Digital Art Zone

 
     
can you use V4/M4 with Daz 4?
Posted: 25 November 2012 07:17 PM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  143
Joined  2011-09-10

I mean with all the M4/V4 stuff also? or is it only limited to daz 3.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 November 2012 07:19 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2945
Joined  2011-12-10

short answer: yes.  You can use V4, M4, V3, M3, V2, M2, V1, M1 in DAZ Studio 1, 2, 3, 4 and 4.5

 Signature 

My DeviantArt Galleries
My ShareCG Gallery
OPENSUBDIV Testing and Discussion
3Delight Surface and Lighting Thread

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 November 2012 07:31 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4545
Joined  2007-09-13

Basically, if it is an OBJ based, geometry mesh that is rigged in the Poser ‘style’, it is still usable…and in any version of DS, so far.

If it is a Triax (DAZ’s format) weight mapped figure…it’s usable in DS 4.0 and up.

If it’s a Poser 9/2012 weight map format…it’s not usable.

The first covers the vast majority of items/figures out there (for Poser/DS).

 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 November 2012 05:42 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  143
Joined  2011-09-10

this is the same with the environments, buildings, props etc yes?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 November 2012 05:48 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2753
Joined  2009-02-24

Yes, the majority of your models should function perfectly fine in Daz Studio 4.5 aside from the few exceptions pointed out by Wancow.

 Signature 

Find me on DeviantArt
Download my free IBL presets for Luxus
Re-upload of Cresent’s awesome pwToon shaders
Create your own Smart Content

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 November 2012 06:32 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1586
Joined  2008-02-14

I have my DAZStudio directories are pointed to my Poser runtimes and almost everything loads as far as props and figures.  Now depending on the Materials used,  some surface texturing and tweaking might be required to improve the quality of a render.

 Signature 

PUBLISHED ARTIST
First Bastion’s Environments here at Daz

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 November 2012 12:31 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  143
Joined  2011-09-10

K thanks all.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 November 2012 02:56 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  530
Joined  2009-04-14

I’ve found a few items that don’t like DS4, but they’re older items (4+ years) and usually freebies—anything I’ve bought from the DAZ store still works fine. I’m using M4 and V4 far more than I use Genesis, and I’ve yet to find something for them that doesn’t work in DS4.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 November 2012 06:34 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2278
Joined  2003-12-06

The only major problems with version compatibility are the other way round — Genesis stuff and anything supplied in the new D|S4 file formats will not work in D|S3 or earlier.

Note that some things are limited to D|S3, some plugins have updated versions which you’ll need to redownload and install, and some plugins were, unfortunately, never updated to D|S4. (Isn’t there a list somewhere of plugin update status?)

 Signature 

Gone to Vegas to play poker. Back when I run out of clothes.—Your Muse.

Profile