Digital Art Zone

 
   
2 of 3
2
pose presets should NEVER SCALE the figure!
Posted: 23 November 2012 05:38 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 16 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  55
Joined  2010-05-18

what’s the best settings for saving poses?  in a way that doesn’t save anything other than the pose that s, sometimes I have issues and not sure what I’m doing wrong.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 November 2012 06:00 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 17 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2945
Joined  2011-12-10

Okay, I found it… in the middle of a render (in which your own glass materials are coming in VERY handy) so I’ll test those out later.

Thanks, Matty!

 Signature 

My DeviantArt Galleries
My ShareCG Gallery
OPENSUBDIV Testing and Discussion
3Delight Surface and Lighting Thread

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 November 2012 06:03 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 18 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2945
Joined  2011-12-10
genejoke - 23 November 2012 05:38 PM

what’s the best settings for saving poses?  in a way that doesn’t save anything other than the pose that s, sometimes I have issues and not sure what I’m doing wrong.

It would depend on what figure your saving for.

When I’m saving for Genesis, which I never do for anything else, since I only use Genesis, I save poses under People/Genesis/Poses/wancow/  All poses I have are under People/Genesis/Poses/ cuz that’s where they go smile

 Signature 

My DeviantArt Galleries
My ShareCG Gallery
OPENSUBDIV Testing and Discussion
3Delight Surface and Lighting Thread

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 November 2012 06:59 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 19 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2945
Joined  2011-12-10

Okay, that does work.

However, what do I need to select to get the Pose controls to be incuded? (Head-Neck on the head and the arms and waste controls on the body…)

 Signature 

My DeviantArt Galleries
My ShareCG Gallery
OPENSUBDIV Testing and Discussion
3Delight Surface and Lighting Thread

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 November 2012 09:23 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 20 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  549
Joined  2011-04-12

Ideally, scale would be treated as part of shaping, rather than part of posing.  Unfortunately, some programmer made a decision that made sense to him a decade or more ago, and we’re all stuck with the consequences forevermore.

 Signature 

Not interested in the giant leap backwards that is “Genesis 2”.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 November 2012 05:12 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 21 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2910
Joined  2004-04-14
wancow - 23 November 2012 06:59 PM

Okay, that does work.

However, what do I need to select to get the Pose controls to be incuded? (Head-Neck on the head and the arms and waste controls on the body…)


Transforms would be what to also check off.  But I am not sure what else it is going to bring along with it.

 Signature 

My DAZ3D Store
My Free Stuff
My Art @ DeviantART
Ships of the Line - MEGA THREAD
How to use the Poser Format Exporter - **Updated 2013-02-09**

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 November 2012 11:08 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 22 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  252
Joined  2003-10-09
wancow - 23 November 2012 10:04 AM

... or any part of the figure!

At the very least, scaling when one selects to save a pose preset should be disabled by default!

GGRRRRR

Having to go in, select to disable it for every part of every finger is just plain TEDIOUS and makes saving a pose absolutely unpleasant.

Absolutely agree.

When vendors first started selling poses in the dawn of Poserdom, it was a major problem with purchased poses; it was so bad that 3DUniverse was able to sell a program just for fixing bad pose files:

http://www.daz3d.com/shop/poserepair

Eventually, pose vendors got better and for the most part pose packages were much safer to buy.

With Genesis, though, we seem to be back to square one, for many of the reasons mentioned upthread.

It’s obviously possible to make poses without problems morph-wise (all of DAZ’s “Basic” Female, Male, etc. poses, for example) but the majority of the pose sets I’ve purchased are very annoying when using customized characters.

If anyone would come out with a script or program to batch-fix pose sets, I’d purchase it in a heartbeat.

In the meantime, I’m considering boycotting pose sets; where once they saved me valuable time, they save less time when I have to rescale heads or reposition figures.

—Walt Sterdan

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 November 2012 12:20 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 23 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2910
Joined  2004-04-14

A pose set that is designed for a particular figure or character morph will need to be tweaked if used with a different figure or character morph.  Genesis is no different.  Different shapes require different rotation values of the nodes inorder to accomplish a near identical pose.

 Signature 

My DAZ3D Store
My Free Stuff
My Art @ DeviantART
Ships of the Line - MEGA THREAD
How to use the Poser Format Exporter - **Updated 2013-02-09**

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 November 2012 12:50 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 24 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2322
Joined  2011-11-16
Mattymanx - 23 November 2012 11:06 AM

...And XYZ translations should never be done from the hip either but it still happens.

Ok, why should ‘xyz translations never be done?’ It seems that in cases of ‘goto’ poses, couple poses, etc.. translating from the hip would be the best place to do a base translate from.

 Signature 

Just because I may have a strong opinion doesn’t make it any more (or less) correct than any other, just that I feel passionately a particular way at that moment.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 November 2012 01:06 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 25 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2945
Joined  2011-12-10

because the body node is the base node.  When the hip is translated, the body node still shows it’s coordinates to be 0,0,0.  That makes it difficult to locate in the scene.  I’m with Matty.  IMHO the Hip X,Y,Z translate should be locked by default.  I’m not sure, but I think X,Y,Z rotate on the hip should also be locked, as I don’t see a reason for it to ever be used… though Matty may disagree there… he did some sleeping poses, and I’m not sure which node he used to rotate the figures into position.

 Signature 

My DeviantArt Galleries
My ShareCG Gallery
OPENSUBDIV Testing and Discussion
3Delight Surface and Lighting Thread

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 November 2012 01:15 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 26 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2322
Joined  2011-11-16

Well I was originally translating from the base model, but I might have changed to hip, it’s easy enough to do. When one rotates from the hip it gives entirely different results then rotating from the base model. Rotating from the base model is useless in many cases, try it. The pivot point is at the feet and behind the character so that it makes it impossible to do fine adjustments accurately when rotating. This little bit of information made a major difference in my doing more complex poses once I had figured it out. Since translating from hip and base model gives the same physical result, and rotating from the hip makes more sense for control it would be easy to translate from the hip. I can see why one would not want to however if it gives the 0.0.0 coordinates on the body node, but tbh that would seem a minor inconvenience at worst.

My workflow when creating a pose is to position the base model vertically horizontally with translation and then rotate ‘from the hip’ to the base angle the pose calls from, working out from there on rotations. Technically at that point, rotating from the model wouldn’t matter as much as the model can be adjusted easily enough with translations, but once into the pose, doing minor tweaks in rotations from the base model is disastrous to the pose. I had a pose I submitted to the beginner contest in posing (forget the month) where there were two characters doing a complex Cirque du Soliel pose and I would challenge anyone to attempt to do that pose only rotating from the base model. If not bald before, they would be by the time they finished ;p

The result was, once I discovered that, I start all of my global character rotations from the hip for consistency, since for me it is more confusing to have base rotations in two different locations. In summary, I would even go so far as to say that one of the keys to advanced posing is rotating from the hip.

 Signature 

Just because I may have a strong opinion doesn’t make it any more (or less) correct than any other, just that I feel passionately a particular way at that moment.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 November 2012 01:27 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 27 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2945
Joined  2011-12-10

What you could do is this, when your working, lock the rotations for the body and lock the translations for the hip.  Only unlock the when absolutely needed.  I’m going to take my own advice and do exactly that and see how it goes.

 Signature 

My DeviantArt Galleries
My ShareCG Gallery
OPENSUBDIV Testing and Discussion
3Delight Surface and Lighting Thread

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 November 2012 02:42 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 28 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  14724
Joined  2003-10-09

The standard is to perform translations for the pose, to place the feet on the floor or to position figures for multi-figure pose sets, via the hip. That leaves the root free to be used for placement poses to set the figure or figures in an environment - if you have a group ose you can use the same placement pose on each member without disturbing their relative positioning.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 November 2012 02:43 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 29 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2322
Joined  2011-11-16

Thank you very much for this clarification Richard. This makes good sense and will come in very handy smile

 Signature 

Just because I may have a strong opinion doesn’t make it any more (or less) correct than any other, just that I feel passionately a particular way at that moment.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 November 2012 02:49 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 30 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2945
Joined  2011-12-10

Okay, so I’m adapting a pose I downloaded from ShareCG.  Here’s what I have to do to get it to work right.
http://www.sharecg.com/v/55659/View/11/Poser/Nonchalant-V4

I’m planning on using 02 or 02a

Here’s what I had to do:

Load the pose to Genesis. (the hands and feet were fine, I’m wondering if this was fixed as well, didn’t have to use AdamR’s fix script)
Adjust the pose so that it fits (in this case, I’m using the Genesis Female)
Save the Pose Preset.
DESELECT all (left click on the button just below the end frame field on the right of the dialog box)
Then select all ROTATIONS
Accept.

I had to reload the Genesis female for this reason: The downloaded pose resets the figure’s origin point.  So I reload the figure, apply the pose I just saved, and adjust the BODY translation, legs and feet so they’re touching the floor. Then I resave the pose, deselecting all then selecting rotations and translations.

IMHO, this is an acceptable level of discomfort when dealing with V4 poses… not so tedious that I can’t do a series of them in an hour or so…  Hell, I may start using other people’s poses again smile

Thank you everyone who helped me out.

 Signature 

My DeviantArt Galleries
My ShareCG Gallery
OPENSUBDIV Testing and Discussion
3Delight Surface and Lighting Thread

Profile
 
 
   
2 of 3
2