Digital Art Zone

 
     
What is the maximum number of items that can be installed in the runtime?
Posted: 30 November 2012 09:28 PM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  60
Joined  2011-07-07

I know, I am a DAZaholic!  I have over 360 packages (clothing, characters, bundles, etc) downloaded, but stopped installing them when my system started to give me a “not responding” error.  I know I can re-sort and compress the database, but is there an actual limit to how much can be installed in the runtime?

It would be great to find out, since if I have to pick and choose which ones I can install, I will need to decide which ones will be most required.

Thanks in a advance.

 

 Signature 

Reality is perception.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 November 2012 10:15 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  9590
Joined  2007-11-06

That shouldn’t be a problem, I have much more than that, and others have far more than I do.

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ
Tutorial: Adding Surfaces in DS
Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 November 2012 10:16 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4524
Joined  2007-09-13

Basically…how big is your hard drive?

There really isn’t a limit on the number of items.  But the database manager does have a rather small cache, but it can be increased, so there isn’t much worry there.  The real limit, is drive space.

 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 December 2012 08:22 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1156
Joined  2004-11-07

130gig, not there yet wink

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 December 2012 12:55 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5334
Joined  2008-03-06
mjc1016 - 30 November 2012 10:16 PM

Basically…how big is your hard drive?

There really isn’t a limit on the number of items.  But the database manager does have a rather small cache, but it can be increased, so there isn’t much worry there.  The real limit, is drive space.

This.  Between my old Poser and new DAZ stuff plus WIP versions of my own products, I’ve got well over 500 gb of content in three runtimes.  I have two 2tb hard drives and a 500 gb one as well and the vast majority of their filled space is runtimes and my Blender/GIMP development files!

 Signature 

My store at DAZ.

My Deviantart gallery and tutorials.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 December 2012 01:34 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  60
Joined  2011-07-07

Thank you all for the info.  Now all I have to do is figure out how to increase the cache size so that I can install all my downloads (have not installed anything new for months!)

Thanks again!

 Signature 

Reality is perception.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 December 2012 04:02 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4524
Joined  2007-09-13
KorvisBlack - 01 December 2012 01:34 PM

Thank you all for the info.  Now all I have to do is figure out how to increase the cache size so that I can install all my downloads (have not installed anything new for months!)

Thanks again!

The CMS cache is in the ini file in the CMS exe folder…it is set for a 10 MB size which is probably good for most moderate sized runtimes.  Get above, maybe, a 40 or 50 GB worth of content with metadata, then bumping up to 20 or so MB for the cache would be a good idea.  But one of the things that can happen with a smaller cache, and I think this is the case here, (stuff I’ve read on Valentina’s faqs and such) is that adding a lot of new data, with a small cache can slow things down, temporarily.  On average, a 10 MB cache is several hundred records, so most people aren’t going to hit that, because they don’t have that many items that have metadata that’s tracked by the CMS.  Basically, up it if you want…but for ‘normal’ use, the size it’s at is fine for most folks. 

I did a few tests and on my system with my runtime, I saw a increase in performance going from 10 to 15MB, a smaller one going from 15 to 20. nothing from 20 to 30 and a drop off when I hit 30MB…my ‘sweet spot’ seems to be around 18 MB…

Another thing and more likely to slow things down during an install…Windows ‘default’ disk writing strategy.  Installing individual files, spread out over time, it can keep up.  Rapid fire/batch install and it slows down.  This can also slow down the system as a whole, especially if there is an AV scanning everything during the install process and depending on the version of Windows, what level of protections/UAE/user permissions there are.  All of which, combined with the CMS furiously adding data to its cache and it could be very easy to overwhelm a system.

I guess what I’m getting at is to slow down, make sure that each installer is completely finished and that most of the disk activity is done before starting the next installer..that way, everything has a chance to do what it is supposed to.

 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 December 2012 06:31 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  60
Joined  2011-07-07

Thank you for the info regarding the cache size setting.

I have just done the increase to 18MB as per your own experience.

I only do a few installs at a time, and typically slowly, so things should install properly - at least I hope they do.

Again, thanks for the info.

 Signature 

Reality is perception.

Profile