Digital Art Zone

 
   
5 of 13
5
Is it just me or is Firefox having issues with the site lately?
Posted: 04 December 2012 03:13 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 61 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15987
Joined  2003-10-09

Despite everyone wanting to blame Daz 3D, it cannot be Daz 3D fault, or else everyone would be experiencing the same thing.

How ever some people are getting problems on one browser, some are getting problems on another, and the majority of people are experiencing no major problems, indeed may be experiencing no problems at all. at all.

Something is causing problems for some people, and it does need tracking down. So it is good to try and exchange data, to see if there is something common to all who have this problem occurring, but it should be done impartially.

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        Neil’Vs Freebies and stuff        Autumn Bryce Rendering Challenge        September Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 December 2012 03:28 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 62 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4545
Joined  2007-09-13
LazyLeopard - 04 December 2012 02:48 PM

Thoroughly borked here, and has been for several days now., as seen on FireFox 17.0 and now 17.0.1. None have worked since the site went wrong, and it is DAZ that’s gone wrong, because it was working fine (well, as close to “fine” as it’s got since the great DAZ Migration Disaster back at the beginning of the year…) earlier last week on 17.0, and then it stopped working. The breakage did not happen when I installed 17.0.1, it broke before then. Upshot, of course, is that I go get my 3-D fix elsewhere. wink

Whilst the most obvious symptom is lack of avatars and images in the forum and shop, another effect seems to be a failure to complete transfers properly, which leaves the browser in endless twiddle mode. Stop, go back, go forward, force reload, and it might deign to give you the full text if you’re lucky. However, nothing can get it to provide any images…

They’ve all been snowballed, I guess…

Create a new FF profile…DO NOT ENABLE ANY extensions…try visiting the forums…

DAZ could solve it…very easily…by leaving Cloudflare…but that would be a very major problem…the forums would take forever to load and probably fail under the onslaught.  The store would be unbearably slow and possibly even not work at all.  Many features would have to be disabled…and spam would run rampant.  The functionality would be well below that of the old forums/site…at best.

One of the things that may be happening to some…Cloudflare filters malicious activity, too.  It does so with a combination of things, but one of the items in that combination is IP blocking.  If your IP happens to be within the range of blocked addresses, nothing is going to help…short of getting Cloudflare to refine it’s blocking procedures.  And before anyone asks…no, I don’t know of any list of Cloudflare blocked IP ranges…that would be a stupid thing for them to publish anyway, it would kind of defeat the purpose of it.

 

 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 December 2012 05:27 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 63 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  13
Joined  2006-10-13
mjc1016 - 04 December 2012 03:28 PM

Create a new FF profile…DO NOT ENABLE ANY extensions…try visiting the forums…

Works just fine from my Linux laptop with Firefox 17.0 using the same extensions.

mjc1016 - 04 December 2012 03:28 PM

DAZ could solve it…very easily…by leaving Cloudflare…

Sounds like a good move to me…

mjc1016 - 04 December 2012 03:28 PM

The functionality would be well below that of the old forums/site…at best.

Curiously, the old (pre February-ish) DAZ was a great deal easier to work with, here. All the so-called upgrades DAZ has pushed out this year have so far failed to get the site back up to the pre-February(-ish) level of ease of use and so on.

mjc1016 - 04 December 2012 03:28 PM

but one of the items in that combination is IP blocking.

I’d expect to see the same sorts of symptoms on all the browsers I tried if it was something as dumb as that. I’m not. This Linux laptop is seeing things just fine. Of course, I’m not running Poser or DAZ or anything on it…

 Signature 

—20” Intel iMac, OS X 10.6.8 - Poser Pro 9.0.2.21492 (+ PP2010, P8 & P7) - Gimp 2.6 - (rarely D|S 2 - Carrara 6 - Hexagon 2.5)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 December 2012 06:20 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 64 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1615
Joined  2012-01-04
chohole - 04 December 2012 03:13 PM

Despite everyone wanting to blame Daz 3D, it cannot be Daz 3D fault, or else everyone would be experiencing the same thing.

How ever some people are getting problems on one browser, some are getting problems on another, and the majority of people are experiencing no major problems, indeed may be experiencing no problems at all. at all.

Something is causing problems for some people, and it does need tracking down. So it is good to try and exchange data, to see if there is something common to all who have this problem occurring, but it should be done impartially.

That is just not true Chohole. There has been many problems on this site that some experience while others never do. It is this site and the constant changes are what is doing it. I had my IT guy come over and he could find nothing wrong with my PC. We even ran a test on D/L speeds in which I scored real high, 9.5 mb/sec, yet I get around 100 kb/sec from this site which is over ten times slower than what I was getting 2 months ago. I go to other web pages and the pages load quickly with no problem, but this site is having a difficult time loading pages. It is only this site. Something is wrong and DAZ isn’t talking.

 Signature 

Old Post Count: Maybe 3 or 4.
O/S: Windows 7x64
D/S: 4.6.0.18

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 December 2012 07:30 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 65 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4545
Joined  2007-09-13
LazyLeopard - 04 December 2012 05:27 PM
mjc1016 - 04 December 2012 03:28 PM

but one of the items in that combination is IP blocking.

I’d expect to see the same sorts of symptoms on all the browsers I tried if it was something as dumb as that. I’m not. This Linux laptop is seeing things just fine. Of course, I’m not running Poser or DAZ or anything on it…

Yes, you would…and there have been others, not sure if it’s this thread or one of the similar ones, who do get the problems on any browser they use.  In your case, then, it’s most likely browser/OS specific….and that’s one of the problems with troubleshooting this AND proof why it isn’t the site at fault. 

As to Linux…well, yeah, I’m using it, exclusively, on my machine and other than a few minor bumps with site have not seen anything approaching the problems that some have.  What’s the difference?

I think that it’s because there are now AV’s, no content ‘management’...no nannyware, unless I’ve put it in there…

The interactions among OS, ISP and cloud servers seem to be finicky at best…throw in a bunch of nannyware and it’s a wonder any web interaction can get done, at all…

As to the clean profile…that’s FF troubleshooting 101…from before FF was a dot release, beta version (that’s how long I’ve been using it…)

About some of the other changes…layouts, lost functions, lost user controls and so on…now, that is a DAZ screw-up.  Basically, if you don’t have a replacement ready to roll, don’t get rid of a used feature.  The idea was to replace the functions of the old order history and some account controls/functions with a download manager…but that still is vaporware and the old functions are gone.  That is a separate issue from things like the lack of pics/avatars/etc, though.  Where my wife works is notorious for using obscure, cobbled together software packages that can’t really be duplicated…and every time the gov’t comes out with new health care regs (can anyone say HIPPA…and worse) they are thrown for a loop and need to revamp everything (yeah, who would think…a hospital cutting corners on software…) so I’m fully aware of what a pain changing the base software you are using can be…but things like forum software and ‘store front’ packages tend to have very similar features or they can be easily duplicated.  Not doing so because you are rolling out something to handle those functions, without it being rolled out, already, is very poor planning.

Now, me, personally, if it were my site…I would have ditched Cloudflare a couple of months ago and gone with someone else.  There are competitors and the field is growing…so there are options on that front. 

Unfortunately, the days of complete in house hosting for a serious commerce site are long gone.  One of the biggest advantages to using a service like Cloudflare, increased ‘security’ are too prohibitively expensive to implement in house, these days. And I see problems like the ones here, increasing and covering many more sites…

 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 December 2012 09:32 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 66 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  116
Joined  2005-01-15

Well, as if any cares about my woes….  now the ‘flash animation’ (for lack of a better term and knowing it might not be Adobe Flash) is not showing.

DAZ did respond to my ticket… I think they are looking at the IP blocking aspect mentioned above. 

On the ‘good side’, I found that I can right click on the image and open in a new tab.  At least I can see the main promo image that way.  Which is nice since they’ve started their Snowball (x days of Christmas?) sale.  I can at least look at what is new and on sale.  (Yes, I bought this since I like pin-up female props and such). 

I am not holding out much hope… but I do have a little left.

I do have to sympathize with those of use experiencing the problem while others seem to have no issues with the site.  Over the time since DAZ changed the site I usually didn’t experience all the problems or at least not to the degree others report.  Maybe it’s payback karma for all the nasty things I’ve said.  (I’d put an appropriate smiley here… but that part doesn’t work either. 

SIGH

EDIT:  And I can click in the general area of the other promo pics under the main image and see them.  (So, I can limp by and keep hoping things will get fixed.)

Last edit before I call it a night… I looked at the listing above of sites using cloudflare.  Everyone of them worked.  No blank images, links work, etc.  While the sites listed may have been massaged to be optimal, the point is they worked for me.  Only DAZ isn’t working.
Put this under the FWIW column.

 Signature 

State of residence:  Confusion (as in State of…)
State motto:  “A great place to live, we think, but not really sure.”
State bird:  Cuckoo. (only because the Dodo is extinct) 
State Flower: A rose cause it smells nice or poison ivy because no other state has that as a state flower.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 December 2012 09:57 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 67 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4545
Joined  2007-09-13
robert952 - 04 December 2012 09:32 PM

Well, as if any cares about my woes….  now the ‘flash animation’ (for lack of a better term and knowing it might not be Adobe Flash) is not showing.

DAZ did respond to my ticket… I think they are looking at the IP blocking aspect mentioned above.

I hope they find something…but I’m not hopeful.  It’s a common thread amongst bloggers….and there’s been no real solution from that side of things, other than going with someone other than Cloudflare.  The source seems to be buried in Cloudflare’s algorithms or something.  Although, if enough actual businesses start experiencing problems, Cloudflare may take real action (I mean how important are bloggers, really?).

 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 December 2012 10:07 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 68 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  116
Joined  2005-01-15
mjc1016 - 04 December 2012 09:57 PM

  (I mean how important are bloggers, really?).

Ouch… that’s just cold.

LOL

 Signature 

State of residence:  Confusion (as in State of…)
State motto:  “A great place to live, we think, but not really sure.”
State bird:  Cuckoo. (only because the Dodo is extinct) 
State Flower: A rose cause it smells nice or poison ivy because no other state has that as a state flower.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 December 2012 05:28 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 69 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  753
Joined  2003-10-09

Funny…. after reading this thread, I thought it was about I upgraded FF again (I’m on FF 12), so I downloaded FF 17 and installed it.

Blech!!

WTF are those squares on the default blank tab? I got rid of them, but couldn’t be bothered trying to find out what they’re for. Then my next issue was that ‘Go To A Website’ won’t go away. Normally the awesome bar is blank when I open FF, and GTAW only appears if I click inside the frame. But now even clicking in the bar doesn’t get rid of it, although I did discover that clicking and pressing a letter works anyway. (I have FF set up so I just press D for DAZ, G for Google, etc, to go to the site).

Anyway, I persevered and went surfing. Gah!! Slooooowwwww!! I tried it for about half an hour and every site was way slower than usual. So I gave up, uninstalled it and went back to FF 12. Went surfing again, and everything was back to normal speed.

Weird! I’m a big FF fan, so I’m pretty disappointed. I’m wondering if anyone else has found 17 to be slower.

Btw, I’ve had no issues with the DAZ site recently. The only minor change I’ve noticed in the last few days is if I open a link in a new tab (CTRL+click) but stay on the current tab, when I switch to the new tab, the images start loading. Normally they woukld have already loaded by the time I switched. This only happens at DAZ - nowhere else.

mac

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 December 2012 09:11 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 70 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  787
Joined  2005-09-19

A lot of people are talking as if the situation is you<—->DAZ, now obviously the only people who can be wrong in that situation are you or DAZ, and you’re pretty sure it’s not you. A more realistic view of the situation might be:

You-Your Browser-Your AV-Your Firewall-Your ISP’s Firewall-Your ISP’s AV-Your ISP’s Firewall*-(DNS**and chain of ISPs)-Cloudfare-(DNS**and chain of ISPs)-DAZ’s ISP-DAZ’s Servers-DAZ

* - Everyone in the chain will have firewalls and AV guarding incoming traffic both too and from you, and mostly everyone will be on different packages, or different updates if by coincidence they happen to be on the same package.

** - DNS Domain Name Server, think of it as satnav for the internet, possibly more than one,and possibly varying on a packet by packet basis, so you may get one part of your message via Buffalo, the next via Houston and the bit after that via Oklahoma City, with no predictable pattern, but travelling through a different set of ISP’s hardware and software at each step.

The problem for DAZ is they really only have access to a small amount of the information in that chain, pretty much only what browser you’re using and the files you want. That isn’t necessarily enough to troubleshoot the problem. We know some of the problems are caused by anti-virus software companies behaving as idiots, but after that you get into the possible interactions of multiple items of pieces of complex software. When only some people are having problems, as has overwhelmingly been the case, it tends to point to it being an interaction, rather than something DAZ has done wrong. All DAZ can do* is check that they have coded any changes according to the published standards, and, maybe, try and figure out if someone else didn’t.

As for people saying “Go back to how it was”, that simply wouldn’t work. I strongly suspect the hardware the old store ran on simply isn’t there anymore, DAZ admitted they were struggling to keep it running at all, and it’s now missed over half a year of essential patches.

{Pythons}
The old store is no more! It has ceased to be! It’s expired and gone to meet its maker! It is a late store! It’s a stiff! Bereft of life, it rests in peace! It is pushing up the daisies! Its metabolical processes are of interest only to historians! It’s hopped the twig! It’s shuffled off this mortal coil! It’s run down the curtain and joined the choir invisible! It is an ex-Store!
{/Pythons}

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 December 2012 10:07 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 71 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  13
Joined  2006-10-13
DWG - 05 December 2012 09:11 AM

As for people saying “Go back to how it was”

Sure, but the whole journey since the beginning of the year has more often been “three steps back, one step sideways” than “one step forward”. Yes, it’s a complex system, but the complexity seems to have gone a step or seven further than was wise; as if stuff is being done because it seems like a good idea at the time…

The forum, even when it isn’t suffering image loss or whatever, is still not as easy to keep up with as the old one was. Likewise the shop. Neither should have been rolled out until they could at least match the function of the system they were replacing. Instead, for the last ten months and more, we’ve been playing alpha-test games. Oh! Look what broke today…

Now, I’m off to nuke as much of FireFox as I sensibly can, to see whether I can clear out whatever’s causing the trouble.
Things I have ruled out:

NoScript. The site works just fine with NoScript on the Linux version of FireFox. NoScript is the only extension I have loaded.
Local web cache and web filtering: The Linux machine works fine going through them, and this machine still doesn’t work when I bypass them.
My ISP and other intermediate routing issues: The site works fine on the Linux machine which is using the same data traffic route right up to the end of the ethernet cable.

My guess is there’s some session garbage lingering…

Edit: Nope. Nothing that simple… It is, however, noticable that every page load on DAZ throws a large number of CSS warnings:

Timestamp05/12/2012 16:21:56
Warning
Unknown property '-moz-border-radius'.  Declaration dropped.
Source Filehttp://www.daz3d.com/shop/skin/frontend/enterprise_daz/default/css/layout.css
Line1
Timestamp
05/12/2012 16:21:56
Warning
Unknown property '-moz-box-shadow'.  Declaration dropped.
Source Filehttp://www.daz3d.com/shop/skin/frontend/enterprise_daz/default/css/layout.css
Line1
Timestamp
05/12/2012 16:21:56
Warning
Error in parsing value for 'margin'.  Declaration dropped.
Source Filehttp://www.daz3d.com/shop/skin/frontend/enterprise_daz/default/css/button.css
Line1
Timestamp
05/12/2012 16:21:56
Warning
Unknown property 'box-sizing'.  Declaration dropped.
Source Filehttp://www.daz3d.com/shop/skin/frontend/enterprise_daz/default/css/button.css
Line1
Timestamp
05/12/2012 16:21:56
Warning
Unknown property 'zoom'.  Declaration dropped.
Source Filehttp://www.daz3d.com/shop/skin/frontend/enterprise_daz/default/css/button.css
Line1
Timestamp
05/12/2012 16:21:56
Warning
Expected declaration but found '*'.  Skipped to next declaration.
Source Filehttp://www.daz3d.com/shop/skin/frontend/enterprise_daz/default/css/button.css
Line1
Timestamp
05/12/2012 16:21:56
Warning
Error in parsing value for 'font-weight'.  Declaration dropped.
Source Filehttp://www.daz3d.com/shop/skin/frontend/enterprise_daz/default/css/button.css
Line1
Timestamp
05/12/2012 16:21:56
Warning
Error in parsing value for 'background'.  Declaration dropped.
Source Filehttp://www.daz3d.com/shop/skin/frontend/enterprise_daz/default/css/button.css
Line1
Timestamp
05/12/2012 16:21:56
Warning
Expected colour but found 'top'.  Error in parsing value for 'background'.  Declaration dropped.
Source Filehttp://www.daz3d.com/shop/skin/frontend/enterprise_daz/default/css/button.css
Line1
Timestamp
05/12/2012 16:21:56
Warning
Error in parsing value for '-moz-transition'.  Declaration dropped.
Source Filehttp://www.daz3d.com/shop/skin/frontend/enterprise_daz/default/css/shadowbox/shadowbox.css
Line1
Timestamp
05/12/2012 16:21:56
Warning
Error in parsing value for 'transition'.  Declaration dropped.
Source Filehttp://www.daz3d.com/shop/skin/frontend/enterprise_daz/default/css/shadowbox/shadowbox.css
Line1
Timestamp
05/12/2012 16:21:57
Warning
Unknown property 'zoom'.  Declaration dropped.
Source Filehttp://www.daz3d.com/forums/editreply/184049/
Line

...and on and on and on. I’ve picked out a few different ones. Pages and pages appear to be repetitions of the same problem, every time a page is loaded. Might be nothing. More likely there’s some rubbish CSS in there.

 Signature 

—20” Intel iMac, OS X 10.6.8 - Poser Pro 9.0.2.21492 (+ PP2010, P8 & P7) - Gimp 2.6 - (rarely D|S 2 - Carrara 6 - Hexagon 2.5)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 December 2012 11:01 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 72 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  787
Joined  2005-09-19
LazyLeopard - 05 December 2012 10:07 AM

Neither should have been rolled out until they could at least match the function of the system they were replacing.

I’m fairly certain one of the business decisions involved in the switchover was deliberately not to attempt to match the system they were replacing, because that would have implied customising the site to the point they might as well not have changed at all. Instead they picked a mass-market system they were reasonably sure could be lightly customized to give a close approximation of the old system. And the rest we know, but it’s the system we’ve got to live with.

I’m certainly not saying DAZ are entirely blameless, I made it clear a week or so into the migration I thought the situation was bad enough to justify switching back to the old store, but that was then, this is now and that isn’t a viable answer any more. It may well be the new issues are down to DAZ, it may be that IE and Firefox aren’t following the standards as closely as they should, it may be a mix of both, or none, none of us are in a position to know for certain.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 December 2012 01:19 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 73 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  19
Joined  2003-10-09

Noscript creates page viewing and activity problems if I don’t options/allow Cloudfront, Cloudflare and something called newrelic, which seems to control the cart/add to cart system.

Again, adding clicks and mysterious enable-ments creates a worse webpage experience for uses. That’s baseline web design theory. Less Clicks = Better Experience. We shouldn’t have to allow extra scripted garbage to run just to get basic functionality when we didn’t need to before.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 December 2012 01:44 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 74 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1231
Joined  2004-11-07

When the new site first went live, my first post was about the same issues that have been brought up in this thread. The replies i got then were the same as I see here now.

Since my first gripe about these issue was posted, I have updates FF several times, uninstalled and cleared out studio, upgraded my ISP, done 100’s of cleanings, and quite a few defrags, updated several other apps and this site still locks up my browser for 30 seconds to 3 minutes every time I open it.

I can only come to the conclusion that “this is as good as it gets”
As long as the issues are dropped right back in the users lap, they are never going to be solved.
If I had the same issues with any other site; and I surf like a mad dog some times, I’d blame something on my end. But the DAZ site is the one and only site I have issues with.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 December 2012 02:11 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 75 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4545
Joined  2007-09-13
ManStan - 05 December 2012 01:44 PM

If I had the same issues with any other site; and I surf like a mad dog some times, I’d blame something on my end. But the DAZ site is the one and only site I have issues with.

Go to many Wordpress blogs?

About the only similar problem I know of is with Cloudfront enabled Wordpress blogs.

About the only way to solve it is going to be to run sniffers/diagnostics on the affected user’s end…but even that is problematic because many/most intermediary hops (especially Cloudflare) actively block such activity.

There are several things going on here…the site is basically coming from Cloudflare, but, there’s some stuff coming from Cloudfront (I think that’s run by Amazon), there’s a few things coming from Google other than googleanalytics and at least one thing from Yahoo…and this is per page.  Blocking any one of them (except googleanalytics) could lead to a cascade failure….which with the css problem that was just posted is what it looks like.  The problem is finding which one or combination is the ‘kill button’.

 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
   
5 of 13
5