Digital Art Zone

 
     
fur on a large area
Posted: 05 December 2012 08:46 AM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  164
Joined  2004-10-05

all in the title!:: to apply fur on a large area, the only way is to get a high number of “hair”? it’s so heavy to render, after… no way with replicator? thank you for help!!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 December 2012 09:34 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  218
Joined  2006-05-21

Sometimes I turn off “receives shadow” or ” casts shadow”  or both, for the hair. If your hair is dense it may look ok.

 Signature 

http://stusutcliffe.blogspot.co.uk/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 December 2012 11:13 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1694
Joined  0

Also try Shadow Buffers. Hair looks exactly the same under Shadow buffers but renders much faster….

I have thought of creating scenes where all the lights are duplicates, raytraced shadows for everything but hair, and Shadow Buffers for hair… Limit the objects that each light interacts with… Time consuming to set up so I never really got a practical result from this idea of double lights… Easier to just use shadow buffers and bake the necessary textures that look weird under Buffer lighting….

 Signature 

320+ TUTORIALS for Carrara at CARRARA CAFE
C3DE - CARRARA 3D EXPO MAGAZINE - the showcase for Carrara Artists

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 December 2012 03:15 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  239
Joined  2006-01-21

Hi, a couple of things,

the texture underneath the hair can help a lot with reducing the quantity of hair required, see how far you can get away with the ‘impression’ of hair using a smaller count, it helps if the hair is flat to the camera too.

also try breaking it into low density and high density groups if your model or scene will allow for it. Use high density only where it will be noticed or required.

for example
http://fav.me/d4o1s17

 

 Signature 

http://roguepilot.deviantart.com/
http://www.renderosity.com/mod/gallery/browse.php?username=RoguePilot
http://www.ShareCG.com/pf/full_uploads.php?pf_user_name=RoguePilot

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 December 2012 03:28 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2231
Joined  2005-09-05
celmar - 05 December 2012 08:46 AM

all in the title!:: to apply fur on a large area, the only way is to get a high number of “hair”? it’s so heavy to render, after… no way with replicator? thank you for help!!

What process are you using to create the fur?

 Signature 

Shadermixer tutorials and recipes
My ShareCG Gallery
Shadermixer Documents

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 December 2012 02:09 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1828
Joined  2004-08-24

HI Pendria smile

In Carrara, you can use Dynamic Hair,. either as ....Hair / Fur smile  , but it’s scale can be Thin Medium Large or Extra large, so it’s possible to use dynamic hairs, as a way of creating Grass, without modelling.

Image Attachments
grasshair_terrain.jpghairgrass_dist1.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 December 2012 11:58 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2231
Joined  2005-09-05
3DAGE - 06 December 2012 02:09 PM

HI Pendria smile

In Carrara, you can use Dynamic Hair,. either as ....Hair / Fur smile  , but it’s scale can be Thin Medium Large or Extra large, so it’s possible to use dynamic hairs, as a way of creating Grass, without modelling.

Thanks 3DAGE! I’m a total noob when it comes to Carraraand I was curious about the process…: )

Just wanted to add I wish we had this in DS. Between this and Howie Farks I’m tempted to learn Carrara…; )

 Signature 

Shadermixer tutorials and recipes
My ShareCG Gallery
Shadermixer Documents

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 December 2012 05:22 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1117
Joined  2005-04-12

In addition to the good advice given already, your original idea of using a replicator might be worth trying (I have not had the chance to try it myself).  Make a square tile and cover it with hair, and then use a surface replicator to duplicate the tile over your landscape. This should make it easier on system resources while still giving a good result (hopefully!).

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 December 2012 02:19 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  239
Joined  2006-01-21
PhilW - 07 December 2012 05:22 PM

In addition to the good advice given already, your original idea of using a replicator might be worth trying (I have not had the chance to try it myself).  Make a square tile and cover it with hair, and then use a surface replicator to duplicate the tile over your landscape. This should make it easier on system resources while still giving a good result (hopefully!).

I tried that once and ended up with a lot of obviously flat planes replicated over the terrain. (Still took ages to render too)
It may work better with a surface shaped to always intersect the terrain.

 Signature 

http://roguepilot.deviantart.com/
http://www.renderosity.com/mod/gallery/browse.php?username=RoguePilot
http://www.ShareCG.com/pf/full_uploads.php?pf_user_name=RoguePilot

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 December 2012 06:31 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1117
Joined  2005-04-12
RoguePilot - 08 December 2012 02:19 PM
PhilW - 07 December 2012 05:22 PM

In addition to the good advice given already, your original idea of using a replicator might be worth trying (I have not had the chance to try it myself).  Make a square tile and cover it with hair, and then use a surface replicator to duplicate the tile over your landscape. This should make it easier on system resources while still giving a good result (hopefully!).

I tried that once and ended up with a lot of obviously flat planes replicated over the terrain. (Still took ages to render too)
It may work better with a surface shaped to always intersect the terrain.

At least it works.  I used a 1 foot square plane with 1000 hairs as the grass, around 6 inches high, with some frizz added to provide variation. Surface replicated on a 20 foot plane with variation in rotation and a little scale too, around 650 instances in total.  So around 650,000 hairs in total, but handled more efficiently than adding that number of hairs direct to the plane.  But yes it is fairly slow to render.  But with the numbers involved, it is still fairly impressive that it renders at all!

Sorry, I tried adding the rendered image but something is playing up and it is not letting me…..

Profile