Digital Art Zone

 
     
Sending a photo from Gimp to Daz studio
Posted: 30 November 2012 08:03 AM   [ Ignore ]
New Member
Total Posts:  13
Joined  2012-11-08

I have a photo ‘Owlgoogle1.jpg. When I open Daz and browse in pictures, select the photo and open - -

I am told that there are ‘no items under your search’

I know it must be me, so can somebody tell me what I am doing wrong,

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 November 2012 09:01 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8134
Joined  2009-05-14

I have asked the mods to move this thread as it is in the wrong place.

While we wait what are you trying to do exactly? Then we can help.

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 November 2012 09:59 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16386
Joined  2003-10-09

OK, Moved to the New Users Help Forum as it is not an offer of a freebie, but is a request for assistance.

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        NeilV’s Freebies and stuff        Autumn Bryce Rendering Challenge        October Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 November 2012 09:59 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  13
Joined  2012-11-08

I have an Owl photo which I downloaded from google images.

I have put the photo into Gimp and saved as ‘owlgoogle1.jpg.

I want to import it into Daz studio and then into Bryce and set the whole into a woodland scene.

If you could tell me where I am going wrong I would be grateful.

The error I keep getting is ‘No items under your search’

Thank you

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 November 2012 11:02 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  13
Joined  2012-11-08

I have an Owl photo which I downloaded from google images.

I have put the photo into Gimp and saved as ‘owlgoogle1.jpg.

I want to import it into Daz studio and then into Bryce and set the whole into a woodland scene.

If you could tell me where I am going wrong I would be grateful.

The error I keep getting is ‘No items under your search’

Thank you

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 November 2012 11:15 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4545
Joined  2007-09-13

How, exactly are you trying to open it…

Pictures aren’t normally something that DS will open, unless you are applying them to a surface or setting them up as a backdrop.

Second, what OS are you using and if it is Windows, do you have Explorer set to show file extensions?

 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 November 2012 11:42 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8134
Joined  2009-05-14

what mjc1016 said. wink

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 December 2012 04:47 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  13
Joined  2012-11-08

The OS is windows 7 and yes the file extensions are there

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 December 2012 06:00 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8134
Joined  2009-05-14
mjc1016 - 30 November 2012 11:15 AM

How, exactly are you trying to open it…

Pictures aren’t normally something that DS will open, unless you are applying them to a surface or setting them up as a backdrop.

and what about the other questions asked by mjc1016. We can’t help until you give some info back to us, it is a two way effort. smile

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 December 2012 06:18 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16386
Joined  2003-10-09

Agreed.  We can’t really help you unless we can really understand what it is you are trying to do.

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        NeilV’s Freebies and stuff        Autumn Bryce Rendering Challenge        October Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 December 2012 07:44 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Addict
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4846
Joined  2004-07-01
gunangagak - 30 November 2012 11:02 AM

I have an Owl photo which I downloaded from google images.

I have put the photo into Gimp and saved as ‘owlgoogle1.jpg.

I want to import it into Daz studio and then into Bryce and set the whole into a woodland scene.

If you could tell me where I am going wrong I would be grateful.

The error I keep getting is ‘No items under your search’

Thank you

you don’t need DS and it will not work the way you want
you make a plane in Bryce and then load the photo on it - then you will be able to move it around in the woodland you make in Bryce

a different way - make your woodland scene in Bryce save the render
load it into Gimp then bring the owl in as a layer and merge them

Profile