Digital Art Zone

 
   
2 of 4
2
3D text possible with Hexagon?
Posted: 08 December 2012 07:38 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 16 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  244
Joined  2012-10-14
Pendraia - 08 December 2012 06:15 AM
eireann.sg - 08 December 2012 02:56 AM
Pendraia - 07 December 2012 08:32 PM
eireann.sg - 07 December 2012 06:03 PM

I tried Maya, 3Ds and other programs and also found them impossible to work with.
For Hexagon I find fo me personally it has also too many nothing saying icons. I have to scroll over it and only then I know what t does, and next time I want to use it I have to search for it and yet again scroll over it to see its description.

.

The more you use it the easier it gets but in the meantime if there are some that you use a lot you can add them to a custom tab to make them easier to find. They are also available from drop down menus along the top of the interface. You may find them easier to find that way.

edited to add that it’s easy to add to the custom tab, just right click and the dialogue pops up and asks if you want to add it to the custom tab.

Yes, the Custom Labs are very helpful. I ave already popped a few items into it. smile
Other icons I find rather difficult to use. There are some when I select them the object to be changed jumps all over the place at the slightest mouse movement.

I had similar issues when I first started that when I extruded I found it difficult to control. It just takes practice and taking it slowly. I also found using the following process helped. Select the face you want to extrude, then hit Ctrl and the curser will change. Use the universal gizmo to control where it goes.
The other thing that I’ve found helps while getting used to the controls is to type the numbers in via the property tab.
Hope that helps…

Thats a very nice tip. Thanks a lot smile

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 December 2012 12:53 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 17 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2267
Joined  2005-09-05
eireann.sg - 08 December 2012 07:38 AM
Pendraia - 08 December 2012 06:15 AM
eireann.sg - 08 December 2012 02:56 AM
Pendraia - 07 December 2012 08:32 PM
eireann.sg - 07 December 2012 06:03 PM

I tried Maya, 3Ds and other programs and also found them impossible to work with.
For Hexagon I find fo me personally it has also too many nothing saying icons. I have to scroll over it and only then I know what t does, and next time I want to use it I have to search for it and yet again scroll over it to see its description.

.

The more you use it the easier it gets but in the meantime if there are some that you use a lot you can add them to a custom tab to make them easier to find. They are also available from drop down menus along the top of the interface. You may find them easier to find that way.

edited to add that it’s easy to add to the custom tab, just right click and the dialogue pops up and asks if you want to add it to the custom tab.

Yes, the Custom Labs are very helpful. I ave already popped a few items into it. smile
Other icons I find rather difficult to use. There are some when I select them the object to be changed jumps all over the place at the slightest mouse movement.

I had similar issues when I first started that when I extruded I found it difficult to control. It just takes practice and taking it slowly. I also found using the following process helped. Select the face you want to extrude, then hit Ctrl and the curser will change. Use the universal gizmo to control where it goes.
The other thing that I’ve found helps while getting used to the controls is to type the numbers in via the property tab.
Hope that helps…

Thats a very nice tip. Thanks a lot smile

Glad you like it! I think I originally found out about it at geekatplay…

 Signature 

Shadermixer tutorials and recipes
My ShareCG Gallery
Shadermixer Documents

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 December 2012 08:19 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 18 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  2
Joined  0

I just loaded Hex and as anything you get out of it what you put in. Read the manual find any tutorial you can. I am a cad bunny I.E. I model in autocad and Hex is a new language I want to learn so I will. I like the 3d text thingy I have been needing it for a long time.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 December 2012 09:09 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 19 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  8
Joined  2005-03-23

I tried Wings for example and it didnt work for me with that interface but hexagon interface I liked much, I think its a matter of personal taste
what I want to add here is I found that hexagon is capable of making more fancy 3d text, depending on what fonts you have installed in your usual programs
so go check, photoshop or whatever 2d program you uses for if it has some extended fonts you can install

Profile
 
 
Posted: 31 December 2012 04:15 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 20 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  5
Joined  2012-12-30

I want to import a 3D text into DAZ Studio 4.

But…

when I create a text in Hexagon and
import it into DAZ Studio 4
it looks like the attachement on this post.

Does anybody know a reason for that or has a link to a tutorial how to get this to work?
- I use Mac OS X 10.7.4
- I exported it using “wavefront object” because using “send to daz studio” inside hexagon does not work for me.

Image Attachments
text.png
Profile
 
 
Posted: 31 December 2012 07:28 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 21 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  205
Joined  2003-10-09
j.scholz - 31 December 2012 04:15 AM

I want to import a 3D text into DAZ Studio 4.

But…

when I create a text in Hexagon and
import it into DAZ Studio 4
it looks like the attachement on this post.

Does anybody know a reason for that or has a link to a tutorial how to get this to work?
- I use Mac OS X 10.7.4
- I exported it using “wavefront object” because using “send to daz studio” inside hexagon does not work for me.

Quickest route to go would be to triangulate.

 

Image Attachments
triangulate.jpg
 Signature 

Renderosity. http://www.renderosity.com/mod/bcs/index.php?vendor=29771

Rendo Freebies. http://www.renderosity.com/mod/freestuff/index.php?username=ghostman

RDNA http://www.runtimedna.com/Ghostman/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 31 December 2012 08:27 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 22 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  5
Joined  2012-12-30

Thx it works

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 January 2013 01:22 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 23 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  40
Joined  2011-09-27

I dont mind learning about Hex and I have ran into trouble with everything i have ever tried to make in it. I still don’t mind that, but my biggest problem is finding a way or places to learn aout specific problems I am having with it. I either have to spend a hour searching or write in Daz forums and to get a reply days later. I have had some nice people help me out although it is very troublesom. If it wasn’t for a few nice poeple here and geekplay i wouldn’t know a thing about it after spending a months trying.

I am happy it is free and it is great, but if I had to pay a few hundred bucks for this I would be irate.

The whole reason i started with Hex is because I wanted to create my own stuff for Daz because it is simply a money pit. Now that I know how to create objects in Hex and model outfits they don’t work properly in Daz. Autofit doesn’t work unless you buy it from Daz and usually anything you model in hex comes into daz tiny even if you import the models daz provides into Hex and then export them back in, ecspecially Genesis. I can import a genesis figure and then export it right back into Daz and the model will be tiny. Example: I export genesis figure into Hex and make some alterations. I wanted to make a tail for a cat lady and some whiskers so I went ahead and spent the time to create these things. When I exported it back into Daz using the file option “send to Daz’ Or saved it and exported as a wavefont obj. It came back tiny. I adjusted it’s size and tried putting something on it and nothing would work, not only would nothing work it wouldn’t even allow me to apply shaders that i had bought from daz. I removed my altered model and used one that i didn’t alter or import into Hex and it worked fine. It simply doesn’t do what Daz claims it does only their products work.

I am not going to bash daz and poser to much because for beginners it is fun and I enjoyed it a lot, but the more advanced I get the more I ask myself why in the hell didn’t I research my options more wisely. After spending a lot in my opinion on daz products I am cursed with the knowledge that with other programs I could have started making my own models, clothing, scenes, props on my own.

I like Daz and it is good for people who don’t want to model and take the time it takes to create their own models, but if you are getting into Daz, Hex, ect to later become more advanced it is a bit of a disappointment.

Again the most fustrating thing about Daz is learning how their programs work from Daz filing to Hex modeling. You can save yourself a few years of searching for this information by going elsewhere and finding better programs, Even Free Ones.

Sorry Daz people

Sincerely,
Jerry

 Signature 

I am the mother you always wanted your father to be

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 January 2013 01:33 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 24 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2267
Joined  2005-09-05
bloodsnhall - 04 January 2013 01:22 AM

The whole reason i started with Hex is because I wanted to create my own stuff for Daz because it is simply a money pit. Now that I know how to create objects in Hex and model outfits they don’t work properly in Daz. Autofit doesn’t work unless you buy it from Daz and usually anything you model in hex comes into daz tiny even if you import the models daz provides into Hex and then export them back in, ecspecially Genesis. I can import a genesis figure and then export it right back into Daz and the model will be tiny. Example:

Hi Jerry, it sounds like you’re having a scaling issue.

Are you sending the items through the bridge?

If so the genesis that your are sending does it have a changed scale size in the parameters tab?

If so this could cause the problems you’re describing.

When you send Genesis to Hexagon make sure that scaling is at 100% . Otherwise it will be the wrong size when it comes back in.

 Signature 

Shadermixer tutorials and recipes
My ShareCG Gallery
Shadermixer Documents

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 January 2013 01:53 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 25 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  40
Joined  2011-09-27

100 is default. I just did it to make sure and it came in tiny. I also put it at a 1000 and it came in at max size which i believe is around 6 foot.
I can look and provide a tutorial where someone much smarter then I am is trying to figure it out. Another issue would be micheal 4 who is larger then 6’0 and no matter how large you import the object into Daz is it will only come in at 6’0. So, no matter what your dimensions are youre going to be way off when using him.

 Signature 

I am the mother you always wanted your father to be

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 January 2013 01:56 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 26 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  40
Joined  2011-09-27

Thank you by the way. I wish I was sitting next to you to see this for myself.

 Signature 

I am the mother you always wanted your father to be

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 January 2013 02:03 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 27 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  40
Joined  2011-09-27

Oh before I mislead you try to take a cylinder and then use the boolean operation in surface modeling to punch a hole in genesis, then try exporting back into Daz. Any manipulation of the model will some how change its size when exporting back into Daz, it will be teeny tiny, Give it a try.

 Signature 

I am the mother you always wanted your father to be

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 January 2013 02:03 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 28 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2267
Joined  2005-09-05

Can you describe the process you’re using? It might help me to pinpoint what’s happening.

I just sent a skirt back and forth using the bridge with no problems so I can verify that it works.

Also which version of Hex are you using?

 Signature 

Shadermixer tutorials and recipes
My ShareCG Gallery
Shadermixer Documents

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 January 2013 02:09 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 29 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  40
Joined  2011-09-27

I am importing Genesis from Daz and then I am using the boolean operation to alter the model, then I am sending it back into Daz using ethier wavefont obj or the send to daz option in the file menu.Everyone should try this for themselves to see what happens.

I am using 2.5

 Signature 

I am the mother you always wanted your father to be

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 January 2013 02:15 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 30 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  40
Joined  2011-09-27

This is what it looks like

Image Attachments
little_people.JPGboolean_operation.JPG
 Signature 

I am the mother you always wanted your father to be

Profile
 
 
   
2 of 4
2
 
[ UV map curiosity      Cucu’? ]