Digital Art Zone

 
     
Export obj to 3ds Max
Posted: 30 November 2012 01:34 AM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  71
Joined  2012-08-07

Hi everybody,
i save a poser scene, Victoria 4 with textures and some morphs apply, as an obj file, export all except the ground.
I import it to 3ds max 2013, i convert Victoria to a editable poly so she is a single object made by many differents elements, can you tell me please how can i connect all these elements in order to get a single mesh made by a single element? Commands such connect, weld vertex, etc, dont work
Sorry if i ask questions about max here, i try to ask in some max forums, unfortunately nobody can give answers.
Thanks and sorry again!

 Signature 

Dive for me into a Deep Blue Ocean of Breathless Extreme Emotions…
http://www.extremespearfishing-worldtravel.com/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 November 2012 07:23 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  43
Joined  2005-12-30

did you try import export in hexagon daz modeler ?? worth a try

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 November 2012 10:03 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  291
Joined  2003-10-09

If you have a recent version of Poser your can open a PZ3 directly in max with the builtin PoserFusion

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 November 2012 11:49 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1090
Joined  2007-11-28

PoserFusion comes with Poser Pro 2012….

 Signature 

——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-
\Who gives a Rat’s Keister how many posts I had at the old Forum? LOL

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 November 2012 12:24 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  291
Joined  2003-10-09
WandW - 30 November 2012 11:49 AM

PoserFusion comes with Poser Pro 2012….

They started it in Poser 8, along with versions for Lightwave, C4D and Maya
But, as with most things, the recent version works better

 

Image Attachments
maxdemo.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 December 2012 08:08 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  71
Joined  2012-08-07

Thanks a lot for answers:
poser pro 2012, poser fusion SR3 for max 2013.
I open a tiket with poser assistence (excellent service) about poser fusion and Max cause i had problem to make it works,  with cinema 4d fusion is working much better, i dont know about Maya.
Poser fusion (SR 3 update support max 2013, previous version do not support 2013 edition) allow to open a poser scene in max however no materials are automatically applied on mterial lab.
Cause my english is not so good let make an example, via poser fusion let import to max Victoria 4 with a skin texture apply. Once in Max textures appear if we render Victoria however they are not in material lab, i ask the specific question to poser support and i’m waiting for answer, (the guy who answered told me that he must speak with some stuff member that know max better than him),  this is the reason why i try to import via obj, in both way, if we need textures on material lab they must be applied manually.
On the contrary poser fusion works much better with cinema 4d cause in cinema there is a specific button to apply textures that automatically are transferrend to material lab. Victtoria 4 textures are made by many files if i dont have to loose time to reapply them manually i prefer!

Anyway the problem that i have is different,
no matter if i import Victoria via Poser fusion or obj, once in Max i got a single mesh that i immediatly transform in an “editable poly”, a single mesh made by many elements, if i try to “connect” them then “weld vertex” in order to get a single mesh made by a single element, commands as “connect” and “weld vertex” dont work. usually in max if i want connect elements that belong to a single object i select one of the element, click the command “connect” then select the others in order to apply commenad “connect” then weld all the vertex, with Victoria 4 imported as obj or via poser fusion these commands dont work!
Sorry again cause i’m asking questions about max.
Thanks a lot!

 Signature 

Dive for me into a Deep Blue Ocean of Breathless Extreme Emotions…
http://www.extremespearfishing-worldtravel.com/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 December 2012 11:10 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  43
Joined  2005-12-30

try export obj from poser import to hexagon export max 3ds ??

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 December 2012 12:39 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  71
Joined  2012-08-07

Thanks,
i dont have hexagon.

 Signature 

Dive for me into a Deep Blue Ocean of Breathless Extreme Emotions…
http://www.extremespearfishing-worldtravel.com/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 December 2012 07:33 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  43
Joined  2005-12-30

download it if u like its free from the daz store if you really want to make a poly model compatible I believe I used hex a couple of years ago to do this think it solved the weld problem so common when using poser exports was time consuming though

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 December 2012 10:04 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2196
Joined  2011-11-16

Often going through a 3d program to convert items can help clean up conversion to the final target application. Sometimes this is through using tools available in the intermediate tool, sometimes it is as simple as routing through that application on the way to the target application. The latter has to do with the way the various applications handle conversions and even automatically at times fix issues in the import/export process. This dates back to early days with bmp and tiff formats which weren’t consistant at one time, through various 3d programs, so it appears likely it will remain true in various formats for the foreseeable future.

 Signature 

Just because I may have a strong opinion doesn’t make it any more (or less) correct than any other, just that I feel passionately a particular way at that moment.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 December 2012 09:36 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  71
Joined  2012-08-07

Thanks a lot,
the suggestion to go through a 3d program to convert items cause, as you said, it help clean up conversion to the final target application,
it is specifically related to hexagon or is a general suggestion?
I ask that cause i tried already to go from Poser to Cinema 4d than export my obj to Max. it dont work too, “connect”, “weld” commands dont work, so the suggestion is specifically related to hexagon or, as i understand from your reply, to a 3d program generally speaking?
In max i try to check Victoria 4 topology, i found a lot of unused vertex that i delate
If i dont find a solution i’m going to ritopologize Victoria and so i can “solve” the matter.
Thanks a lot!

 Signature 

Dive for me into a Deep Blue Ocean of Breathless Extreme Emotions…
http://www.extremespearfishing-worldtravel.com/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 December 2012 11:10 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2196
Joined  2011-11-16

It was a broad statement, really just to expand on what mullhull was saying.

As for Hexagon, I would definitely try it as it has been coded to work with DS at least to some extent, so it makes sense it would help in some circumstances at least. I would also consider getting familiar with Blender’s tools for normals etc… and try it as it tends to be pretty robust supposedly in this area from what I’ve seen and read. I’m still learning myself at this point so can’t give you better answers yet on exactly which/how/when type things.

 Signature 

Just because I may have a strong opinion doesn’t make it any more (or less) correct than any other, just that I feel passionately a particular way at that moment.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 December 2012 08:57 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  71
Joined  2012-08-07

Ok, thanks a lot!

 Signature 

Dive for me into a Deep Blue Ocean of Breathless Extreme Emotions…
http://www.extremespearfishing-worldtravel.com/

Profile