Digital Art Zone

 
   
3 of 7
3
Wow, the new horse is awesome….
Posted: 27 November 2012 10:53 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 31 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1817
Joined  2010-10-10

Please, please, please, has anyone tried this in DS4?

I want it, but only if it works in DS4.

 Signature 

Wendy

My website: http://www.wilmapsdigitalcreations.co.uk

Tutorials: http://www.wilmapsdigitalcreations.co.uk/view_products.php?cat=10

PLEASE NOTE:
My items are NOT to be used on Second Life website.  They have recently changed their TOS and are legally able to take/steal anything uploaded and resell/redistribute to items.

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 November 2012 11:01 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 32 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1017
Joined  2012-02-04
wilmap - 27 November 2012 10:53 AM

I want it, but only if it works in DS4.

You need DS4.5.  Everything is in .duf file format.

 Signature 

My deviantART Homepage
Set Focal Distance script for DAZ Studio

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 November 2012 11:05 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 33 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1817
Joined  2010-10-10

Thank you. Oh well I’ll save my money then.

 Signature 

Wendy

My website: http://www.wilmapsdigitalcreations.co.uk

Tutorials: http://www.wilmapsdigitalcreations.co.uk/view_products.php?cat=10

PLEASE NOTE:
My items are NOT to be used on Second Life website.  They have recently changed their TOS and are legally able to take/steal anything uploaded and resell/redistribute to items.

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 November 2012 11:37 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 34 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16351
Joined  2003-10-09
wilmap - 27 November 2012 10:53 AM

Please, please, please, has anyone tried this in DS4?

I want it, but only if it works in DS4.


Well the product page for the horse on it’s own seems a little misleading actually because it says


  This product includes:
      1 DAZ Studio Legacy Installer
      1 DSON Core Installer
        1 Poser Companion Files Installer

Compatible 3D Figures N/A
Compatible 3D Software DSON Importer for Poser, DAZ Studio 4.5

We are told that the Legacy file is for DS4, So it would seem that it should work.

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        NeilV’s Freebies and stuff        Autumn Bryce Rendering Challenge        October Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 November 2012 12:06 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 35 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1017
Joined  2012-02-04
chohole - 27 November 2012 11:37 AM

Well the product page for the horse on it’s own seems a little misleading actually because it says
  This product includes:
      1 DAZ Studio Legacy Installer
      1 DSON Core Installer
        1 Poser Companion Files Installer

We are told that the Legacy file is for DS4, So it would seem that it should work.

I purchased the pro bundle (I have been doing 3D rendering less than a year, and don’t own any of the previous horses, so the new horse made sense for me), along with the extra discounted-if-in-the-same-cart-as-the-pro-bundle items.  I just went back and checked all the items in “My Downloadable Products” and NOTHING has a Legacy file download listed; not even the base DAZ Horse 2 itself.  Everything is DSON and PCF.  So unless DAZ missed the legacy files in the pro bundle (possible, considering the other errors already reported with the files in the pro bundle), the new horse is for DS4.5 or higher only.

Even if the base figure had Legacy support, with none of the other stuff having Legacy, it would be greatly hobbled in DS4.0.

 Signature 

My deviantART Homepage
Set Focal Distance script for DAZ Studio

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 November 2012 12:07 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 36 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  135
Joined  2003-10-09

What about DS3?  Will the legacy files work?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 November 2012 12:07 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 37 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1817
Joined  2010-10-10

So it will work in DS4.

Confused smile

 Signature 

Wendy

My website: http://www.wilmapsdigitalcreations.co.uk

Tutorials: http://www.wilmapsdigitalcreations.co.uk/view_products.php?cat=10

PLEASE NOTE:
My items are NOT to be used on Second Life website.  They have recently changed their TOS and are legally able to take/steal anything uploaded and resell/redistribute to items.

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 November 2012 12:13 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 38 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16351
Joined  2003-10-09

Yes in DS 4 but not in DS3, sorry about that.

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        NeilV’s Freebies and stuff        Autumn Bryce Rendering Challenge        October Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 November 2012 12:17 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 39 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  994
Joined  2011-05-19

Cant we just load them side by side in DS and copy UV’s from the original Horse to the new one?  Or use use use a modeling / uv app to swap UV’s? I have done this before on other figures with success.

 Signature 

Enjoy my games & freebie content created with DAZ 3D:

3dSkyDome.com - Curiosity killed the browser, 3d R&D

3Dnld My Freebies & Games - Farm Peeps Farm Theme 3D Stuff

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 November 2012 12:18 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 40 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4377
Joined  2011-11-25

I really like the horse. It is sitting in my cart right now. I’m thinking about it. I don’t use the old Mil horse anymore.  It looks really dated to me, (as does the cat and dog) so I probably WOULD use this version, since it looks great, particularly the mane and tale which was a real handicap in Mil Horse.

What I can’t wait to see are poses with the saddles and bridles I see there are some for genesis, but fitting saddles and bridles to hands were a real pain with gen 4.

I am also debating the cost of just buying the horse ala carte versus the basic bundle. I want the saddle/bridle , but don’t really need the barn, shoes, or accessories, even though they are nice. I tend to do contemporary/sci-fi renders so armor is not useful at present.

I am kicking myself for using my WELCOME coupon for 30% off on a bundle earlier this week and missing out on adding that to the new horse set.

I also am tempted by the texture set, but 20.00 is more than I can afford right now for a skin- albeit a beautiful one.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 November 2012 12:25 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 41 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1817
Joined  2010-10-10
chohole - 27 November 2012 11:37 AM
wilmap - 27 November 2012 10:53 AM

Please, please, please, has anyone tried this in DS4?

I want it, but only if it works in DS4.


Well the product page for the horse on it’s own seems a little misleading actually because it says


  This product includes:
      1 DAZ Studio Legacy Installer
      1 DSON Core Installer
        1 Poser Companion Files Installer

Compatible 3D Figures N/A
Compatible 3D Software DSON Importer for Poser, DAZ Studio 4.5

We are told that the Legacy file is for DS4, So it would seem that it should work.


Doesn’t say about the Legacy Installer on the page I see.

Sorry don’t know why it’s gone blue.

 

Image Attachments
Horse2.png
 Signature 

Wendy

My website: http://www.wilmapsdigitalcreations.co.uk

Tutorials: http://www.wilmapsdigitalcreations.co.uk/view_products.php?cat=10

PLEASE NOTE:
My items are NOT to be used on Second Life website.  They have recently changed their TOS and are legally able to take/steal anything uploaded and resell/redistribute to items.

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 November 2012 12:42 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 42 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2322
Joined  2011-11-16
islandgurl31 - 27 November 2012 08:22 AM

I used the Mil Horse in this pic: I thought it came out pretty good grin

Walk In The Woods

Yes, it looks very nice smile

 Signature 

Just because I may have a strong opinion doesn’t make it any more (or less) correct than any other, just that I feel passionately a particular way at that moment.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 November 2012 02:15 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 43 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  580
Joined  2005-09-12

I can’t justify the price of the pro bundle for the work I’d be doing with the horse—but what I really want is the draft horse and the donkey, so It looks like I’ll need to get the pro bundle. I do expect to see a fair number of animals based of the horse as time goes on . . .

 Signature 

The only constant is change—and it’s a variable.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 November 2012 01:02 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 44 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2266
Joined  2005-09-05

Bought the pro bundle and the genesis and horse pose set plus the english saddle textures. Used my PC coupon and picked it up for $58
That’s not a bad price considering what I’ve got for the money.

Haven’t had chance to play as I’m reinstalling my computer.

 Signature 

Shadermixer tutorials and recipes
My ShareCG Gallery
Shadermixer Documents

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 November 2012 03:18 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 45 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1255
Joined  2009-01-09

I have had the chance to play a bit, and the results are ... interesting. Yes, that’s the word. Interesting.

You have to use the scale dials as well as the bend/twist/side-side sliders to pose the reins and the stirrups to match the various rider poses. Use the Z-scale to shorten the stirrup leather, not the Y-scale. The whole process is weirdly fiddly, but possibly slightly easier than the old tack. Possibly.

Also, is there some way to shorten the mane? When you click the “Mane run” toggle, it sweeps back and it looks great. It also goes right through any character on the horse’s back and obscures their face from one direction or the other. Using the Surfaces tab kinda sorta helps, but it also renders part of the mane along the neck invisible, which really isn’t what you want.

 Signature 

VWrangler at deviantArt (NSFW for some images; login required to view those)

Profile
 
 
   
3 of 7
3