Digital Art Zone

 
     
Trans equals what?
Posted: 25 November 2012 06:03 PM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  233
Joined  2007-08-27

On maps, there are scales to measure distance, e.g. 1 inch = 1 mile, etc. Rotation in DS is degrees, e.g. xrot 45 = 45 degrees. So, e.g. xtrans 10 would be what? Centimetres, inches, feet?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 November 2012 06:28 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2566
Joined  2007-12-07

If memory serves, the x/y/z trans units are cm, with the ‘ground grid’ of DS laid out in 50cm squares.

 Signature 

Some writings by a friend:
http://www.lizardsofthehost.co.uk/11.html
http://www.lizardsofthehost.co.uk/13.html
http://www.lizardsofthehost.co.uk/7.html

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 November 2012 07:00 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2945
Joined  2011-12-10

1.0 units of translation = 1 Centimeter

And see this thread:
http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/11923/

 Signature 

My DeviantArt Galleries
My ShareCG Gallery
OPENSUBDIV Testing and Discussion
3Delight Surface and Lighting Thread

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 November 2012 08:00 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4545
Joined  2007-09-13

Basically, everything in DS is in cm.

That means a 0.1 displacement is a mm, too.

 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 November 2012 08:05 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2945
Joined  2011-12-10

Oh crap… you know what, till I read your post, that never bloody well occurred to me!!!  No joke!

 Signature 

My DeviantArt Galleries
My ShareCG Gallery
OPENSUBDIV Testing and Discussion
3Delight Surface and Lighting Thread

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 November 2012 03:39 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  773
Joined  2003-10-09

Yes, centimeters. But the floor grid is 1 meter squares, not 50cm.

The easy way to see for yourself is to make a 1m cube primitive. Move it +50cm X and Z to fit it in a grid square.

mac

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 November 2012 03:49 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  233
Joined  2007-08-27

Thanks all. Now I know how to place a building a quarter of a mile away smile

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 November 2012 05:08 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2566
Joined  2007-12-07
maclean - 26 November 2012 03:39 PM

Yes, centimeters. But the floor grid is 1 meter squares, not 50cm.

The easy way to see for yourself is to make a 1m cube primitive. Move it +50cm X and Z to fit it in a grid square.

mac

I suspected that 50cm would come back and bite me ... I had a render running at the time and could not check/confirm. smile

 Signature 

Some writings by a friend:
http://www.lizardsofthehost.co.uk/11.html
http://www.lizardsofthehost.co.uk/13.html
http://www.lizardsofthehost.co.uk/7.html

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 November 2012 05:09 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  233
Joined  2007-08-27

Which places the building outside a skydome. So, according to DAZ, the universe is only half a mile wide ohh

Image Attachments
Translation.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 November 2012 05:23 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4545
Joined  2007-09-13

You do know they say the world is getting smaller all the time…but just beyond the end of my driveway?  That’s a little too small…

 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 November 2012 04:34 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  820
Joined  2007-01-08

But, but you can scale the sphere up! And things disappear from the viewport if you scale them too big.
If that’s the UE sphere it doesn’t matter if things are inside or outside, they still will be lit (as long as the texture on the sphere isn’t set to show in the render, that is).

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 November 2012 09:22 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2945
Joined  2011-12-10

There’s got to be a way to create backgrounds… some technique you can use to render a background, then map it onto a sphere, or a background arc… I’ll bet that would be a great pluggin or script challenge for some of these guys that do that…

 Signature 

My DeviantArt Galleries
My ShareCG Gallery
OPENSUBDIV Testing and Discussion
3Delight Surface and Lighting Thread

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 November 2012 09:26 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  2
Joined  2011-07-14

There is Infinito

http://www.daz3d.com/shop/infinito-1-0

But at that price? Errr .......

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 November 2012 09:43 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2945
Joined  2011-12-10

I was looking at that… I’m not sure.  I’d like to see one or two other people actually using it and recommending it before I buy it…

 Signature 

My DeviantArt Galleries
My ShareCG Gallery
OPENSUBDIV Testing and Discussion
3Delight Surface and Lighting Thread

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 November 2012 02:04 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2322
Joined  2011-11-16

It was half off during the PA sale. The only reason I didn’t buy it was because it didn’t support instancing. I’m thinking I should have bought it anyways.

Allessandro has some great videos available if anyone is considering it. He is the same artist who is developing the “Look at my Hair.”

 Signature 

Just because I may have a strong opinion doesn’t make it any more (or less) correct than any other, just that I feel passionately a particular way at that moment.

Profile