Digital Art Zone

 
     
FBX EXPORT BUGS in DAZ 4.5
Posted: 24 November 2012 02:50 PM   [ Ignore ]
New Member
Total Posts:  5
Joined  2006-03-05

Hello,

I have experimented with this error in all the latest builds of Daz 4.5. The bug is the same.

When you export a figure with a prop or hair attached the character comes imported into Maya/C4D/3ds Max
with the props positioned incorrectly.

I’ve seen others address this issue though no real solution has been reached yet.

Thanks

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 November 2012 09:03 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  1
Joined  2009-04-17

Experiencing the same here. When exporting figures with hair using the DAZ Studio 4.5 FBX Exporter, the hair ends up in the wrong place.

Also the figures appear somewhat distorted on certain joints (e.g. when you move a figure in DAZ studio using the mouse, the figure temporarily distorts during movement, and then reverts back to a smooth figure when releasing the mouse, this is the exact same distortion seen when inporting an FBX file).

Anyone have a workaround?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 December 2012 08:48 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  1
Joined  2009-02-19

Same problem - I’m using the Mac version and the (Genesis) mesh when exported as an OBJ is sub-divided (as per sub-division settings) but not when exported as FBX or DAE.

I can’t find anything in the export settings that would force the higher level mesh to export - I’m quite sure this is the cause of the deformations.

Is this forum where bugs are reported?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 December 2012 08:59 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15111
Joined  2003-10-09

No if it is a bug that can be duplicated and confirmed as a bug then it should be reported to the bug tracker (Mantis)

https://bugs.daz3d.com/my_view_page.php

You need to make an account to use this if you do not already have a bug tracker ID, as it is separate from the DAZ 3D site.

You can however use the same details as your forum ID, which makes it easier to keep track

Adam has given some guidelines here, about filing bug reports


http://forumarchive.daz3d.com/viewtopic.php?t=170706

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        Neil’Vs Freebies and stuff        E Summer Bryce Rendering Challenge        July Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 December 2012 02:54 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  321
Joined  2004-04-07

I’ve noticed that too, with the hair, my solution is to just import it separately. tongue laugh

I’m not sure the base mesh being exported via FBX and Collada is actually a bug.

Not all 3D capabilities are implemented in the FBX standard.
The more advanced stuff like complex materials and subdivision get stripped out.
There’s nothing the exporter can do about that.

I just add subdivision as needed in Cinema, that’s really the way it should be.grin

 Signature 

regards
prixat

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 February 2013 08:50 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  1
Joined  2008-10-17

I experiencing the same.

My solution is to turn in DAZ neck and head in all axis in 0.
Then it will be exported correctly.
The head can be turned in c4d very well smile


This working only with a few poses

Profile