Digital Art Zone

 
   
4 of 13
4
Is it just me or is Firefox having issues with the site lately?
Posted: 02 December 2012 12:05 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 46 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  112
Joined  2005-01-15
Gusf1 - 02 December 2012 11:09 AM

  Can anyone tell me how to allow clodflare in IE9?  I realy have no idea.
                  Gus

Same here… like I’ve said, I don’t get under the hood so much.  I have no problem with taking steps.  I just don’t know what steps to take.  What is noscript?  I run FF 17 with AdBlock Plus (I guess that’s ABP mentioned here.)  I don’t see cloudflare in any of the lists, how do I add it and where do I add it?  Is that sufficient?  Is there an interim step and/or additional software to install

While I understand the ‘issue’.  I still contend that regardless of the size of a company, if they are a web based business, they need to do whatever is necessary for ease of customer interfacing.  Now if that ‘solution’ is:  Go to XYZ.com download mysterysoftware.exe and follow the installation instructions, fine.

Poor solution IMO, but at least the customer knows what to do and can decide if it’s worth the effort to take these steps as a prerequisite to shop there.  But why should the customer be the one to solve the problem of getting into the store? 

I liken it to me going to a shopping mall.  I can simply walk into most stores.  But one store has a sign out front:  “To enter our store you must enter the secret code from our ad in today’s paper into the keypad.  Then lay on your back and wiggle under our security gate.”  Yes, I can do it.  But is it worth the effort to shop at that store?  They better have a product offer I really need or have a tremendous desire to own.  Else, I’ll find a similar store with a similar offer and take my business elsewhere. 

 

 Signature 

State of residence:  Confusion (as in State of…)
State motto:  “A great place to live, we think, but not really sure.”
State bird:  Cuckoo. (only because the Dodo is extinct) 
State Flower: A rose cause it smells nice or poison ivy because no other state has that as a state flower.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 December 2012 12:46 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 47 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4545
Joined  2007-09-13
robert952 - 02 December 2012 12:05 PM
Gusf1 - 02 December 2012 11:09 AM

  Can anyone tell me how to allow clodflare in IE9?  I realy have no idea.
                  Gus

Same here… like I’ve said, I don’t get under the hood so much.  I have no problem with taking steps.  I just don’t know what steps to take.  What is noscript?  I run FF 17 with AdBlock Plus (I guess that’s ABP mentioned here.)  I don’t see cloudflare in any of the lists, how do I add it and where do I add it?  Is that sufficient?  Is there an interim step and/or additional software to install

 

NoScript is an add-on, like AdBlock Plus.

For ABP (AdBlockPlus) right click on the icon in the toolbar and click on “Open Blockable Items” (or CTL+Shift+V) and scroll through the filters (although it should be near the top) and click on ‘ajax.cloudflare.com,,,it will probably be in red. *Yes, cloudflare HAS been added to some or many of the ABP blocklists!!!!  Right click on it and select ‘Disable Filter…’

For IE…I haven’t used it in a very long time, so I’m not sure how to go about allowing sites in it, these days…

 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 December 2012 05:49 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 48 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  112
Joined  2005-01-15
mjc1016 - 02 December 2012 12:46 PM
robert952 - 02 December 2012 12:05 PM
Gusf1 - 02 December 2012 11:09 AM

  Can anyone tell me how to allow clodflare in IE9?  I realy have no idea.
                  Gus

Same here… like I’ve said, I don’t get under the hood so much.  I have no problem with taking steps.  I just don’t know what steps to take.  What is noscript?  I run FF 17 with AdBlock Plus (I guess that’s ABP mentioned here.)  I don’t see cloudflare in any of the lists, how do I add it and where do I add it?  Is that sufficient?  Is there an interim step and/or additional software to install

 

NoScript is an add-on, like AdBlock Plus.

For ABP (AdBlockPlus) right click on the icon in the toolbar and click on “Open Blockable Items” (or CTL+Shift+V) and scroll through the filters (although it should be near the top) and click on ‘ajax.cloudflare.com,,,it will probably be in red. *Yes, cloudflare HAS been added to some or many of the ABP blocklists!!!!  Right click on it and select ‘Disable Filter…’

For IE…I haven’t used it in a very long time, so I’m not sure how to go about allowing sites in it, these days…

NO JOY.  Did the above and did not see what you described.  Let me start by saying that I have ABP disabled for DAZ3D.com.  But knowing that might not mean anything I ‘putzed around’. 

ABP/Open blockable shows a green text line for the URL address.  Rt Click on that and ‘Disable’ (same as clicking/unclicking Disable for…on drop down of ABP icon) shows listing as you describe with ajax.cloudflare as top line.  But ALL BLACK TEXT.  Nothing red. 

I create filters and turned the line to red text (as I’d expect since I wrote a rule to block that script, etc.)  Click/unclick choices, delete rules/exceptions/filters… etc. etc… No effect.  Nothing I do there changes the way the page displays.  All this semi-convinces me it’s not ABP causing the issue. 

Now what?  And since the page isn’t displaying properly in IE8, what else do I look at?  (BTW appreciate all the efforts and input.)

I looked around in my CA Total Defense AVS - I see nothing that should impede the site.  I am pretty open with accepting cookies and such… yes,  I understand the risks.  If it’s my AVS, I need a pointer as to where to look.

And we still expect the average customer to go through this frustration? 

The problem is that I am convinced something changed.  If it’s on my end… I don’t where else to look.  But a few days ago the page quit displaying properly for me.  I am not convinced it’s all on my end, though. 

 

 Signature 

State of residence:  Confusion (as in State of…)
State motto:  “A great place to live, we think, but not really sure.”
State bird:  Cuckoo. (only because the Dodo is extinct) 
State Flower: A rose cause it smells nice or poison ivy because no other state has that as a state flower.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 December 2012 06:29 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 49 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4545
Joined  2007-09-13

IE both 8 and 9 seem to be having the same problem, plus there are a bunch of ‘new’ complaints about the same issue at Wordpress for Cloudflare enabled blogs.

This round of ‘lost pics’ seems to have started after the last Windows update…

Actually it started with one AV blocking them.  Updating it to the most recent version cured it. Then it started again, this time, it’s looking like it may be the last Windows update…setting https://www.cloudflare.com to be a trusted site cured it in IE9 for some folks.

As to other AV programs…no idea where to look, but my guess would be in whatever section deals with scripting/cross site scripting protection/so on…

The best places to ‘complain’ would be MS (yeah, right) and the individual AV/add on suppliers…

 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 December 2012 07:19 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 50 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  218
Joined  2007-08-20

Still no joy with FF 3x. no pics or avtars in forum.
Unblocking cloadflare as explained in above post no change.

New problem in IE7, now all the thread post pictures are displaying side by side, instead of under the one before.
The post text is running off to the right into a dark area making it hard to read.

 Signature 

My DeviantArt page

My freebies on ShareCG

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 December 2012 08:38 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 51 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4545
Joined  2007-09-13
nitehawk_ltd - 03 December 2012 07:19 PM

Still no joy with FF 3x. no pics or avtars in forum.
Unblocking cloadflare as explained in above post no change.

New problem in IE7, now all the thread post pictures are displaying side by side, instead of under the one before.
The post text is running off to the right into a dark area making it hard to read.

Two things…

Make sure that it is C-l-ou-d-f-l-a-r-e and not cloadflare as in your post…

Next and most importantly…FF3.6?  ummm…you do realize that about half to two thirds of the updates to FF over the past two years or so fixed the security flaws in that version?  (If FF3.6 were a house, it would have been condemned as ‘unsafe’.)  Plus I’m not sure if some of your problem isn’t features that aren’t supported by that version…

 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 December 2012 09:06 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 52 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  78
Joined  2011-11-17

This is my experience with the image not loading completely/properly issue…which tormented me for a few weeks, and eventually the need to view Daz forum images prompted me on a single-minded hunt for solution.

Firefox was of course the chief suspect. I had v13 so I updated to v17. No avail. Tried Chrome. Same issue. Blame it on Adobe Flash, not them. Tried editing option settings in FF, didn’t work. Javascript update, nah.

Then, finally, updated to Kaspersky 2013 ( free update for existing subs) did it for me.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 December 2012 07:03 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 53 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  112
Joined  2005-01-15
mjc1016 - 03 December 2012 06:29 PM

IE both 8 and 9 seem to be having the same problem, plus there are a bunch of ‘new’ complaints about the same issue at Wordpress for Cloudflare enabled blogs.

This round of ‘lost pics’ seems to have started after the last Windows update…

Actually it started with one AV blocking them.  Updating it to the most recent version cured it. Then it started again, this time, it’s looking like it may be the last Windows update…setting https://www.cloudflare.com to be a trusted site cured it in IE9 for some folks.

As to other AV programs…no idea where to look, but my guess would be in whatever section deals with scripting/cross site scripting protection/so on…

The best places to ‘complain’ would be MS (yeah, right) and the individual AV/add on suppliers…

BTW, what other sites rely on cloudflare scripts? 

DAZ site works fine from my work site which surprises me considering I have gotten the “FORBIDDEN WEBSITE” message occasionally when I visit DAZ through work servers. 

Since the site works from my work laptop it does appear to be AVS related as that’s the major difference immediately obvious.  (Norton at work, Total Defense from CA at home.)  So I will look further into the AVS.

If the issue is as wide spread as it seems (though still apparently only certain pockets/situations), we can hope that someone at cloudflare is also looking into the matter.  (sorry - trying to introduce logic into a system that defies logic.)


I’d like to see if others do give me issues.  DAZ, so far is the ONLY site I have probs with.  But then that could be because I don’t spend a lot of time at other sites that use cloudflare.  An other site would be a ‘benchmark’ to see if I have problems viewing other sites

 

 Signature 

State of residence:  Confusion (as in State of…)
State motto:  “A great place to live, we think, but not really sure.”
State bird:  Cuckoo. (only because the Dodo is extinct) 
State Flower: A rose cause it smells nice or poison ivy because no other state has that as a state flower.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 December 2012 07:42 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 54 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15589
Joined  2003-10-09

You can download a list of sites that use Cloudflare here   http://trends.builtwith.com/topsites/CloudFlare

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        Neil’Vs Freebies and stuff        L Summer Bryce Rendering Challenge        August Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 December 2012 08:36 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 55 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  787
Joined  2005-09-19
robert952 - 02 December 2012 12:05 PM

I liken it to me going to a shopping mall.  I can simply walk into most stores.  But one store has a sign out front:  “To enter our store you must enter the secret code from our ad in today’s paper into the keypad.  Then lay on your back and wiggle under our security gate.”  Yes, I can do it.  But is it worth the effort to shop at that store?  They better have a product offer I really need or have a tremendous desire to own.  Else, I’ll find a similar store with a similar offer and take my business elsewhere.

A better analogy would be you’re driving down the road, see a store you think looks interesting, but as you pull up outside your car locks all the doors and says “No way, buster, don’t know how they do things in there so I’m not letting you go in.”

Now clearly that would be outrageous if cars actually behaved that way, but it’s how several of the anti-virus companies and other net software companies are now behaving. And DAZ can’t do much about it if it’s a product you (or your ISP) bought.

Until they learn to treat us as adults, or you change your car dealer, you’re stuck with jimmying the door open….

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 December 2012 11:25 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 56 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4545
Joined  2007-09-13
DWG - 04 December 2012 08:36 AM
robert952 - 02 December 2012 12:05 PM

I liken it to me going to a shopping mall.  I can simply walk into most stores.  But one store has a sign out front:  “To enter our store you must enter the secret code from our ad in today’s paper into the keypad.  Then lay on your back and wiggle under our security gate.”  Yes, I can do it.  But is it worth the effort to shop at that store?  They better have a product offer I really need or have a tremendous desire to own.  Else, I’ll find a similar store with a similar offer and take my business elsewhere.

A better analogy would be you’re driving down the road, see a store you think looks interesting, but as you pull up outside your car locks all the doors and says “No way, buster, don’t know how they do things in there so I’m not letting you go in.”

Now clearly that would be outrageous if cars actually behaved that way, but it’s how several of the anti-virus companies and other net software companies are now behaving. And DAZ can’t do much about it if it’s a product you (or your ISP) bought.

Until they learn to treat us as adults, or you change your car dealer, you’re stuck with jimmying the door open….

YES!!!!  Exactly…and it’s gotten to the point that it’s hard to say which is the ‘extortionware’...the malware that infects you and want you to pay to remove it…or the ‘protection’ that wants you to pay to be able to go anywhere/do anything.

 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 December 2012 11:41 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 57 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  81
Joined  2008-05-19

DWG Posted: 04 December 2012 10:36 AM   [ Report ]  [ Ignore ]  [ # 55 ] 

Active Member


Total Posts:  746
Joined 2005-09-19 robert952 - 02 December 2012 02:05 PM


I liken it to me going to a shopping mall.  I can simply walk into most stores.  But one store has a sign out front:  “To enter our store you must enter the secret code from our ad in today’s paper into the keypad.  Then lay on your back and wiggle under our security gate.”  Yes, I can do it.  But is it worth the effort to shop at that store?  They better have a product offer I really need or have a tremendous desire to own.  Else, I’ll find a similar store with a similar offer and take my business elsewhere.

A better analogy would be you’re driving down the road, see a store you think looks interesting, but as you pull up outside your car locks all the doors and says “No way, buster, don’t know how they do things in there so I’m not letting you go in.”

Now clearly that would be outrageous if cars actually behaved that way, but it’s how several of the anti-virus companies and other net software companies are now behaving. And DAZ can’t do much about it if it’s a product you (or your ISP) bought.

Until they learn to treat us as adults, or you change your car dealer, you’re stuck with jimmying the door open


But can’t they help their customers find a solution to using their site?  Even if the customer has to implement it themselves.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 December 2012 12:01 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 58 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1615
Joined  2012-01-04
chohole - 04 December 2012 07:42 AM

You can download a list of sites that use Cloudflare here   http://trends.builtwith.com/topsites/CloudFlare

I tried to download it and it took me to a page that said I would have to purchase the Pro Package in order to get the list.

 Signature 

Old Post Count: Maybe 3 or 4.
O/S: Windows 7x64
D/S: 4.6.0.18

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 December 2012 12:32 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 59 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15589
Joined  2003-10-09
Ledhead - 04 December 2012 12:01 PM
chohole - 04 December 2012 07:42 AM

You can download a list of sites that use Cloudflare here   http://trends.builtwith.com/topsites/CloudFlare

I tried to download it and it took me to a page that said I would have to purchase the Pro Package in order to get the list.

Ah sorry, I didn’t follow it that far.

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        Neil’Vs Freebies and stuff        L Summer Bryce Rendering Challenge        August Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 December 2012 02:48 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 60 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  13
Joined  2006-10-13

Thoroughly borked here, and has been for several days now., as seen on FireFox 17.0 and now 17.0.1. None have worked since the site went wrong, and it is DAZ that’s gone wrong, because it was working fine (well, as close to “fine” as it’s got since the great DAZ Migration Disaster back at the beginning of the year…) earlier last week on 17.0, and then it stopped working. The breakage did not happen when I installed 17.0.1, it broke before then. Upshot, of course, is that I go get my 3-D fix elsewhere. wink

Whilst the most obvious symptom is lack of avatars and images in the forum and shop, another effect seems to be a failure to complete transfers properly, which leaves the browser in endless twiddle mode. Stop, go back, go forward, force reload, and it might deign to give you the full text if you’re lucky. However, nothing can get it to provide any images…

They’ve all been snowballed, I guess…

 Signature 

—20” Intel iMac, OS X 10.6.8 - Poser Pro 9.0.2.21492 (+ PP2010, P8 & P7) - Gimp 2.6 - (rarely D|S 2 - Carrara 6 - Hexagon 2.5)

Profile
 
 
   
4 of 13
4