Digital Art Zone

 
     
How to shut off environment / ambient light?
Posted: 03 December 2012 12:21 PM   [ Ignore ]
New Member
Total Posts:  3
Joined  2008-03-13

Hi,

I have just started playing with Studio.

I want to create an image with really just one light source in it. But there always seems to be some light illuminating everything in the scene even where “my” light would never shine.

Image looks good in Open GL but not when rendered:-(

I did a little 3D years back and I remember that ambient / environmental light that you have to turn off in order to get total darkness.
Anything like that in Studio?


Also: How do I get rid of the blue background? Just use a black image as a backdrop?


Thanx a lot!

Christian

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 December 2012 12:26 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1670
Joined  2012-09-16

To shut off the scene light you can go to the light and camera tab.
On top of that tab is a light bulb.
Click to turn off the artifiial scene light and it will give you a preview of your own lights (if you placed them)

 Signature 

You’re welcome to visit my GALLERY
Need a review or looking for tips? Pay a visit HERE

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 December 2012 12:34 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6602
Joined  2005-08-15

Also: How do I get rid of the blue background? Just use a black image as a backdrop?

Just change the background colour from the drop down menu as shown.


 

Image Attachments
Untitled-1.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 December 2012 03:18 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  3
Joined  2008-03-13

Hi,

Thanx for your reply:-)

The thing about the bulb is it only works in preview - doesn’t effect the final render…

Well, I solved my little problem by using the Open GL Hardware Renderer instead of 3Delight. Takes a little longer (?) but gives me what I want - just one light source.

Will have to experiment further…


Christian

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 December 2012 03:25 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16477
Joined  2009-01-22

If you are saving in png what you are seeing is the background layer turned into a alpha channel. Just load it into a good 2D art program and Flatten (merge) all layers. That should solve your problem.

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 December 2012 03:33 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  3
Joined  2008-03-13

Hi,

I also solved my “Background problem” by turning the background color to black, as Jimmy C suggested. Pitch black as it should be.
But I’ll keep your advice in mind for future, brighter images;-)

Christian

Profile