Digital Art Zone

 
   
1 of 5
1
Computer Specs
Posted: 23 November 2012 09:20 PM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  206
Joined  2006-09-05

Processor: Intel Core i5 3570K 3.4GHz
Chipset: Intel Z77-M
Memory: 8GB DDR3 1600Mhz Ram
HDD: 1TB
Optical: DVD Burner Combo
Graphics: XFX 7750 xXx 1GB
Cooler: Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Fan: 1x 200mm Cooler Master Megaflow Red
LED: Red LED Strip
Case: Cooler Master Storm Enforcer
Power Supply: 650watt Modular
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Prem 64Bit OEM
Video: DVI Outputs
LAN: Yes

These are the specifications for my new PC. My old system is now 8 years old and is showing its age. It takes at least 7 hardstarts to boot up.
Is this a satisfactory setup? It has not been built as yet, so changes can still be made.

I went for 8GB instead of 16, as I believe that some of my Apps, like Corel Painter X, old Photoshop 5.5, and some others won’t work on the 16 GB.

Now we have to find the time to go and order the thing.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 November 2012 05:39 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  359
Joined  2004-04-07

I haven’t heard of programs that work in 8GB but not in 16GB before.

The spec. looks balanced to me. Can you push your budget to an i7?

 Signature 

regards
prixat

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 November 2012 06:08 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7860
Joined  2009-05-14

I have looking at buying a new workstation for over two years now learning as much as I can and I agree with prixat. If you have the cash i7 and 16 GB Ram which is the max for Win 7 Home Premium.

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 November 2012 10:36 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4545
Joined  2007-09-13
prixat - 24 November 2012 05:39 AM

I haven’t heard of programs that work in 8GB but not in 16GB before.

The spec. looks balanced to me. Can you push your budget to an i7?

I think there may be some confusion there, as that’s a 32 bit program.  A quick search seemed to pull up several queries about why it was only using 2 gigs out of 4…

I’m pretty sure that it would work, but won’t have/use all 16 gigs, if that was the amount of RAM installed.

I’d get the 16 gigs, because programs like DS 4.x (64 bit), Windows and all the newer stuff could definitely use and be very happy with it…

 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 November 2012 02:09 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  713
Joined  2012-07-21

I bought a desktop with similar specs a few months ago, but with an i7. Render times have spectaculary improved, compared to my old laptop (5+ years) and i haven’t yet got close to using the full 8 gigs of Ram.
I am however still beating myself up for not investing the extra money for an ssd drive. So that would be my tip, add an ssd boot disk.

 Signature 

my freebies at ShareCG
me at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 November 2012 03:25 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1152
Joined  2010-01-23
BlackFeather1973 - 24 November 2012 02:09 PM

I bought a desktop with similar specs a few months ago, but with an i7. Render times have spectaculary improved, compared to my old laptop (5+ years) and i haven’t yet got close to using the full 8 gigs of Ram.
I am however still beating myself up for not investing the extra money for an ssd drive. So that would be my tip, add an ssd boot disk.

Hi, I too have recently got a new desktop with an SSD boot drive.  I’m just about to start installing stuff and I’ve been wondering where to install to?  Does anyone have any advice on what to install to the SSD (just Win7 OS at the moment) and what to install to my separate HDD (was thinking of putting DAZ Studio there instead of to SSD, but not sure of the pros and cons)?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 November 2012 05:17 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  206
Joined  2006-09-05

Thanks for all that input guys, yes I can stretch to i7 and 16GB. The 8GB was chosen as I read somewhere that my 32bit apps would not work on 64 bit with 16GB. I looked at an SSD drive, but don’t know how to use it.

What do you think of Processor:  Intel Core i7 3770K 3.5GHz
                      Chipset:    Intel P8Z77-M
                      Memory:    16GB DDR3 1600Mhz Ram  
                      SSD:        60GB SSD

And should I upsize the cooling to: 2x 120mm Red LED Fans, 1x 200mm Red Led Fan? Any suggestions?

Or is that overdoing it?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 November 2012 06:06 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2945
Joined  2011-12-10

nVidia card, nVidia card, nVidia card… you want an nVidia card…

 Signature 

My DeviantArt Galleries
My ShareCG Gallery
OPENSUBDIV Testing and Discussion
3Delight Surface and Lighting Thread

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 November 2012 06:25 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  206
Joined  2006-09-05

Hi wancow, which Nvidia do you recommend?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 November 2012 06:51 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2945
Joined  2011-12-10

any!  The best you can get.  It makes all the difference in the world when it comes to workflow.

Believe me, living without one can be hell when working in 3D graphics.

 Signature 

My DeviantArt Galleries
My ShareCG Gallery
OPENSUBDIV Testing and Discussion
3Delight Surface and Lighting Thread

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 November 2012 07:04 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  206
Joined  2006-09-05

Thanks,  sofar I have had a Nvidia in this old setup. And no complaints.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 November 2012 07:09 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2945
Joined  2011-12-10

In that case, try living without one smile  You’ll soon learn why you have one in the first place smile

 Signature 

My DeviantArt Galleries
My ShareCG Gallery
OPENSUBDIV Testing and Discussion
3Delight Surface and Lighting Thread

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 November 2012 03:16 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  713
Joined  2012-07-21
frodi - 24 November 2012 05:17 PM

Thanks for all that input guys, yes I can stretch to i7 and 16GB. The 8GB was chosen as I read somewhere that my 32bit apps would not work on 64 bit with 16GB. I looked at an SSD drive, but don’t know how to use it.

What do you think of Processor:  Intel Core i7 3770K 3.5GHz
                      Chipset:    Intel P8Z77-M
                      Memory:    16GB DDR3 1600Mhz Ram  
                      SSD:        60GB SSD

And should I upsize the cooling to: 2x 120mm Red LED Fans, 1x 200mm Red Led Fan? Any suggestions?

Or is that overdoing it?

An SSD drive is like a small hard disk with no moving parts, (kinda like a usb stick on steroids LOL ). It has much faster access times, but isn’t very good with large files. Your OS will run from the ssd, it will boot probably twice as fast and be more responsive in general.
Depending on the size of your ssd, you can also install your software on it (Program Files). They’ll start up much faster too, but once running you won’t notice much difference. Photoshop for example, i’ve heard it will start up in just over one second.
Your data files will still go on a regular large HDD.

That should cover the basic use of an ssd. If you really want to get the most of it, you got some googling to do, there are lots of tips and tricks out there to improve your system speed with an ssd.

 

 Signature 

my freebies at ShareCG
me at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 November 2012 05:06 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  206
Joined  2006-09-05

HI BlackFeather, I’ll do some googling and look into the SSD.

Wancow advises to stay with Nvidia, no-one else remarked about the chosen graphics card for the new setup.
I am having 2nd thoughts about the Nvidia graphics card, it seems that Nvidia fell out with XFX, that seems a shame.
I believe thatt XFX makes best graphic cards.
Any thoughts on this?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 November 2012 09:56 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4545
Joined  2007-09-13

XFX doesn’t make the ‘best’ cards…it made good cards, but so do a bunch of others.  XFX had better than average support, though…and that’s what gave the impression of ‘best’.

The thing is, Nvidia cards, on the whole have less OpenGL problems and better driver support/quicker ‘fix’ time than AMD cards.  For a rendering machine, even if you aren’t going super highend (Quadro workstation card), Nvidia is pretty much the choice…mainly because their drivers are usually problem free with OpenGL (unlike the often to frequently problem drivers from AMD and the more often than not to always problematic Intel drivers).

And no, OpenGL/OpenCL/CUDA don’t matter all that much for rendering with DS…that’s all handled by the CPU, if there’s an OpenGL problem and you can’t even open the program (the viewport is OpenGL and so are elements of the UI/QT4 underpinnings), then it doesn’t matter how ‘good’ the card is, if it’s the reason.

 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 November 2012 12:10 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2945
Joined  2011-12-10

Unless you have Octane, that is… that works off an nVidia card… you have to have one to use it… droool….

 Signature 

My DeviantArt Galleries
My ShareCG Gallery
OPENSUBDIV Testing and Discussion
3Delight Surface and Lighting Thread

Profile
 
 
   
1 of 5
1