Digital Art Zone

 
     
Keep Scene Interface Settings?
Posted: 09 December 2012 01:57 PM   [ Ignore ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  7
Joined  0

Is there any way to keep the Scene Interface Settings from reverting back?  I create a new scene, go to Scene Interface Settings and set the Displayed Unit to Inches and when I save and reopen the file it reverts back to feet every time.  I can’t find a way to permanently set this in the preferences either.  Am I missing something?

Chucker

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 December 2012 07:47 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1387
Joined  2011-01-03
chuckerii - 09 December 2012 01:57 PM

Is there any way to keep the Scene Interface Settings from reverting back?  I create a new scene, go to Scene Interface Settings and set the Displayed Unit to Inches and when I save and reopen the file it reverts back to feet every time.  I can’t find a way to permanently set this in the preferences either.  Am I missing something?

Inches & feet are the same measuring system. Do you mean the scene reverts to meters?

 Signature 

- Garstor
Australian-Canadian currently trapped in Texas (maintaining sanity with doses of Carrara, LightWave and PhotoShop)

My 3D art Flickr page for final or near-final images
My 3D art Flickr page for work-in-progress or experiments

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 December 2012 08:14 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5431
Joined  2006-08-27

If you have a box that you enter a value into and it shows inches, try typing the value in feet that you want followed by ft and hit enter. The inches will return, but the value will in inches will equal the foot value you typed in. I know it can be annoying.


If I’m wrong in my assumption, it could also be the scene magnitude you’re working in. You might have selected a small scene when what you want is a large scene.

Image Attachments
Picture_1.pngPicture_2.pngPicture_3.png
 Signature 

I find it somewhat liberating not to be encumbered by accuracy.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 December 2012 01:21 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  7
Joined  0

I know that feet and inches are the same measuring method.  We figured out on another forum that it has to do with scene magnitude.  If you use Small, then everything is calculated in inches.  If you use Medium or Large, it’s feet.  I do all my work in Medium, but prefer to work in Inches.  So when I go into Scene/Interface/Displayed Unit and change it to Inches… when I save and close the file then re-open it, it reverts back to Feet.

Chucker

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 December 2012 03:07 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5431
Joined  2006-08-27

Then I guess you’ve answered your own question. Less than a foot would be the decimal equivalent of inches.

 Signature 

I find it somewhat liberating not to be encumbered by accuracy.

Profile