Digital Art Zone

2 of 2
3 weeks and no return calls, no one answers-need refund and closing account
Posted: 04 December 2012 09:44 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 16 ]
Total Posts:  8
Joined  2003-10-09
ssgbryan - 03 December 2012 05:33 PM
csampson - 03 December 2012 04:41 PM

“Why on earth are you tangling with Texas’ Comptroller?  It is DAZ’s job to do that if there is a tax issue, it isn’t yours.  In fact, you are probably muddying up the waters as a 3rd party.”

1. Because I’m a Texas Resident who is being charged tax. That sorta makes it my business to do so…
2. I’m close to members on the Texas business committees. They agree that Daz3d shouldn’t be a collector for Texas user taxes.
3. and this is where it counts…before you yap off at me…I was in full discussion with Daz3d CFO about my participation BEFORE I ever even rang the 1st Austin phone number. So, no, I didn’t muddy the waters.

Before you bark like this on a post I ask questions about, know what you’re talking about.
it is entirely my issue to ask about taxation because I’m the one paying it.
Last, I’m a citizen of Texas and have every right to tell my State to leave a Utah company alone.

Firstly, I am also a citizen of Texas, so color me unimpressed that you are a Texan.

2.  The state of Texas does have the right to collect taxes on internet transactions.  Directly from the comptroller’s office:

“If you purchase merchandise through a catalog or the Internet from a seller located outside of Texas and use the taxable item in Texas, then you owe Texas use tax on the purchase. An out-of-state mail-order company or an Internet company may hold a Texas Sales and Use tax permit and collect Texas tax. If the out-of-state seller does not have a Texas permit or does not collect Texas use tax, the use tax is due and payable by the purchaser.”

If you have a problem with Texas collecting taxes, take it up with the state legislature.

Good luck with that.