Digital Art Zone

 
     
1 Click M4 Face Hair and POSER
Posted: 28 November 2012 09:25 AM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  57
Joined  2003-10-09

When I bought “1 Click M4 Face Hair” on sale a few years back, I thought at the time that I couldn’t use it with Poser 7, but I _would_ be able to use it with later versions of Poser.

Well, I finally got Poser 9, but now, when trying to use the product, I get a python-error message.

Looking at the page, I see that the product (now) says DAZ Studio (only), but…

“You can use the included maps in Poser by applying the texture maps via render nodes. “

Two questions:

1) Did the description of this product change since the site upgrade (or am I misremembering)?

2) How does one actually use this product (as suggested) in Poser?

Thanks for your advice.

 Signature 

Enjoy my books & art!
http://www.stephendsullivan.com
Adventure Guaranteed.  Monster’s Optional.
Follow me on Twitter - https://twitter.com/#!/sdsullivan
Like Me on Facebook - http://www.facebook.com/sdsbooks

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 November 2012 09:50 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  57
Joined  2003-10-09

Okay, I’m _not_ out of my mind.  The product I bought definitely calls itself:

10669_2_dpc_1ClickM4FaceHairforPoser_2.exe

So, it _is_ for Poser.  And here’s the product (which did not turn up quickly with my original search):

http://www.daz3d.com/shop/1-click-m4-face-hair-for-poser

So why the python error?

Any help?

Anybody?

Beuler…?

 Signature 

Enjoy my books & art!
http://www.stephendsullivan.com
Adventure Guaranteed.  Monster’s Optional.
Follow me on Twitter - https://twitter.com/#!/sdsullivan
Like Me on Facebook - http://www.facebook.com/sdsbooks

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 November 2012 10:39 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  57
Joined  2003-10-09

And here’s exactly what the error message says:

RuntimeError: Bad magic number in .pyc file

I did re-download the file today, and reinstalled it.

Help, please!

 Signature 

Enjoy my books & art!
http://www.stephendsullivan.com
Adventure Guaranteed.  Monster’s Optional.
Follow me on Twitter - https://twitter.com/#!/sdsullivan
Like Me on Facebook - http://www.facebook.com/sdsbooks

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 November 2012 10:46 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16765
Joined  2003-10-09

There was a change in the Python version between Poser 8 and Poser 9.

I know the vendors did say they are trying to update all their relevant products, but it is not an easy task.

Maybe contact either of them to ask if there is an update for this product, they both use the forums.

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        NeilV’s Freebies and stuff        Winter Bryce Rendering Challenge        November Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 November 2012 11:53 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  634
Joined  2004-12-14
sdsullivan - 28 November 2012 10:39 AM

And here’s exactly what the error message says:

RuntimeError: Bad magic number in .pyc file

I did re-download the file today, and reinstalled it.

Help, please!

This is why compiling python scripts are an incredibly bad idea.  The 1/2 of a second you save won’t help when the script is compiled against a version of python.

You will have to contact the vendor - good news is that they are pretty good about updating.

 Signature 

“Facts do not cease to exist because they are ignored” - Aldous Huxley

Profile