Digital Art Zone

 
   
9 of 13
9
Is it just me or is Firefox having issues with the site lately?
Posted: 10 December 2012 01:27 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 121 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  14000
Joined  2003-10-09
Kyoto Kid - 10 December 2012 12:08 AM

..if Daz goes totally into the cloud they lose me. I’m not rendering while online because it compromises performance, and I’m not leaving copyrighted material there either.

Those of us on DA with have already dealt with the issue of “art theft”.

Hackers will do what ever they can to screw with people’s livelihoods because we are “softer” targets than the big corps and government.

This is using a cloud-based caching service to, by design, improve the speed of the site. It has nothing to do with cloud based applications.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 December 2012 02:34 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 122 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2310
Joined  2007-12-13

I tried loading the shop in IE and it was fine, loaded in seconds. Same in Waterfox. I don’t use Chrome as Poser doesn’t like it, or at least that was what I was told. What are some doing/running that is causing this? There has to be a common thing somewhere.

CHEERS!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 December 2012 03:14 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 123 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  13
Joined  2006-10-13
mjc1016 - 05 December 2012 05:46 PM

LL…one of the key things is that running the Linux machine on the same network gets you the missing parts…that has ‘OS’ written all over it.

The pertinent question being “Where is the difference coming from?”

Is DAZ serving slightly different code depending on what it perceives is at the other end of the link, or are both my linux and MacOS machines getting exactly the same page content, but the MacOS one is falling over some catch? It’s pretty difficult to tell because of the number of players involved. One thing became clear when I took a look at the output spewing to the FireFox console (on both linux and MacOS); The style information being spewed by the DAZ site is of very poor quality.

 Signature 

—20” Intel iMac, OS X 10.6.8 - Poser Pro 9.0.2.21492 (+ PP2010, P8 & P7) - Gimp 2.6 - (rarely D|S 2 - Carrara 6 - Hexagon 2.5)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 December 2012 12:45 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 124 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2310
Joined  2007-12-13

Oh, yeah,

If you remember what I said about kicking out all the manufacturer software, a BIG point worth noting is that you can ONLY do this once the warranty on the computer has expired! Do so beforehand and you void the warranty.

So, by all means kick out bloated AV programs and plug ins to get things running faster, but, if you just got your machine, you may have to wait a year before you can get it fully flying. I sort of got lucky as, although I bought my laptop in June, it was a store demo machine and the warranty expired in July!

Anyhow, back to the issue(s) at hand and I hope we can get to the bottom of it so that all users of the same type of system can benefit

CHEERS!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 December 2012 02:55 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 125 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4545
Joined  2007-09-13
Kyoto Kid - 10 December 2012 12:08 AM

..if Daz goes totally into the cloud they lose me. I’m not rendering while online because it compromises performance, and I’m not leaving copyrighted material there either.

Those of us on DA with have already dealt with the issue of “art theft”.

Hackers will do what ever they can to screw with people’s livelihoods because we are “softer” targets than the big corps and government.

Even though the average user is a ‘softer’ targets, the payoff is much bigger going after corporations.  Most of what catches the average Joe is ‘test’ stuff for the ‘big one’ or automated stuff that catches thousands at a time.  Dedicated hacking of individuals is not all that common (where as phishing, trojans and other such malware infestations are rampant, they are really ‘hacking’).

Richard Haseltine - 10 December 2012 01:27 PM
Kyoto Kid - 10 December 2012 12:08 AM

..if Daz goes totally into the cloud they lose me. I’m not rendering while online because it compromises performance, and I’m not leaving copyrighted material there either.

Those of us on DA with have already dealt with the issue of “art theft”.

Hackers will do what ever they can to screw with people’s livelihoods because we are “softer” targets than the big corps and government.

This is using a cloud-based caching service to, by design, improve the speed of the site. It has nothing to do with cloud based applications.

Richard…I think some of Cloudflare’s security also plays a part in it.  The filtering provided by Cloudflare is, at least in part, responsible for the relatively low amount of spam on the forums.  I mod at another forum where we don’t use any filtering…and believe me, spam control without it is a full time job.  The little that leaks through here is quickly dealt with…thankfully. 

And it’s not just speed of loading pages, it’s overall speed, because Cloudflare has servers around the world, so there are less hops for most people to get here.  A shorter distance to travel to get to the site, means a faster, overall, site.

Rogerbee - 11 December 2012 12:45 PM

Oh, yeah,

If you remember what I said about kicking out all the manufacturer software, a BIG point worth noting is that you can ONLY do this once the warranty on the computer has expired! Do so beforehand and you void the warranty.

So, by all means kick out bloated AV programs and plug ins to get things running faster, but, if you just got your machine, you may have to wait a year before you can get it fully flying. I sort of got lucky as, although I bought my laptop in June, it was a store demo machine and the warranty expired in July!

Anyhow, back to the issue(s) at hand and I hope we can get to the bottom of it so that all users of the same type of system can benefit

CHEERS!

I think on this one it’s going to have to be an individual, case by case, ‘find what’s blocking it’ type thing…

 

 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 December 2012 03:23 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 126 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2310
Joined  2007-12-13

Yeah, I guess so,

Everything works for me on both Waterfox and IE, I have Adblock installed in Waterfox, but don’t use recommended block lists. Should people that are having problems try doing the same things as those that it works for?

CHEERS!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 December 2012 03:59 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 127 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  740
Joined  2003-10-09

I ended up uninstalling Waterfox and going back to Firefox 12 for a couple of reasons. It wasn’t any faster, and it uses a HUGE amount of memory, approx. twice that of FF12 (on XP 64 Pro).

Unfortunately, after uninstalling it, I had a long series of issues trying to get FF12 working again, with Java and .NET Framework versions being the two culprits. During that process, I did a lot of googling and discovered the antics of the Microsoft Dirty Tricks Department with regards to Firefox. If any of you got a .NET Framework update, or have an FF plugin called Windows Presentation Foundation, you should read this article. (Or google Windows Presentation Foundation. There are 100s of articles about this).

http://www.computerworld.com/s/article/9139459/Sneaky_Microsoft_plug_in_puts_Firefox_users_at_risk

“This update adds to Firefox one of the most dangerous vulnerabilities present in all versions of Internet Explorer: the ability for Web sites to easily and quietly install software on your PC said the hints and tips site. “Since this design flaw is one of the reasons you may have originally chosen to abandon IE in favor of a safer browser like Firefox, you may wish to remove this extension with all due haste.”

The fact that this was a silent update to FF leads many people to believe that MS are deliberately trying to sabotage a competitor. And it’s not easy to get rid of it either, which is even worse. Here’s an article that tells you how. (You can only disable it in the FF plugins page in some versions of Windows).

http://www.ghacks.net/2009/10/18/how-to-uninstall-windows-presentation-foundation-plugin-in-firefox/

Check your FF plugins page! (CTRL+SHIFT+A)

mac

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 December 2012 04:18 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 128 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  66
Joined  2010-11-24

I use AVG Internet security 2013. My Vista home premium 32-bit likes it so far. I’ve had it for about 3 months. I don’t use ad blockers, but I do have FF set to not redirect to a new page unless I okay it. I found avg free to not update vezry much, so I got the paid version. I use Diskeeper to keep my hard drive defragged. And I have Ff set to remove cookies when I close it. Still slow, and sometimes fast, when I navigate these forums.

 Signature 

Jim
‘Through the thorns to the stars.’ from Ghost in the Shell.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 December 2012 04:30 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 129 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2310
Joined  2007-12-13
maclean - 11 December 2012 03:59 PM

I ended up uninstalling Waterfox and going back to Firefox 12 for a couple of reasons. It wasn’t any faster, and it uses a HUGE amount of memory, approx. twice that of FF12 (on XP 64 Pro).

Unfortunately, after uninstalling it, I had a long series of issues trying to get FF12 working again, with Java and .NET Framework versions being the two culprits. During that process, I did a lot of googling and discovered the antics of the Microsoft Dirty Tricks Department with regards to Firefox. If any of you got a .NET Framework update, or have an FF plugin called Windows Presentation Foundation, you should read this article. (Or google Windows Presentation Foundation. There are 100s of articles about this).

http://www.computerworld.com/s/article/9139459/Sneaky_Microsoft_plug_in_puts_Firefox_users_at_risk

“This update adds to Firefox one of the most dangerous vulnerabilities present in all versions of Internet Explorer: the ability for Web sites to easily and quietly install software on your PC said the hints and tips site. “Since this design flaw is one of the reasons you may have originally chosen to abandon IE in favor of a safer browser like Firefox, you may wish to remove this extension with all due haste.”

The fact that this was a silent update to FF leads many people to believe that MS are deliberately trying to sabotage a competitor. And it’s not easy to get rid of it either, which is even worse. Here’s an article that tells you how. (You can only disable it in the FF plugins page in some versions of Windows).

http://www.ghacks.net/2009/10/18/how-to-uninstall-windows-presentation-foundation-plugin-in-firefox/

Check your FF plugins page! (CTRL+SHIFT+A)

mac

Yipe,

So sorry you had so many problems. Everything seems fine for me. I guess it’s not for everybody.

CHEERS!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 December 2012 05:20 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 130 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  740
Joined  2003-10-09

No need to apologise. I tried it, and was happier with FF. No big deal.

I have to admit that I’m often less than enthusiastic about the latest versions of programs. I try to keep everything up to date, but a lot of the time, I end up going back to an older version of something.

I’m one of the few people who still uses DS 2 - simple, uncluttered and perfect for what I do - assembling figures and import/exporting .obj files. I only use DS 3 for the final stages, presets and product renders, and DS 4.5 only for testing to make sure everything works.

mac

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 December 2012 07:13 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 131 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  694
Joined  2003-10-09
Frank0314 - 09 December 2012 05:24 PM

It’s a very random problem that is only effecting some people. I don’t have any problems viewing anything in FireFox.

“effecting” ???

http://www.thefreedictionary.com/effecting

It took evolution 4 billion years to effect people, so now DAZ is doing it in a few weeks? 8-o

 Signature 

I’m sooo confused…  I’ve come to grasp a little of the nature of reality and the answer to life, the universe, and everything.  I even have an inkling as to who and what I am. Auuummmmm…
But please, please, who the hell are you?  And why are you trampling my roses?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 December 2012 07:30 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 132 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2831
Joined  2004-04-14

I am noticing a leg in loading the forum pages.  It can sit there and hang as long as I want to let it and it will do nothing but if I reload the page its fine.  This happens random but frequently.

 Signature 

My DAZ3D Store
My Free Stuff
My Art @ DeviantART
Ships of the Line - MEGA THREAD
How to use the Poser Format Exporter - **Updated 2013-02-09**

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 December 2012 08:04 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 133 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2356
Joined  2003-12-06

Same lag noticed here over the last few days. Annoying. Always seems to cork up about half-way down a forum page, just after someone’s avatar pic loads but before the text for the post data beside it gets filled in. So at least I always recognise at once what’s happened.

 Signature 

Gone to Vegas to play poker. Back when I run out of clothes.—Your Muse.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 December 2012 08:06 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 134 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1615
Joined  2012-01-04

The spinning green circle. It happens way too often.

 Signature 

Old Post Count: Maybe 3 or 4.
O/S: Windows 7x64
D/S: 4.6.0.18

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 December 2012 09:35 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 135 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  528
Joined  0

Site seems a little slow for me too. And now, I cannot get my wishlist to load, staring at a blank, dark grey block where it ought to be. This happens both in Chrome and IE 9.

Profile
 
 
   
9 of 13
9