Digital Art Zone

 
   
1 of 4
1
BACK AFTER SOME YEARS
Posted: 20 November 2012 05:07 AM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  31
Joined  2004-08-15

I RECENTLY DOWNLOADED THE FREE DS 4.5 AND FIND IT VERY GOOD.

THE INTERFACE IS VERY BEAUTIFUL AND THE GENESIS FIGURES ARE ABSOLUTELY INCREDIBLE.

THE MORPHS LOOK AMAZING BUT THERE IS A LEARNING CURVE THAT I DONT NEED TO CLIMB IF I COULD USE THE FIGURES IN CARRARA.

SO, THATS THE QUESTION (AFTER SOME YEARS OUT OF CARRARA, EVEN THOU I HAVE ALL THE PRO VERSIONS, JUST TO BE CONNECTED): 

                              CAN I USE ALL THE GENESIS FIGURES IN CARRARA 8?
                              THE POSER CONTENT TOO?
                                AND ALL THE OTHER DAZ CONTENT?

EXCUSE ME FOR THE QUESTION. I’VE SEEN THE GALLERIES OF RENDERS, BUT I NEED TO KNOW IF I SHOULD WAIT FOR THE NEXT OFFICIAL RELEASE OR CAN TEST IT WITH THE CURRENTLY BETA 8.5.

I JUST DON’T WANT TO LEARN A NEW 3D SOFTWARE, EVEN A MAGNIFICENT ONE, LIKE DAZ STUDIO 4.5.

THANK YOU

NELSON

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 November 2012 05:23 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  18
Joined  2011-08-26

Hit the button above the left shift please.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 November 2012 05:56 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  31
Joined  2004-08-15

WHAT???????

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 November 2012 06:12 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16414
Joined  2003-10-09

Making a post in a forum all in Upper Case is considered as shouting.  Please release the caps lock is what is meant here.

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        NeilV’s Freebies and stuff        Autumn Bryce Rendering Challenge        October Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 November 2012 06:27 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  31
Joined  2004-08-15

Really? Never thought of it.
I just wanted rto read better in the notebook little screen. just that. No need to shout.
Thank you for the information. Living and learning
Nelson

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 November 2012 07:14 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  18
Joined  2011-08-26

Lol that’s what i meant yea,

but back on topic, as far as i know you can use genesis in carrara 8,5.
don’t know for sure about poser,  what i do with daz is save to dae and import to carrara. ( at least that is what i think i use to do… haven´t used daz in long time)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 November 2012 07:44 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  31
Joined  2004-08-15

Well, thank you,
that helped
but what I was thinking is using content sold in DAZ like the environments,
wich are all Poser format, like the Millenium Environment.

But use Genesis in Carrara 8 is a very good notice. I don’t need to model characters anymore.
PS I see in the announcement of the beta Carrara 8.5 the support for Genesis.
But, I need to know in wich extent is this support.

Thank you for your advice
Nelson

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 November 2012 07:46 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  18
Joined  2011-08-26

Sorry i am not that well know with daz/poser in combination with carrara..
So you will have to wait for someone with more knowledge to help you out here.

hope everything works out.

Cedric

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 November 2012 07:51 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  31
Joined  2004-08-15

Thank you, Cedric
let’s wait
Nelson

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 November 2012 11:10 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1694
Joined  0
Nelsao - 20 November 2012 07:44 AM

what I was thinking is using content sold in DAZ like the environments,
wich are all Poser format, like the Millenium Environment.

If it opens in Poser6-8 it will most likely open in Carrara.

“Environment” products for Poser are generally just small dioramas or cyclorama “backdrop” props. Often just a simple painted curve like a photography or stage backdrop. Carrara would open this easily, but Carrara can also make its own realistic 3D environments (terrains, plants, skies), or import almost any hdr or panoramic image as a background.

 Signature 

320+ TUTORIALS for Carrara at CARRARA CAFE
C3DE - CARRARA 3D EXPO MAGAZINE - the showcase for Carrara Artists

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 November 2012 11:24 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1828
Joined  2004-08-24

Hi Nelsao

I just want to clarify one point…

You can only load genesis into the latest version of Carrara 8.5  (Beta)

You can’t load it into any previous versions of carrara,

Hope it helps smile

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 November 2012 12:44 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  631
Joined  2010-09-22

Nelsao! Welcome back.. been gone for years huh? So then we are still using the same full version of carrara (8.0) you are/use using then years ago when you bailed?

So you should still be familiar with the current version.

LOL!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 November 2012 01:31 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  31
Joined  2004-08-15

``If it opens in Poser6-8 it will most likely open in Carrara.

“Environment” products for Poser are generally just small dioramas or cyclorama “backdrop” props. Often just a simple painted curve like a photography or stage backdrop. Carrara would open this easily, but Carrara can also make its own realistic 3D environments (terrains, plants, skies), or import almost any hdr or panoramic image as a background``.


Thank you ```Wetcircuit``,
I know that those environments are just planes or geometry with photos, but, when used a good photo, works fine.

The terrain tools in Carrara are, in fact, the old 4 Elemnts plug in from good/old Raydream.
I never seen a rendering from them that doesn`t look plasitic, so, I don`t use it too much. The sky is fine.

So, I`ll download the 8.5 and try the Genesis figures.

Thank you,
Nelson

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 November 2012 01:38 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  347
Joined  2007-07-31

Dont forget to check out Carrara Cafe probably new since you were last here.

http://carraracafe.com/

Note -if you download latest BETA carrara 8.5 you may experience issues - Like, not all Character morphs work though they do work in earlier releases of 8.5.
should be fixed for the NEXT beta release due ??

Just warning in case you get put off if you try the last 8.5 Carrara beta

 Signature 

http://bond3d.wix.com/carrarators#!home/mainPage

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 November 2012 01:44 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  31
Joined  2004-08-15

``Nelsao! Welcome back.. been gone for years huh? So then we are still using the same full version of carrara (8.0) you are/use using then years ago when you bailed?

So you should still be familiar with the current version.

LOL!``

Richard Chaos,

Thank you.

Yes, I have C 8.0 (and 7, and 6, and, 5 ...), not using it for some times. I always have a version of Carrara because I love the
interface, the features are always great and the modeler, although other opinions, is very capable. But, for some reasons, don`t use too much.
But, this time, with the Genesis figures, I will dive deep into the program, that`s why I`m asking for the implementation. Have superb figures in a program like Carrara is a dream of any animator. It`s not like poser ou DS, its a full fledged solution that I will not miss.

Not having to model all my figures or have to integrate models that not always work well, that`s what I need now.

By the way, is there a AniMate for Carrara?

Thank you

Nelson

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 November 2012 03:21 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1828
Joined  2004-08-24

Hi smile

There’s an Animate Importer plugin for carrara, which allows you to open animate blocks as key-frames in Carrara.

Most of the Animate clips were created using V4/M4 skeleton, and Genesis is different from those figures,. so, some animations may not work on Genesis, as well as they do on the figures they were made for.

Daz Studio, and Carrara also have a New Format (DUF) which can also transfer animation from DS (animate) to Carrara.

Once the animation is in Carrara,. you can render (as is) or convert it into a Carrara NLA (non linear animation) clip, which can be saved into your clips folders in the browser.

Carrara also has “Puppeteer”, which you can use to create and record animation, created by moving your mouse over (pose dot’s) which you create, in the Puppeteer’s grid area.

smile

Profile
 
 
   
1 of 4
1