Digital Art Zone

 
     
Morph Loader in D4.5
Posted: 26 November 2012 07:52 PM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  69
Joined  2003-10-09

In DS3A, I bought Morph Loader and used it to save a lot of head morphs for V4.  Trying
to apply them to V4 in DS4.5, it almost works, but the ears and neck implode into sharp
jagged polygonal messes (if you follow…).  I’m using “Morph Loader Pro” which
seems to be built in.  Any ideas or fixes?  Any alternatives?  Does DS 4.5 have any other way to save
a morph to a slider? One reason I liked Morph Loader is that it allowed me to mix in
multiple morphs at whatever levels I liked.  Puppeteer almost does that, but not quite.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 November 2012 08:45 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  3
Joined  2012-11-13

I think you get jagged broken morphs if you export using bone welds for your base mesh?

I could be wrong?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 November 2012 11:49 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  69
Joined  2003-10-09
jim - 27 November 2012 08:45 AM

I think you get jagged broken morphs if you export using bone welds for your base mesh?

I could be wrong?

I’ll try some various options with new exports, but what I’d really like is to use the many morphs I’ve already created.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 November 2012 09:31 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  59
Joined  2009-09-08

You should think about making the jump to Genesis. Most of the new tools are so much easier to use and all your old Props, Clothing, and hair can be easily converted. You can use Wings3D, Blender, and/or Sculptris to Sculpt morphs and then save your characters to Dials!! ...

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 November 2012 12:38 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1650
Joined  2008-11-10

Anything Gen4 I still do in DS3. I could never get 4.5 to load the morphs correctly (or save out either). However, I use SyrInj (in the DAZ store) for all of my morph loading, as it saves it as a PZ2 file rather than load it into V4’s CR2.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 November 2012 08:08 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  69
Joined  2003-10-09

I appreciate the comments.  Daz went to the bother to write the morph loader pro and morph
loader advanced (still unclear why we need both) for DS4.5.  So, it should be useable and I
guess it’s just buggy at present.  If anyone could try to recreate my issue I’d appreciate hearing
about it:  export a facial morph for V4 in DS3, and then try to use it on V4 in DS4.5 and see
if the ears and neck implode or if they morph properly.  Thanks!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 November 2012 04:46 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  820
Joined  2007-01-08

Morph Loader was IIRC in Advanced, and perhaps Standard as well, while Morph Loader Pro was a DS Pro-only feature, that’s why there are two. The non-Pro has always given me problems, too. I have exported, as OBJ, a V4 head with a male morph dialed to 80% both as welded and unwelded and it loads apparently correctly in DS4.5. I do not see ear nor neck distortion. I’m not sure what the cause could be.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 December 2012 01:17 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  69
Joined  2003-10-09

I’ve verified that if I export the morphs in DS4.5 they import properly (in DS4.5).  So,
that’s a start.  I’ll keep playing.

BTW, when I exported morphs in DS3A, I used to hide all the body parts except for
the neck, head, eyes, jaws, and tongue.  And then used the option about the hidden
body parts.  While playing with DS4.5, I didn’t bother to do that and the head morphs
still seem ok.  Was it unnecessary to do this in DS3A with morph loader, or has something
changed?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 December 2012 03:23 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  820
Joined  2007-01-08

Your DS3 technique is correct, only the visible vertices are saved I don’t think it changed in DS4.5 (I did a quick test). In any case if you plan on re-importing as a morph, it’s not wrong to export everything since the Morph loader strips the unused values.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 August 2013 07:51 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  69
Joined  2003-10-09

I’ve played around with my custom morphs with mixed results in 4.6.  What I’m finding is that V4 head morphs made in DS4.6 (exported as .obj, Daz defaults checked) and applied in Morph Loader Pro work fine on some saved characters, but not on others.  When it doesn’t work, I get the horrible crumpling of the neck I reported earlier.  It seems that if its a “fresh” V4 that hasn’t already had a bunch of morphs added, before saving, then the morphs work.  Any thoughts on why this may be the case?  Any ideas how to fix this?  I do love to mix and match morphs!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 August 2013 08:57 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16477
Joined  2009-01-22

I’m no Morph expert but I believe you must fix the New morph to include the other morphs on the figure (talk to/include) when you are in Morph Loader pro. If not all the morphs will not talk to each other properly and you see what that causes. I’m sure it’s just settings you need to add before you save the morph.

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 August 2013 11:38 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  69
Joined  2003-10-09
Jaderail - 11 August 2013 08:57 PM

I’m no Morph expert but I believe you must fix the New morph to include the other morphs on the figure (talk to/include) when you are in Morph Loader pro. If not all the morphs will not talk to each other properly and you see what that causes. I’m sure it’s just settings you need to add before you save the morph.

Thanks for the reply.  Unless I’m totally confused, morph loader pro is not involved in saving the morph.  When applying it, on the other hand, I just tried some of the switches available in morph loader pro (about adding deltas, overwriting, etc.) but it doesn’t seem to help.  I’d love to figure out why this works on some saved characters and not others.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 August 2013 01:51 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16477
Joined  2009-01-22

Ah, was a shot in the dark. I only make Prop morphs so I’ve only read a few posts on character morphs.

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 August 2013 07:42 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1242
Joined  2004-06-13

The way you where working with only the head may have effected the grouping.  If you still have DS3 try loading the old figures and your custom morphs then export to object being sure to check Use Existing Groups.  Now try them in DS4.x.

 Signature 

Push buttons, see what happens!

Profile