Multiple HDR Rigs

GeddGedd Posts: 2,474
edited December 1969 in The Commons

Is anyone familiar with multiple HDR rigs? I saw this image at Rendo, which looks amazing, and refers to a 3 HDR rig.

Comments

  • MedzinMedzin Posts: 295
    edited December 1969

    I usually don't use 3 separate HDR images, but instead map an environment sphere with separate lighting areas.

    hdr3.jpg
    500 x 250 - 3K
  • GeddGedd Posts: 2,474
    edited December 1969

    I'm not familiar enough with HDRI lighting setups to understand how exactly that would work.

  • prixatprixat Posts: 634
    edited December 1969

    I think its only called Proluma 3 because it comes after Proluma 2 :)

  • GeddGedd Posts: 2,474
    edited December 2012

    Ok, I was reading the 3 with the HDR, not the Proluma. I was wondering how they would set up multiple HDR rigs, and what that would do to render times. :P

    Post edited by Gedd on
  • MedzinMedzin Posts: 295
    edited December 1969

    After reading other post, I see that "3" would appear to be a version number.
    The number of light sources that use an HDR image has the same effect on render time as adding extra standard lights.
    Poser can make use of HDRI in .hdr and .exr formats but DAZ Studio need them converted to .tif first.

Sign In or Register to comment.
Rocket Fuel