Digital Art Zone

 
   
2 of 7
2
Wow, the new horse is awesome….
Posted: 27 November 2012 07:16 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 16 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3456
Joined  2009-08-05

Can somebody please be kind enough to give me a morph list? I am interested in getting it, but telling me it comes with so and so amount of morphs means nothing If I don’t know exactly what they are. Thanks.

 Signature 

My Daz Store
My Rendo Store

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 November 2012 07:18 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 17 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1231
Joined  2004-11-07

LOL Everyone has seen the horse and says it looks great, but no one has bought it yet . At that price, I ain’t. If I remember right that was about the price on the milhorse complete bundle; when DAZ still had it.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 November 2012 07:36 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 18 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1825
Joined  2010-10-10

I would like to get it but it is a bit pricey.

I don’t want to upgrade to 4.5 yet and would like to know if it will work in DS4. No point in buying it if I can’t use it.

 Signature 

Wendy

My website: http://www.wilmapsdigitalcreations.co.uk

Tutorials: http://www.wilmapsdigitalcreations.co.uk/view_products.php?cat=10

PLEASE NOTE:
My items are NOT to be used on Second Life website.  They have recently changed their TOS and are legally able to take/steal anything uploaded and resell/redistribute to items.

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 November 2012 07:39 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 19 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2302
Joined  2010-12-18
Mattymanx - 27 November 2012 07:13 AM

Its not for everyone.  Dont feel bad and dont let it get you down.  Use what you have and be content with it.

I was actually coming back to say something to this effect. You’re right, I should use what I have and post work it until I’m content. I’ve tried using the horse in the past but it tends to hold the render back, but I’ve decided to use it and deal with the quirks.

 

 Signature 

My deviantArt Pinup Gallery

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 November 2012 08:22 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 20 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  239
Joined  2005-09-14
larsmidnatt - 27 November 2012 07:39 AM
Mattymanx - 27 November 2012 07:13 AM

Its not for everyone.  Dont feel bad and dont let it get you down.  Use what you have and be content with it.

I was actually coming back to say something to this effect. You’re right, I should use what I have and post work it until I’m content. I’ve tried using the horse in the past but it tends to hold the render back, but I’ve decided to use it and deal with the quirks.

 

I used the Mil Horse in this pic: I thought it came out pretty good grin

Walk In The Woods

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 November 2012 08:24 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 21 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2302
Joined  2010-12-18
islandgurl31 - 27 November 2012 08:22 AM

I used the Mil Horse in this pic: I thought it came out pretty good grin

Walk In The Woods

Nice, much better than my horses. Did you use some expansions for the mane? Looks good.

 Signature 

My deviantArt Pinup Gallery

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 November 2012 08:26 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 22 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  17
Joined  2003-10-09

Can’t use it.
Yes, Poser user.
Now before you tell me to use the importer…
DS4 crashed and crashed and crashed on my machine.
Installed 4.5 and thought ooh I can actually do something and try this…and I get about 10 minutes into something and BOOM.
I might try, but I won’t give it more than 30 days because if I can’t get this thing to work in that time frame, it’s useless to me.
Seeing as I didn’t get the PC refund, I am not willing to risk getting dumped on again.
(And Daz, a refund does not mean “Store Credit” to me. It means money back.)
I might buy it. I returned M5, because I picked up the wrong bundle (showing ALL bundles when I search for it would be kind of beneficial, thanks), of course now that deal is gone (I think, checking later) and they did a store credit—I will INSIST they return it to my paypal, then maybe pick up the horse instead.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 November 2012 08:48 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 23 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  239
Joined  2005-09-14
larsmidnatt - 27 November 2012 08:24 AM
islandgurl31 - 27 November 2012 08:22 AM

I used the Mil Horse in this pic: I thought it came out pretty good grin

Walk In The Woods

Nice, much better than my horses. Did you use some expansions for the mane? Looks good.

I used a texture set by CWRW:

Pro Textures for the Mil Horse Bundle

She makes some awesome textures grin. I still need to raid her rendo store…lol.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 November 2012 08:56 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 24 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  50
Joined  2005-11-30

Does it work in DS3 red face

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 November 2012 08:59 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 25 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  998
Joined  2011-05-19

OOOOOHHHHHH Yippee a new quadruped to animate!  Very excited about the new DAZ Horse II.  He will be very welcome at FarmPeep’s barnyard!

 Signature 

Enjoy my games & freebie content created with DAZ 3D:

3dSkyDome.com - Curiosity killed the browser, 3d R&D

3Dnld My Freebies & Games - Farm Peeps Farm Theme 3D Stuff

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 November 2012 08:59 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 26 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2302
Joined  2010-12-18
islandgurl31 - 27 November 2012 08:48 AM

I used a texture set by CWRW:

Pro Textures for the Mil Horse Bundle

She makes some awesome textures grin. I still need to raid her rendo store…lol.

K thanks, i’ve heard a lot about those and haven’t spent any money but maybe one day I will.

 

 Signature 

My deviantArt Pinup Gallery

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 November 2012 09:26 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 27 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1356
Joined  2006-01-16

You do not need DAZ Studio Installed at all to use the DSON Importer.  If DAZ Studio Crashes on you, don’t load it up.  Install the DSON Importer with the proper Poser and just use that. 

Anatis - 27 November 2012 08:26 AM

Can’t use it.
Yes, Poser user.
Now before you tell me to use the importer…
DS4 crashed and crashed and crashed on my machine.
Installed 4.5 and thought ooh I can actually do something and try this…and I get about 10 minutes into something and BOOM.
I might try, but I won’t give it more than 30 days because if I can’t get this thing to work in that time frame, it’s useless to me.
Seeing as I didn’t get the PC refund, I am not willing to risk getting dumped on again.
(And Daz, a refund does not mean “Store Credit” to me. It means money back.)
I might buy it. I returned M5, because I picked up the wrong bundle (showing ALL bundles when I search for it would be kind of beneficial, thanks), of course now that deal is gone (I think, checking later) and they did a store credit—I will INSIST they return it to my paypal, then maybe pick up the horse instead.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 November 2012 09:37 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 28 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  135
Joined  2003-10-09

So the new horse requires DSON if you want to use it in Poser?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 November 2012 10:19 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 29 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1017
Joined  2012-02-04
Zev0 - 27 November 2012 07:16 AM

Can somebody please be kind enough to give me a morph list? I am interested in getting it, but telling me it comes with so and so amount of morphs means nothing If I don’t know exactly what they are. Thanks.

Since this a TriAx style figure with all the morphs stored in separate files, just like Genesis, you can get an idea of what morphs are available by looking at the file lists online in the documentation center:

DAZ Horse 2: http://docs.daz3d.com/doku.php/public/read_me/index/15246/file_list
Starer Bundle Content: http://docs.daz3d.com/doku.php/public/read_me/index/15395/file_list
Pro Bundle Content: http://docs.daz3d.com/doku.php/public/read_me/index/15396/file_list

Granted, that doesn’t show you what the morphs look like, but the naming can at least give you ideas of what DAZ has tried to include.

Basically, look for the “Morphs” section in the “data” hierarchy.  The morph filename prefix tells you what kind of morph it is.

FBM == Full Body Morph
PBM == Partial Body Morph (e.g., body-only)
PHM == Partial Head Morph (e.g., head-only)
JCM == Joint Controlled Morph (usually used to correct for bends, etc)
MCM == Morph Controlled Morph (usually see this to correct for facial expressions and such)
CTRL == Pose Control instead of an Actor morph (I think, not positive about this one)

The VSM prefix I’ve not seen prior to the release of DAZ Horse 2, so not sure what it stands for.  Viseme maybe?  (E.g., expressions)

 Signature 

My deviantART Homepage
Set Focal Distance script for DAZ Studio

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 November 2012 10:33 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 30 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1825
Joined  2005-06-08
BlumBlumShub - 27 November 2012 05:10 AM

. . . From a backward-compatibility point of view this is a heavy investment though.  Some things can probably be moved and parented fairly safely (unicorn horns, possibly saddles with morphs and such), but a lot of stuff is going to be very difficult, particularly armour.  But still, we had a lot of that when Genesis came out . . .

Genesis has alternate UVs so it can use previous Mil-generations’ textures — the new horse doesn’t have an alternate MilHorse UV?  Why not?  Genesis can (with varying distortion and morph-bobbles, although it’s improved lately) use previous Mil-generations’ clothes and stuff because DS4.5Pro’s Autofit can convert them, but not MilHorse to the new horse?  Why not?

It’s a beautiful and exceptionally versatile new horse, I’m happy it’s out!  But yeah, why is the investment DAZ’s customers have made in MilHorse stuff being ignored?

 Signature 

~

Hat-wearing member of the Bald Wizards Club

Eyebrow-Free Face Textures — A List

Profile
 
 
   
2 of 7
2