Digital Art Zone

2 of 7
Is Carrara dead?
Posted: 25 November 2012 05:22 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 16 ]
RankRank
Total Posts:  934
Joined  2006-06-12

I really hate when the polls get taken down.
They can be useful and the original poster put it up for a reason.
Anyway, I don’t think Carrara is dead. Daz just needs to get behind it more.
They’re working on getting Genesis into Carrara (see C8.5).
I think a lot of artists, especially small independent ones, can make good use of it.
Before anyone lobs a grenade my way, I’m a professional and I use Carrara and know a few other pros who do.
It’s good software, but it needs greater visibility and documentation to help users get the most out of it.

Signature 

There is a serious tendency toward capitalism among the well-to-do peasants.
Mao Tse-Tung

Posted: 25 November 2012 05:22 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 17 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1059
Joined  2007-10-15
Garstor - 25 November 2012 05:09 PM

At first I had a hard time linking Daz and 3D work with comics—but I was being too literal in my mind. Actually, there is a very nice fit there… wink

Yeah, I suspect that young males who like fantasy-world type stuff is DAZ’s primary market.

Posted: 25 November 2012 05:40 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 18 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Joined  2007-10-15
tsarist - 25 November 2012 05:22 PM

Anyway, I don’t think Carrara is dead.

I’m curious, what makes you think that?

This isn’t an attack, I’m just trying to find out if people have reasons that I’m missing.

Posted: 25 November 2012 05:48 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 19 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1377
Joined  2011-01-03

Before anyone lobs a grenade my way, I’m a professional and I use Carrara and know a few other pros who do.
It’s good software, but it needs greater visibility and documentation to help users get the most out of it.