Digital Art Zone

 
     
How to return camera to default carrara’s position in one click?
Posted: 23 November 2012 09:52 PM   [ Ignore ]
New Member
Total Posts:  2
Joined  2012-11-22

Hello.

How to return camera to default carrara’s position in one click?
Can’t find this in help and others.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 November 2012 10:33 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  621
Joined  2007-08-14

I don’t think it’s possible.

When you have your camera the way you like it, you can lock it in place (Motion tab, Constraint: Lock), or save its position (Camera menu in viewport -> Set Position to -> Save Position).

 Signature 

These are not the tutorials you’re looking for. Move along.
My old profile

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 November 2012 12:22 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  356
Joined  2007-07-31

Try selecting your camera in the active view pane

select “set position to / reference’

see if that does what you want.

 Signature 

http://bond3d.wix.com/carrarators#!home/mainPage

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 November 2012 02:04 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  621
Joined  2007-08-14

Oh wow, somehow I’ve missed that all this time. :D

 Signature 

These are not the tutorials you’re looking for. Move along.
My old profile

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 November 2012 09:47 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  2
Joined  2012-11-22

Not found any match “view pane” in help. Can’t you say where can i see it. Thanks.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 November 2012 10:05 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  193
Joined  2007-03-03

He means the main view window, not a “view pane” command.

Your easiest solution is to click on your camera name in the top left corner of the main viewing window.  From there, choose “Set Position To” and you can choose to set the current camera to one of the other cameras (I often use the Top view if I get my camera out of whack).

You can also just select an item and hit the zero on your keypad and it will zoom to that item, which should at least get your camera back to somewhere you can use it.

 Signature 

-Kodiak3d

“I wonder what tomorrow has in mind for me, or am I even in its mind at all?”
- “Crystal Ball” by Styx

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 November 2012 04:48 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1825
Joined  2004-08-24

HI auxdeux smile

Pics to help.

The View Menu….

The Camera options Menu

Image Attachments
view_menu.jpgCamera_menu.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 November 2012 06:52 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1418
Joined  2011-01-03
Kodiak3D - 25 November 2012 10:05 PM

Your easiest solution is to click on your camera name in the top left corner of the main viewing window.  From there, choose “Set Position To” ...

I gotta admit; this is one of my peeves with Carrara. Many parts of it - the view port / camera name in the upper-left being a prime example - that is completely unintuitive. Until someone actually shows you that it can be clicked on and changed…who would think to try clicking on it?

 Signature 

- Garstor
Australian-Canadian currently trapped in Texas (maintaining sanity with doses of Carrara, LightWave and PhotoShop)

My 3D art Flickr page for final or near-final images
My 3D art Flickr page for work-in-progress or experiments

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 November 2012 07:27 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  238
Joined  2006-01-21

How about me?

This was one of the first things I noticed in Carrara, and one of the things I really appreciated over Poser.

That’s the way it goes sometimes, one persons obscure is another persons blindingly obvious.

(By the way, there’s no such thing as intuition, only common learned responses and pattern recognition. Once you learn that, then all software interfaces fall into place logically. And it is in the manual).

 Signature 

http://roguepilot.deviantart.com/
http://www.renderosity.com/mod/gallery/browse.php?username=RoguePilot
http://www.ShareCG.com/pf/full_uploads.php?pf_user_name=RoguePilot

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 November 2012 07:50 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1418
Joined  2011-01-03

Okay RoguePilot…I doff my cap to you! Hmmm…we need an emoticon for that…

Still and all; you gotta admit there are quirks to the interface that wouldn’t take much to fix. Basic, junior-level coding stuff.

 Signature 

- Garstor
Australian-Canadian currently trapped in Texas (maintaining sanity with doses of Carrara, LightWave and PhotoShop)

My 3D art Flickr page for final or near-final images
My 3D art Flickr page for work-in-progress or experiments

Profile