Digital Art Zone

 
   
2 of 2
2
Out of Memory
Posted: 28 November 2012 06:08 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 16 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  215
Joined  2006-11-17
ZZZwsfqewgfg - 28 November 2012 09:35 AM

Yup its crashing at 3.8 Gig.

You must be using copies rather than instances. Have a look at the post by Rashad.

Here is a very quick example.

Pic 1:- Model loaded into Bryce, it is approx 210,000 polygons(quads), Bryce reports it as being over 420,000 (tris).
Memory used by Bryce= Approx 110 MB

Pic 2:- Same model, but has brought along 1000 of his (instance) friends
Memory used by Bryce= Approx 120 MB

 

Image Attachments
single.jpgfriends.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 November 2012 07:21 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 17 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4545
Joined  2007-09-13
Steve athome - 28 November 2012 06:08 PM
ZZZwsfqewgfg - 28 November 2012 09:35 AM

Yup its crashing at 3.8 Gig.

You must be using copies rather than instances. Have a look at the post by Rashad.

Here is a very quick example.

Pic 1:- Model loaded into Bryce, it is approx 210,000 polygons(quads), Bryce reports it as being over 420,000 (tris).
Memory used by Bryce= Approx 110 MB

Pic 2:- Same model, but has brought along 1000 of his (instance) friends
Memory used by Bryce= Approx 120 MB

 

Just one problem, Steve…

With that many lined up they should look like this guy…

Image Attachments
dalek.jpg
 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 November 2012 07:27 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 18 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  215
Joined  2006-11-17
mjc1016 - 28 November 2012 07:21 PM

With that many lined up they should look like this guy…

LOL

Funny, but I did think about Daleks when making the instances.  I have never made a model of a Dalek, or I would of used it.

 

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 November 2012 02:54 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 19 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  8
Joined  2009-09-28

Ok this is weird but I can not see the images you guys have posted or my render?

What am I doing wrong?


I will try Instance some bots ( yea I must have copied them) and see what happens tonight.


Cheers
Z

 Signature 

http://yangchen.artistwebsites.com/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 November 2012 03:11 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 20 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3452
Joined  2004-10-01
ZZZwsfqewgfg - 28 November 2012 09:54 AM

I do a lot of Bryce Art I am really considering going back to XP.

The tutorial Rashad prepared for the IL is really good. If you want to have it all together in a neat PDF, get it here: http://www.horo.ch/docs/guests/pdf/InstancingLab_Rashad.pdf

Rashad was kind enough to give me the permission to publish it in that form. Generally, there are other Bryce relevant documents on my site (see sig).

 

 Signature 

**  [ Stuff by David Brinnen and myself**  [ My DAZ 3D Gallery**  [ My Website**  OPC 4565 **

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 November 2012 03:42 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 21 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  215
Joined  2006-11-17
ZZZwsfqewgfg - 29 November 2012 02:54 AM

Ok this is weird but I can not see the images you guys have posted or my render?

What am I doing wrong?

This site appears to have a lot of badly implemented javascript redirects that is causing issue.
You could block javascript which would then show the images, but that will kill other functions. Or, you would need to allow all javascripts / redirects that may be getting blocked.

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 November 2012 07:03 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 22 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15586
Joined  2003-10-09

If you are using Firefox, apparently if you use noscript then you need to make sure that Cloudflare is enabled, ie taken off the noscript list

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        Neil’Vs Freebies and stuff        L Summer Bryce Rendering Challenge        August Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 November 2012 07:42 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 23 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  215
Joined  2006-11-17
chohole - 29 November 2012 07:03 AM

If you are using Firefox, apparently if you use noscript then you need to make sure that Cloudflare is enabled, ie taken off the noscript list

It is actually a combination.
You can block all javascript for this site, and you will see all images posted, but the site also relies heavily on javascript for the buttons etc, so that will cause issue. If you allow javascript but block the redirects to “ajax.cloudflare”, that then stops the images being loaded, which, IMHO is a bug.

I must say I am quite irritated with all the redirect attempts from this site. Even when logging in / browsing my account, this site is constantly attempting to make my browser redirect/make connection to various external servers (cloudflare/cloudfront).

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 November 2012 07:51 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 24 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15586
Joined  2003-10-09

hmm I don’t get that, and I do logout and login a lot.

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        Neil’Vs Freebies and stuff        L Summer Bryce Rendering Challenge        August Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 November 2012 08:28 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 25 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  215
Joined  2006-11-17
chohole - 29 November 2012 07:51 AM

hmm I don’t get that, and I do logout and login a lot.

You will, but you probably do not know it because of your firewall rules, that will probably allow all outbound connections to remote port 443.
They are connections made it the background, you will not be physically redirected, as in being sent to another site, it is that your browser will connect to those 3rd party sites without your knowledge.

As a quick example.
I came to the forum, after seeing your post I went to top of forum to log in. On clicking log-in, my browser wanted to connect to daz(to log in) at 108.162.204.149.

Before I was sent and while attempting log in, My browser was being forced to attempt connections to:-
(because the first IP cannot be connected to, a different IP is then attempted, and so on)

141.101.125.37
141.101.126.37
54.240.162.107
54.240.162.162
54.240.162.100
54.240.162.190
54.240.162.185
54.240.162.29
54.240.162.105
54.240.162.146
216.137.59.133
216.137.59.234
216.137.59.98
216.137.59.129
216.137.59.71
216.137.59.12
216.137.59.184
216.137.59.232

 

 

Profile
 
 
   
2 of 2
2