Digital Art Zone

 
   
2 of 13
2
Is it just me or is Firefox having issues with the site lately?
Posted: 29 November 2012 05:24 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 16 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  904
Joined  2005-11-06
SimonJM - 29 November 2012 12:21 PM
M F M - 29 November 2012 03:23 AM

(FF 16.0.2)... just in the last 24 hrs or so I’d lost all the images on the site (product images, forum folder icons, posted images)...

... in the end, I found that I had to whitelist the “cloudflare.com” website (running noScript in paranoid mode) as well as “cloudfront.net”, and all the images came back again.

Yup, that was what happened to me, too - ruddy confusing to have no images, icons, etc.!

Same here, was fine this morning and then DAZ seemed to move the images to a new place and I had to enable it in my no script window for the images and icons to show, all is fine now.

 Signature 

Regards, Michael

“Documentation? Who needs documentation, just open it and learn!”

My DeviantArt Gallery

My DAZ Gallery

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 November 2012 06:40 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 17 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  305
Joined  2003-10-09

Had a problem last night when the site seemed to go down. Not sure if it was real or just our connection playing up but it was back this morning.

Firefox has been fine all day, mostly using sites in the USA from the UK as I’m fighting software bugs.

Wait a minute ... all the avatars have gone…

 

 Signature 

Freebies

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 November 2012 06:50 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 18 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1615
Joined  2012-01-04
Baglet - 29 November 2012 06:40 PM

Had a problem last night when the site seemed to go down. Not sure if it was real or just our connection playing up but it was back this morning.

Firefox has been fine all day, mostly using sites in the USA from the UK as I’m fighting software bugs.

Wait a minute ... all the avatars have gone...

That’s what I’m saying, something is screwed up. The site has been down several times for maintenance the past few days. I think they are experiencing a major hiccup. It may not be affecting everyone right now. IE was showing the icons/avatars, whereas FF was not. Now IE is not showing icons/avatars. At least for me.

 Signature 

Old Post Count: Maybe 3 or 4.
O/S: Windows 7x64
D/S: 4.6.0.18

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 November 2012 06:51 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 19 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1615
Joined  2012-01-04

After I posted that I was seeing my avatar, but not anyone else’s.

 Signature 

Old Post Count: Maybe 3 or 4.
O/S: Windows 7x64
D/S: 4.6.0.18

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 November 2012 06:57 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 20 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  228
Joined  2006-09-01

Disabling JavaScript on daz3d.com shows the images/store with FF 17.

Nothing else works though ... maybe that’s what DAZ is longing for ... smile

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 November 2012 07:00 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 21 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  117
Joined  2005-01-15

About 8PM EST - no images in FF 17 or IE8. 

Hope the download works… off to get my Horse Bundle.

 Signature 

State of residence:  Confusion (as in State of…)
State motto:  “A great place to live, we think, but not really sure.”
State bird:  Cuckoo. (only because the Dodo is extinct) 
State Flower: A rose cause it smells nice or poison ivy because no other state has that as a state flower.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 November 2012 07:03 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 22 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1114
Joined  2003-10-09

  M F M - 29 November 2012 06:23 AM

  (FF 16.0.2)... just in the last 24 hrs or so I’d lost all the images on the site (product images, forum folder icons, posted images)...

  ... in the end, I found that I had to whitelist the “cloudflare.com” website (running noScript in paranoid mode) as well as “cloudfront.net”, and all the images came back again.


Okay, this means it’s not FF at all, it’s the blocking script run inside FF.

Anyway, what’s interesting is the name of those sites. Anything ‘cloud’ seems to be all the rage these days and there will be tons of hosts setting up ‘cloud’ servers that rent space to others. Looks like a possibility for the web images displayed on site. And it’s possible we’re simply ‘trying out’ various options to see what works best.

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 November 2012 07:24 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 23 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2983
Joined  2004-04-14

for “No Script” users, you only need to add “Cloudflare.com” to the white list.

 Signature 

My DAZ3D Store
My Free Stuff
My Art @ DeviantART
Ships of the Line - MEGA THREAD
How to use the Poser Format Exporter - **Updated 2013-02-09**

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 November 2012 07:29 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 24 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4545
Joined  2007-09-13
Mattymanx - 29 November 2012 07:24 PM

for “No Script” users, you only need to add “Cloudflare.com” to the white list.

Maybe that’s why I haven’t had any problems this time around…I’ve had Cloudflare whitelisted for a while now.

I’m wondering if that may be a contributing factor to some of the download problems some people are having?

 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 November 2012 08:41 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 25 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  305
Joined  2003-10-09
Mattymanx - 29 November 2012 07:24 PM

for “No Script” users, you only need to add “Cloudflare.com” to the white list.

That fixes it. Everything back to normal again.

 

 

 

 

 

 Signature 

Freebies

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 November 2012 09:08 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 26 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4545
Joined  2007-09-13

DAZ has been using Cloudflare for a while now…not sure what all is hosted there and what is hosted on DAZ’s own servers (if anything).

NoScript and other blocking software interfering with images and downloads…a very real probability. 

Change how it’s served from the cloud servers/change the url (heck it’s possible that changing the routing can mess things up) and unless you’ve set up your whitelist to allow domains as opposed to sites/pages and you’ll be blocked. 

The amount of software that in some way offers ‘protection’ is beyond belief.  All browsers have some blocking mechanisms…then there’s AVs, firewalls and even your router/modem to contend with.  And that leaves out DNS…if you haven’t specified a third-party DNS server and are using your ISP’s dns, then it’s likely that there is some measure of filtering going on.

Not to mention ‘throttling’...

I’m amazed that there are so few problems, overall.

 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 November 2012 11:48 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 27 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  12167
Joined  2007-11-06

...hmm… still using FF15.

Avatars: check

Images: check

Store works (well as well as it has been since the site rollout). 

Think I’ll give 17 a miss.

 Signature 

...it’s five minutes to midnight…

I’d rather have a blue sky above me than a blue screen in front of me.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 November 2012 12:47 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 28 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4545
Joined  2007-09-13
Kyoto Kid - 29 November 2012 11:48 PM

...hmm… still using FF15.

Avatars: check

Images: check

Store works (well as well as it has been since the site rollout). 

Think I’ll give 17 a miss.

I think it’s more of a NoScript/AV issue than a FF one…I’m beginning to wonder if Cloudflare hasn’t been tagged by some of the ‘filter’ sites as a potential ‘malware’ distributor or something.

 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 November 2012 01:03 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 29 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1334
Joined  2006-08-31
mjc1016 - 30 November 2012 12:47 AM
Kyoto Kid - 29 November 2012 11:48 PM

...hmm… still using FF15.
Avatars: check
Images: check
Store works (well as well as it has been since the site rollout). 
Think I’ll give 17 a miss.

I think it’s more of a NoScript/AV issue than a FF one…I’m beginning to wonder if Cloudflare hasn’t been tagged by some of the ‘filter’ sites as a potential ‘malware’ distributor or something.

For me, it isn’t an issue of anything going wrong as such - just that the external references made by the daz3d.com website have changed (recently) to include cloudflare.com as well as cloudfront.net.

Hmm… I see that the forum editor page still references scripts/objects from cloudfront.net (as well as cloudflare.com), but the main site seems to use cloudflare.com only.  *shrug* just whitelist it and be thankful your cross-site scripting protection is working properly v(~_~)v.  (IE, and FF without NoScript, doesn’t provide this sort of protection, which is why daz3d.com appears to continue to ‘work’ ok in those environments…).

 Signature 

Previous post count: 2678 Downloads Hightide Mark: 1708

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 November 2012 08:56 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 30 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  11852
Joined  2005-10-07

FF did one of it’s sneak upgrades on me this week.

i don’t bother to uninstall FF upgrades anymore, just paste in my preferred version to the Program Folders from my bak-up

 Signature 

Ð ° ° ° ° ° ö tīd gesǣlig
meaning of life = 42
self-reminder 22Dec
shut eye

Profile
 
 
   
2 of 13
2