the “potential” vendor page further (getting products etc.) and since you are not a vendor, this fails.

Would probably be better if they’d check in advance on whether you are a vendor at all and then either present a sort of “sorry, no vendor” page or display the adequate vendor page.

All I googled was my user name if you check the vendor list at rendo I don’t show up at all. This showed up using google it was on about the fifth page of links.  It wasn’t that I was looking at rendo to see if I was a vendor. Rendo wasn’t even part of the search terms…

 

 Signature 

Shadermixer tutorials and recipes
My ShareCG Gallery
Shadermixer Documents

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 December 2012 02:46 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4545
Joined  2007-09-13

I think, but since I don’t know exactly what software they are using to run things there, I can’t be 100% sure…

but when you set up an account there, it populates all the parts of it…so you’ve got your regular forum stuff, your ‘user’ account and basically a ‘blank’ vendor account (also a freebie account…although that may just be a ‘class’ of vendor account).  And you need to set things up/activate the other parts of it as you need them

 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 December 2012 03:03 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  728
Joined  2010-03-13
Pendraia - 10 December 2012 02:38 AM

All I googled was my user name if you check the vendor list at rendo I don’t show up at all. This showed up using google it was on about the fifth page of links.  It wasn’t that I was looking at rendo to see if I was a vendor. Rendo wasn’t even part of the search terms…

Google basically uses bots to fill out its search contents and tries to determine if a URL and its parameters lead to “unique pages” and if so this is a potential search result. This can be steered by web pages, so Rendo could specify (and probably does) what Google should be allowed to “crawl” for example or which URLs (and parameters) lead to the same content.

In your case Google found that specific URL and provided parameters - could be for various reasons, e.g. it could be linked somewhere on Rendo, a place you may not be able to see, but the bot perhaps could - and it led to the result page getting indexed as search result and you found it then.

I’d probably point this out at Rendo. There is/are certainly a bug/bugs when it tries to fill out your (non existant) vendor page and there may be another issue with regards to their Google bot configuration.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 December 2012 03:04 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2267
Joined  2005-09-05
mjc1016 - 10 December 2012 02:46 AM

I think, but since I don’t know exactly what software they are using to run things there, I can’t be 100% sure…

but when you set up an account there, it populates all the parts of it…so you’ve got your regular forum stuff, your ‘user’ account and basically a ‘blank’ vendor account (also a freebie account…although that may just be a ‘class’ of vendor account).  And you need to set things up/activate the other parts of it as you need them

That makes sense…I thought it might be something like that especially as it was using my avatar from the forums there.

Thanks mjc…

Nothing like being prepared I suppose. Lol

 Signature 

Shadermixer tutorials and recipes
My ShareCG Gallery
Shadermixer Documents

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 December 2012 09:57 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3016
Joined  2004-10-25

I would never have thought to check, but sure enough, I have one too.  I’m also seeing the repetitious MySQL errors.  Hmmm . . . interesting.

 Signature 

OK . . . Where’s my chocolate?     Post Count —> 3,263 and growing!     Visit my Renderosity Gallery

It’s what you learn after you know it all that counts ~ John Wooden

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 December 2012 11:21 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  164
Joined  2004-06-24

Just checked myself and I have a vendor account as well. Agree that it’s probably set in place when you sign up with Rendo.

Cheers
GG

 Signature 

WHO said Kiwis can’t fly ?????

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 December 2012 11:25 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4545
Joined  2007-09-13
kiwi_gg - 10 December 2012 11:21 AM

Just checked myself and I have a vendor account as well. Agree that it’s probably set in place when you sign up with Rendo.

Cheers
GG

I think the MySQL errors are because there’s nothing configured there…

 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 December 2012 12:47 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2267
Joined  2005-09-05

Thanks for the input everyone…I think mjc is right and it’s automatically done when you sign up for an account.

It never fails to amaze me what you can find when you google your own name.

 Signature 

Shadermixer tutorials and recipes
My ShareCG Gallery
Shadermixer Documents

Profile