Digital Art Zone

 
     
Technical question on textures
Posted: 02 June 2012 02:46 PM   [ Ignore ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1470
Joined  2010-06-29

Hello,

I have for example a character with a skin texture. Is it possible in some way to lay another graphic like a tattoo or a wound or something like this, maybe waterlines on parts of the characters skin without drawing directly on the texture jpeg via a graphic program?

and if, how?

thank you
smile

 Signature  Samples of my renders by cosmo


Every day is your day - not the day of other people - So live your life, not the lifes of others and enjoy it

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 June 2012 02:53 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4708
Joined  2005-08-03

Layered Image Editor. It’s built into DS4. I’m not sure about previous versions.

 Signature 

Wearing duck crap doesn’t make you a duck - Floki
@Deviantart | @ShareCG
Tutorial: V4 Transmap Brows on Genesis via DS only.
——————————-
Websleuths - Help bring the missing home and give names to those who don’t have them.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 June 2012 02:59 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  202
Joined  2006-04-15

It’s a plugin for DS3: Multi-Layered Image Editor. I get a lot of use out of it, tbh. There are some great preset kits by other vendors for things like grime and blood-spatters.

 Signature 

“Why’s all the rum gone?”  *looks at the last render*  “Oh. That’s why the rum’s gone…”
DAZ Studio 3.1.2.32 | Windows 7 Pro SP1 x32 | ATI Radeon HD 4200
Say YES to David 5!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 June 2012 03:00 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4708
Joined  2005-08-03

Just be aware that it has the habit of being slow as molasses.

 Signature 

Wearing duck crap doesn’t make you a duck - Floki
@Deviantart | @ShareCG
Tutorial: V4 Transmap Brows on Genesis via DS only.
——————————-
Websleuths - Help bring the missing home and give names to those who don’t have them.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 June 2012 03:05 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  202
Joined  2006-04-15

It’s not quite ‘get a cup of coffee’ slow, but definitely expect to give it a minute or so to finish updating (or in some cases, loading). The larger the base texture is, obviously enough, the slower it is.

 Signature 

“Why’s all the rum gone?”  *looks at the last render*  “Oh. That’s why the rum’s gone…”
DAZ Studio 3.1.2.32 | Windows 7 Pro SP1 x32 | ATI Radeon HD 4200
Say YES to David 5!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 June 2012 03:33 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  66
Joined  2003-10-09

Photo Shop Doc PSD from Adobe is your file format/tool (non DAZ Studio) supported by Poser (later versions) GIMP as free editor Stable

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 June 2012 10:31 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  577
Joined  2006-10-01

Multi Layered Image Editor is very cool. Just place the desired graphics over the texture inside Daz Studio. I always use it on textures to give them more options without messing with the original texture file or creating variants of it.

 Signature 

Simplified guide to Genesis content creation.

My gallery.

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 June 2012 10:41 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1470
Joined  2010-06-29

I have the MLIE but must say, I haven`t done anything with this tool until now, I have tried something but in some way I can`t get any result. Maybe because I don`t know what to do smile

 Signature  Samples of my renders by cosmo


Every day is your day - not the day of other people - So live your life, not the lifes of others and enjoy it

Profile
 
 
   
 
 
[ Unvaulted?      Post order ]