Digital Art Zone

 
     
Generation X, DSON, and Poser Question
Posted: 01 December 2012 01:12 PM   [ Ignore ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  268
Joined  2008-08-09

Is it possible to use the old morphs for Generation 3 and 4 figures in Genesis in Poser using DSON, or by some other means?

How do I get the old morphs into the Genesis figure in Poser?

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 December 2012 02:43 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  993
Joined  2005-11-27
Fauvist - 01 December 2012 01:12 PM

Is it possible to use the old morphs for Generation 3 and 4 figures in Genesis in Poser using DSON, or by some other means?

How do I get the old morphs into the Genesis figure in Poser?

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks!

Any morphs installed to Genesis will show in the dials for Genesis inside Poser. That’s the beauty of the importer. If you happen to use both DS and Poser you’re really accessing the same install of Genesis, and all applicable morphs, in both programs.

 Signature 

The Revolution is coming…

==========================================================

“The universe is big. It’s vast and complicated and… ridiculous and sometimes, very rarely, impossible things just happen and we call them miracles…”

- The 10th Doctor, Doctor Who: The Pandorica Opens (Series 5, Episode 12)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 December 2012 02:44 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  14230
Joined  2003-10-09

You would have to make the transfer in DS, after which the morphs would be in the Data folder and would be loaded with Genesis in both Poser and DS.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 December 2012 04:48 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  11170
Joined  2007-11-06

...nice, I can use dynamic clothes (including that which I create with MD2) with my Genesis LeelaTeen and TraceyElf.


...the girls will be so excited.

 Signature 

...it’s five minutes to midnight…

I’d rather have a blue sky above me than a blue screen in front of me.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 December 2012 05:16 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  268
Joined  2008-08-09
Richard Haseltine - 01 December 2012 02:44 PM

You would have to make the transfer in DS, after which the morphs would be in the Data folder and would be loaded with Genesis in both Poser and DS.

Sorry, I don’t understand.  Make the transfer of what?  When I downloaded DSON and the files that came with it, it installed itself, so that, when I opened Poser, Genesis and a few things I bought for Genesis were already installed in the Poser runtime.

So - I buy GenX and Gen3, and I install them where?  In DAZ Studio,or Poser?  Or is it even content that gets installed?  Anyway, once it’s installed, I have to open DAZ Studio and load the Genesis figure into the viewport, and then what do I transfer into/onto it?

Once this is transfered to Genesis, then how do I get this Genesis with all these new morphs for the old DAZ figures into Poser?  There’s already a Genesis figure in Poser.  Do I trash that one?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 December 2012 06:08 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8649
Joined  2007-11-06

GenX (and the Gen3 Addon) are DS plugins, you need to use them inside DS to add the morphs to Genesis.  If Poser is reading the Data files from the same location as DS, then new morphs will be there when you load a fresh Genesis in Poser.

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ

Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips starting July 2013
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Plugin Version Numbers for DS 4.5
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 December 2012 06:34 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  268
Joined  2008-08-09
fixmypcmike - 01 December 2012 06:08 PM

GenX (and the Gen3 Addon) are DS plugins, you need to use them inside DS to add the morphs to Genesis.  If Poser is reading the Data files from the same location as DS, then new morphs will be there when you load a fresh Genesis in Poser.

So if I buy GenX and Gen3 and load them into Genesis in DAZ Studio, then all those hundreds of morph dials are going to show up in Poser when I open Genesis?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 December 2012 07:02 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  993
Joined  2005-11-27
Fauvist - 01 December 2012 06:34 PM
fixmypcmike - 01 December 2012 06:08 PM

GenX (and the Gen3 Addon) are DS plugins, you need to use them inside DS to add the morphs to Genesis.  If Poser is reading the Data files from the same location as DS, then new morphs will be there when you load a fresh Genesis in Poser.

So if I buy GenX and Gen3 and load them into Genesis in DAZ Studio, then all those hundreds of morph dials are going to show up in Poser when I open Genesis?

Yes, because the DSON importer for Poser is literally translating and loading Genesis from DS. Any morphs you install to Genesis in DS will be available to Genesis in Poser also.

 Signature 

The Revolution is coming…

==========================================================

“The universe is big. It’s vast and complicated and… ridiculous and sometimes, very rarely, impossible things just happen and we call them miracles…”

- The 10th Doctor, Doctor Who: The Pandorica Opens (Series 5, Episode 12)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 December 2012 07:54 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  683
Joined  2008-10-19
Fauvist - 01 December 2012 06:34 PM
fixmypcmike - 01 December 2012 06:08 PM

GenX (and the Gen3 Addon) are DS plugins, you need to use them inside DS to add the morphs to Genesis.  If Poser is reading the Data files from the same location as DS, then new morphs will be there when you load a fresh Genesis in Poser.

So if I buy GenX and Gen3 and load them into Genesis in DAZ Studio, then all those hundreds of morph dials are going to show up in Poser when I open Genesis?

You will have to use GenX in DS and transfer the morphs from Gen 3 or 4 to Genesis for the morphs to be available to use as hundreds of dials ......

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 December 2012 08:58 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  268
Joined  2008-08-09

Thank you both.  What about morphs from characters created by Published Artists, here and at Rendo etc.?  Is there any way to transfer those morphs to Genesis?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 December 2012 09:05 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  683
Joined  2008-10-19

Yep I don’t know the exact steps,and I’ve heard some transfer a bit better then others but yes you can transfer characters ,you might want to go to the GenX thread to get help and check out some of the renders of transfered characters .........I’ll see if I can find the link.

HA!! Found it!!  http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/5878/

Profile