Digital Art Zone

 
   
3 of 5
3
What’s up with downloading?
Posted: 24 November 2012 11:55 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 31 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1584
Joined  2012-01-04

DAZ, grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change,
The courage to change the things I can,
And the wisdom to know the difference.

 Signature 

Old Post Count: Maybe 3 or 4.
O/S: Windows 7x64
D/S: 4.6.0.18

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 November 2012 12:04 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 32 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  243
Joined  2005-10-16
Ledhead - 24 November 2012 11:55 AM

DAZ, grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change,
The courage to change the things I can,
And the wisdom to know the difference.

LoL. smile
We admitted we were powerless over DAZ’s Servers - that our lives had become unmanageable.

 Signature 

Gone.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 November 2012 12:06 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 33 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1840
Joined  2008-05-31
jmper - 24 November 2012 11:45 AM

Just to add, I would be interested to know if the content providing servers are using CRC (Cyclic Redundancy Check) in the delivery of these files. Unlike a single jpeg file and such, a simple flipped bit could cause havoc on an installer.

I always double check my DAZ downloads by downloading the files twice and then make a MD5 compare on the sets. It’s extremely rare that there are files that mismatch (maybe one file out of a thousand or less).

 

 Signature 
Tools for the DAZ store
Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 November 2012 12:07 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 34 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1584
Joined  2012-01-04
jmper - 24 November 2012 12:04 PM
Ledhead - 24 November 2012 11:55 AM

DAZ, grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change,
The courage to change the things I can,
And the wisdom to know the difference.

LoL. smile
We admitted we were powerless over DAZ’s Servers - that our lives had become unmanageable.

Came to believe that DAZ is greater than ourselves but could restore us to sanity.

 Signature 

Old Post Count: Maybe 3 or 4.
O/S: Windows 7x64
D/S: 4.6.0.18

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 November 2012 12:09 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 35 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  243
Joined  2005-10-16
Taozen - 24 November 2012 12:06 PM

I always double check my DAZ downloads by downloading the files twice and then make a MD5 compare on the sets. It’s extremely rare that there are files that mismatch (maybe one file out of a thousand or less).

Yeah, that is why it was weird that I started getting the bad downloads after the start of the revamped site.

Again, not that I have had a lot…probably a handful but it may be because I haven’t purchased much in a while.

Ledhead - 24 November 2012 12:07 PM

Came to believe that DAZ is greater than ourselves but could restore us to sanity.

This can only go on 9 more times…LOL.

Made a decision to turn our will and our lives over to the care of DAZ employees as we understood them.

 Signature 

Gone.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 November 2012 12:20 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 36 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1840
Joined  2008-05-31
jmper - 24 November 2012 12:09 PM
Taozen - 24 November 2012 12:06 PM

I always double check my DAZ downloads by downloading the files twice and then make a MD5 compare on the sets. It’s extremely rare that there are files that mismatch (maybe one file out of a thousand or less).

Yeah, that is why it was weird that I started getting the bad downloads after the start of the revamped site.

Again, not that I have had a lot…probably a handful but it may be because I haven’t purchased much in a while.

Well there were a lot of problems with corrupted files etc. in the beginning after the new store launched, but personally I haven’t had any problems with downloads or corrupted files for the last 4 months or so.

 

 

 Signature 
Tools for the DAZ store
Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 November 2012 12:26 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 37 ]
Addict
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6140
Joined  2005-04-16
chohole - 24 November 2012 04:39 AM

Yes, as I said, I got a fairly constant speed of about 189-190 kbs, which is also about the highest I ever get up here, and I am in the UK,

My area has been flagged up as being one of the worst areas for broadband in the country, less than 1mb normally and frequently half that for broadband speed overall.

And as I said, that doesn’t change the facts.  Let’s put it this way:

If a water supply normally flows at 5 gallons per minute…but all your faucet is able to deliver is one quart per minute, you wouldn’t notice a difference when the supply slowed down to 2.5 gallons per minute.  However, if my faucet could deliver 5 gallons per minute, I would notice the difference.  Now, because you don’t notice the difference, does that mean that there is no difference? 

Dana

 Signature 

Old post count: 7511

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 November 2012 12:33 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 38 ]
Addict
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6140
Joined  2005-04-16
ManStan - 24 November 2012 11:00 AM

Hey look, everyone coming on and telling me how well they can download from DAZ fixed my problem. Yup, not freaking going to say another word about it, hows that for a solution?

No reason to complain about anything here, sure enough a dozen people are going to come on and tell you how wrong you are.

Yup.

Dana

 Signature 

Old post count: 7511

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 November 2012 12:53 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 39 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1584
Joined  2012-01-04

4) Made a searching and fearless inventory of our content.

 Signature 

Old Post Count: Maybe 3 or 4.
O/S: Windows 7x64
D/S: 4.6.0.18

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 December 2012 07:32 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 40 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  4
Joined  2006-08-10

I think I am having the same problem. I recently got a new computer (running Windows 8) and have started resetting and downloading all the files in my history onto the new computer. I had no problems for two weeks, but the last day or so I can’t seem to download any files. But the DAZ site thinks I’ve downloaded them. My download limit decreases with each attempt, and my windows interface asks me if I’d like to accept the file. And a new plug-in I bought generates a serial number. But there is no file in my downloads folder. The most I’ve seen is 8 kb exe files which ask if I want to run them but of course do nothing.. Will try another browser, etc and see if anything helps.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 December 2012 10:13 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 41 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4524
Joined  2007-09-13
orion66 - 12 December 2012 07:32 PM

I think I am having the same problem. I recently got a new computer (running Windows 8) and have started resetting and downloading all the files in my history onto the new computer. I had no problems for two weeks, but the last day or so I can’t seem to download any files. But the DAZ site thinks I’ve downloaded them. My download limit decreases with each attempt, and my windows interface asks me if I’d like to accept the file. And a new plug-in I bought generates a serial number. But there is no file in my downloads folder. The most I’ve seen is 8 kb exe files which ask if I want to run them but of course do nothing.. Will try another browser, etc and see if anything helps.

What AV are you using…it sure sounds like your AV is eating them…

 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 December 2012 02:09 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 42 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  28
Joined  2012-02-08

I bought today Lady Elf Hair for Genesis.

One File:
14516_LadyElfGenesis_v1.3_trx.exe

I could download without problems.


On the other two files:
14516_LadyElfGenesisPoserCF_v1.3_dpc.exe
14516_LadyElfGenesisLegacy_v1.3_trx.exe

I always get a network error. I tried to download them at the morning and in the evening (GMT +1).

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 December 2012 01:49 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 43 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  28
Joined  2012-02-08

Downlad problems still exist. From 2 of 3 files I download I have network errors.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 December 2012 10:59 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 44 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1136
Joined  2003-10-09

To me, the point is not what speeds you are getting now, it’s what speeds you’re getting compared to speeds on the old site.

My speeds now compared to the old site suck. I average around 300k/sec and I used to get close to 2megs/sec (using the same browser).

That’s about six times slower.

 

 

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 December 2012 12:26 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 45 ]
Addict
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6140
Joined  2005-04-16

A few weeks ago I was getting 1.1MB/second.  Lately, I’m lucky to hit 200KB/second!  mad  I suppose they’ll blame our ISP’s again.

Dana

 Signature 

Old post count: 7511

Profile
 
 
   
3 of 5
3