Digital Art Zone

 
   
5 of 5
5
Computer Specs
Posted: 05 January 2013 05:04 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 61 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  206
Joined  2006-09-05

Hi Guys, I have put the userprofile and account on the 2T HHD. The SSD now still has 90 GB available. That will diminish somewhat if and when I put more graphic programs on it. But I can live with that.

Prixat, did you get a better render using ray trace and uberenvironment?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 January 2013 09:08 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 62 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  356
Joined  2004-04-07
frodi - 05 January 2013 05:04 PM

...did you get a better render using ray trace and uberenvironment?

yeah, there’s really no substitute for actually calculating each ray.

In this example the multiple reflections and refraction needed 6 bounces and took 1 hour 25 minutes. - 2nd image

...but if you don’t need all the effects ray tracing produces, you can get quite close: 1 minute 50 seconds. - 1st image

 

Image Attachments
0-short.png0-long.png
 Signature 

regards
prixat

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 January 2013 10:49 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 63 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  206
Joined  2006-09-05

Well prixat, that is quite some difference!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 January 2013 10:54 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 64 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4545
Joined  2007-09-13
prixat - 05 January 2013 09:08 PM
frodi - 05 January 2013 05:04 PM

...did you get a better render using ray trace and uberenvironment?

yeah, there’s really no substitute for actually calculating each ray.

In this example the multiple reflections and refraction needed 6 bounces and took 1 hour 25 minutes. - 2nd image

...but if you don’t need all the effects ray tracing produces, you can get quite close: 1 minute 50 seconds. - 1st image

 

prixat…which version?

I noticed a considerable speed up with raytracing on my ancient dual core machine, with the latest beta, as it is using 3Delight 10.0.70…which includes some speed fixes.  The longest I’ve had since running the beta, has been 5 hrs.  A scene that under 4.5.1.6 that took well over an hour rendered in around 20 minutes, with the beta.  I’m waiting on parts for my new build…

 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 January 2013 02:54 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 65 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  356
Joined  2004-04-07

The difference here is only between using UE or using Point Cloud Occlusion. (beta 4.5.1.49)

The glass sphere that kept its correct reflections in the mirrors and had a proper lensing highlight, thats the full-GI, ray traced UE.

The other is with point cloud occlusion.
It seems to have a bit of a problem with refraction, but otherwise looks just as good and took less than 2 minutes.
Its a bit of an unknown entity that script. Sometimes I have to switch off UE, this time I did not have to.

 Signature 

regards
prixat

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 January 2013 05:13 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 66 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  206
Joined  2006-09-05

Interesting prixat.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 January 2013 11:25 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 67 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  206
Joined  2006-09-05

This is interesting, I finally got Corel Painter X to work. I used Geert de Peuter’s intercept dll, and followed this advice:

If it’s 64 bit with more than 8gb ram installed, when typing in Painter X in the last bit of the code put it in quotation marks… ie   fixit “Painter X.exe” - this gets around the code not working because of the ‘space’.

Now I have Corel Painter X back!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 March 2013 02:49 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 68 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  43
Joined  2012-06-14

How do you measure specific render time for the Fairy Genesis scene? Is there a log or something?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 March 2013 02:59 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 69 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  62
Joined  2011-07-07
khobar95 - 01 March 2013 02:49 PM

How do you measure specific render time for the Fairy Genesis scene? Is there a log or something?

You should see a progress bar of the render process.  It shows you the time elapsed doing the rendering.

 Signature 

Reality is perception.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 March 2013 03:05 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 70 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  43
Joined  2012-06-14

Thank you for the quick reply!

I was afraid of that.

After over 30 minutes my render was at around 46%. So I went to make coffee and read a book. When I came back the render had finished. I don’t know specifically when I kicked it off so I don’t know exactly how long it took. I would have to guess an hour at least.

I have an Intel 3110 Xeon and 8GB DDR3 and was actually heading out to replace it when I decided I should probably do more research. Now I’m wondering if there’s something up with my current system or if an hour or so to render that one scene is “normal” for what I have.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 March 2013 09:08 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 71 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8521
Joined  2007-11-06
khobar95 - 01 March 2013 03:05 PM

Thank you for the quick reply!

I was afraid of that.

After over 30 minutes my render was at around 46%. So I went to make coffee and read a book. When I came back the render had finished. I don’t know specifically when I kicked it off so I don’t know exactly how long it took. I would have to guess an hour at least.

I have an Intel 3110 Xeon and 8GB DDR3 and was actually heading out to replace it when I decided I should probably do more research. Now I’m wondering if there’s something up with my current system or if an hour or so to render that one scene is “normal” for what I have.

The render time will also appear in the log.

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ

Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips starting July 2013
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Plugin Version Numbers for DS 4.5
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
   
5 of 5
5