Digital Art Zone

 
     
Backdrops
Posted: 25 November 2012 05:01 PM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  61
Joined  2011-12-28

Hello;

I am trying to apply the wood material preset to the edge attached to the backdrop…but nothing is happening…something has to be wrong somewhere…

on the product page it says that there are presets for both Daz and Poser…
in the Poser thumbnails i only one set of materials…it doesnt say whether its for Daz or Poser. (and by the way…i also have this product installed in Studio 4.5 and all materials work perfectly.
during installation i just pointed the installler to my PoserPro executable path…and the exp was installed…only some of these materials are not applying.

this seems all very strange…

link to product:

http://www.daz3d.com/shop/backdrops-exp-2-eras-of-interiors

thanks for viewing.

Image Attachments
Untitled.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 November 2012 12:25 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1015
Joined  2007-04-08
sheedee3D - 25 November 2012 05:01 PM

Hello;

I am trying to apply the wood material preset to the edge attached to the backdrop…but nothing is happening…something has to be wrong somewhere…

on the product page it says that there are presets for both Daz and Poser…
in the Poser thumbnails i only one set of materials…it doesnt say whether its for Daz or Poser. (and by the way…i also have this product installed in Studio 4.5 and all materials work perfectly.
during installation i just pointed the installler to my PoserPro executable path…and the exp was installed…only some of these materials are not applying.

this seems all very strange…

link to product:

http://www.daz3d.com/shop/backdrops-exp-2-eras-of-interiors

thanks for viewing.

Hi Sheedee3D

You say you’ve installed this for DS4.5 and it’s working fine, so I am assuming you’ve also installed this into your DS runtime and that you also have the parent product ( http://www.daz3d.com/shop/backdrops-made-easy ).  Have you tried setting up a runtime in Poser Pro that accesses the same one?  You don’t have to install files in two separate places for Poser and DS.

 Signature 

You’re never too old for metaballs!  ~Michael Frank

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 November 2012 02:00 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  61
Joined  2011-12-28

I dont quite understand this thing about setting up a runtime that poser can also access…normally i point the installers to either the Poser executable or in the case of Daz Studio to the Studio my library path, and everything works fine.

Does this mekan that in the future i can point installers to only one runtime (or library) and make Poser access the Studio library?...

how would i go about doing this?...

 

What i find most weird about the whole situation is that on the product page it says that it comes with both Poser mat files & Studio mat files…but when installed into Poser…there is only one set of materials that can be accessed…part of them which works when applied…part which does not work wehn applied.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 November 2012 06:16 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8040
Joined  2009-05-14

I dont quite understand this thing about setting up a runtime that poser can also access…normally i point the installers to either the Poser executable or in the case of Daz Studio to the Studio my library path, and everything works fine.

I think what Blum is trying to say is that you don’t need to install the same product in to Daz Studio and Poser directories, just point Poser to the Daz Studio content directory as shown below.

Does this mekan that in the future i can point installers to only one runtime (or library) and make Poser access the Studio library?...

Yes

What i find most weird about the whole situation is that on the product page it says that it comes with both Poser mat files & Studio mat files…but when installed into Poser…there is only one set of materials that can be accessed…part of them which works when applied…part which does not work wehn applied.

Yiou will not see the Daz Studio material presets in Poser which is how it supposed to be. But you will see both in Daz Studio.

Image Attachments
AddLibrarys.jpg
 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 November 2012 06:20 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8040
Joined  2009-05-14

as for your issues I can’t help sorry. You didn’t answer Blum’s question about purchasing the parent product http://www.daz3d.com/shop/backdrops-made-easy

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 November 2012 06:28 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1015
Joined  2007-04-08
Szark - 26 November 2012 06:20 AM

as for your issues I can’t help sorry. You didn’t answer Blum’s question about purchasing the parent product http://www.daz3d.com/shop/backdrops-made-easy [/quo.te]

If you look at the pic SheeDee has posted, it appears that the item has loaded into Poser, which is why I assumed the parent product had been purchased.  I guess it wasn’t a question, but confirmation might help us, yes.

 Signature 

You’re never too old for metaballs!  ~Michael Frank

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 November 2012 06:46 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  61
Joined  2011-12-28

And yes…i do have the parent product of course (backdrops made easy)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 November 2012 07:00 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16108
Joined  2003-10-09
sheedee3D - 26 November 2012 06:46 AM

And yes…i do have the parent product of course (backdrops made easy)


Very strange, do you have a textures folder in your poser runtime, can you try adding one manually to see if it works that way.

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        Neil’Vs Freebies and stuff        Autumn Bryce Rendering Challenge        September Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile