Digital Art Zone

 
   
5 of 7
5
DAZ Studio Pro BETA, version 4.5.1.41, is now available!
Posted: 28 November 2012 01:48 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 61 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4545
Joined  2007-09-13
Kendall Sears - 28 November 2012 01:37 PM
Richard Haseltine - 28 November 2012 01:32 PM
Kendall Sears - 28 November 2012 12:50 PM

A quick question about the newest Genesis Essentials:  Is there any downside to updating with a mixed 4.5.1.6 and 4.5.1.41 environment.  Will 4.5.1.6 tolerate the new Genesis Essentials changes?  I ask this only due to the warning in the description.

Kendall

I believe the potential issue is that if the older content is uninstalled and 1.9 installed in its place, without the newer version of DS, files that have been moved from Essentials to the application will be missing. As I recall you are using a centralised content repository, so in theory as long as it has the files from the new DS and Essentials 1.9 your should be OK.

Exactly my concern.  It’s going to take a little bit of time to convert all of the workstations.  I could always roll back to the last backup, but if I can avoid it… grin

Thanks Richard.

Kendall

Is there a list of exactly which files are involved?

 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 November 2012 01:57 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 62 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2316
Joined  2012-02-04
JohnDelaquiox - 28 November 2012 01:32 PM

is daz tech support closed for the week

No I got a reply from Britney about 3 hours ago.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 November 2012 02:01 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 63 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  983
Joined  2006-02-27

I keep getting a machine

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 November 2012 02:04 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 64 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2316
Joined  2012-02-04
JohnDelaquiox - 28 November 2012 02:01 PM

I keep getting a machine

I got an email reply to a ticket I submitted a few days ago. I don’t know about the phone support. Sometimes they go to meetings and nobody stays behind to answer phones (at least that is what they told me once when I finally got through on the phone later). I’ve left a couple voice mails in the past, but I never got a call back.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 November 2012 03:01 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 65 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1862
Joined  2006-02-17

More reasons to not use the new beta under Wine:  I cannot get the latest DS4.5 beta to load a file.  As soon as it tries to “clear the scene” it crashes.  It also crashed on save, but the .duf seems to have written correctly (or at least it wasn’t truncated)

Kendall

 Signature 

Any opinions expressed in this post are those of Kendall Sears and may, or may not, be more, or less, valid than any other opinion.

The contents of this post are intended for the DAZ forum only, do not re-post any portion to any other forum without his permission.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 November 2012 03:52 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 66 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4545
Joined  2007-09-13

When it was doing that for me…and even 4.5.1.6 would do that under certain releases of WINE it was more often then not, something to do with the animation of the loading box/progress bar…either the starting or stopping.

My guess is that the Wine dlls and Windows Qt4 build are not playing nice together (I wonder if linking ‘stub’ Qt dlls to the native Linux Qt libs would work, like Wine does with it’s ‘dlls’...hmmm)

 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 November 2012 06:03 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 67 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  657
Joined  2005-03-08

Have DAZ servers download speeds been reduced?

feels like I’m back on dialup with these current speeds! cool mad

 Signature 

“I am,... Therefore I think”

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 November 2012 05:33 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 68 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  505
Joined  2005-01-18

I installed it yesterday on my 32bits test computer

Computer specs:
Windows 7 32 bits
Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q6600 @ 2.40GHz 2.40 GHz
RAM 3 GB
Ati Radeon HD 4670

Uninstalled 4.5.1.6 first (and the Genesis start essentials 1.6), than installed 4.5.1.41. I didn’t install CMS, I don’t use it and I’m not planning to use it.
Installed Genesis start essentials 1.9.
Installation went fine, started DS4, gave genesis the basic female shape, put some clothes on, rendered - fine
changed some clothes - rendered fine
changed some lights - rendered fine
changed lights again(Uberenvironment that came in the program) - render….. crash

This was the same with version 4.5.1.6 on my testmachine. 3d or 4th render - crash

I didn’t have anything else loaded, just the one figure. And it was the DS4.5.1.41 version as it was, no other content or directories in it.
After a while I tried again, added the Kids4 Poser runtime. Loaded in Kids4, then dynamic bolero clothes, draping went fine. rendered alright. 2nd render with other lights - fine. 3d render wit other textures on kid and clothes - fine.
4the render with other lights - crashed.
So it still can’t do much more after 3 renders on my 32 bit computer.

On my 64 computer I use 4.5.1.6 with no problems. I didn’t try the dynamics yet there however. Still don’t know how to use that on Genesis. red face

Just wanted to add my experiences so far. smile

Love, Jeanne

 Signature 

I am what I am, my own special creation

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 November 2012 06:48 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 69 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1231
Joined  2004-11-07

Works the same on genesis except you need genesis dynamic clothing. You can play around with mil 4 clothes to get them to work, but I had a difficult time of it.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 November 2012 06:55 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 70 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5954
Joined  2006-02-20

V4 Dynamic clothes on Genesis
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yYCoQ0EKOpY

Or here
http://forumarchive.daz3d.com/viewtopic.php?t=174408&highlight;=

 Signature 

I like Bryce, DazStudio, Poser and Vue ... in alphabetical order. And I would probably like Carrara too, if I could find the time to become acquainted with it. Peace?
Poser and Daz Studio Free Resources Wiki: https://poserdazfreebies.orain.org

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 November 2012 06:59 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 71 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1231
Joined  2004-11-07

Well I just hit an odd bug in the Hex bridge. Sent genesis to Hex, no problem. Did a quick face morph and sent it back. When I applied the morph genesis’s entire body morphed to an aiko like shape.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 November 2012 08:48 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 72 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  505
Joined  2005-01-18
ManStan - 30 November 2012 06:48 AM

Works the same on genesis except you need genesis dynamic clothing. You can play around with mil 4 clothes to get them to work, but I had a difficult time of it.

There are dynamic clothes just for Genesis? ohh I wasn’t aware of that. I thought, when they are dynamic…. you could use them on the same shapes, more or less.hmmm, more to learn. *sigh*

Thank you for answering Stan. How are you doing? Everything working in Carrara? wink

Kerya - 30 November 2012 06:55 AM

V4 Dynamic clothes on Genesis
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yYCoQ0EKOpY

Or here
http://forumarchive.daz3d.com/viewtopic.php?t=174408&highlight;=

Thank you Kerya for the links. I sure will read/watch them as soon as I can find the time. In the meantime I have them bookmarked. smile
All’s well with you too? It’s getting colder here so winter is finally coming, I hope… smile

Love, Jeanne

 Signature 

I am what I am, my own special creation

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 November 2012 10:05 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 73 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1231
Joined  2004-11-07

Everything that is carrara works wink

But the issue is the rigging. If you fitto V4’s dynamic cloths to genesis they go all wonky. You can straight them out with translate/rotate, but your millage may very smile

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 November 2012 10:09 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 74 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4547
Joined  2004-08-11

There really should be a way to select the clothing and just switch out the skeleton of the V4 or M4 clothing with the Genesis skeleton.  Would make all this so much easier.

 Signature 

    —- Wolff On The Prowl—-

Pan Project

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 November 2012 11:45 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 75 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  206
Joined  2003-11-27

I’m afraid I’ll have to buy a two terabytes external hdd in the near future to store all ds4 and genesis related updates.

 Signature 

Asus P9X79 WS, i7-3930K@4250mHz, Zotac gtx 580 amp2! 3gb + Zotac gtx 580 3gb + PoV gtx 580 3gb, 32 gb 4-ch Geil, 1350 wt Thermaltake, system/soft 240 gb sata III ssd, temp/swap 128 gb sata III ssd, 2 tb sata III hdd, AeroCool Strike-X ST.

Profile
 
 
   
5 of 7
5