Digital Art Zone

 
   
4 of 7
4
DAZ Studio Pro BETA, version 4.5.1.41, is now available!
Posted: 25 November 2012 09:42 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 46 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1231
Joined  2004-11-07
DavidGB - 25 November 2012 09:32 AM

Have you run an uninstaller for the Dynamic Clothing Control you installed?

Duh. that got it, now have the panel but why? DCC has always been part of my install and never caused this issue before?

{sorry, being slow I’m real touchy about assumed ignorance. I’m slow, not stupid}

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 November 2012 09:52 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 47 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  186
Joined  2008-06-01

1) Fixed crash when loading dynamic clothing that has a material applied to it.

I’m still getting this problem… applying materials such as those from Super Suit shaders onto certain items still freezes DS. This has been an issue since the last version of studio. This still happens with non dynamic objects too… just regular old genesis clothing has this issue.
This happens frequently with the DayJob Shaders as well since the previous version of DS. Fix the damn shader system or adopt better ones from somewhere else…  :(

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 November 2012 09:54 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 48 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  349
Joined  2004-03-03

Actually. that’s interesting.

I have the Dynamic Clothing Control, and with all DS updates up to this one I’ve had to reintall it.

The reinstall was always necessary because the new install has always installed the Dynamic Clothing Basic, with its dzautoriggerbasic.dll and dzoptitexclothbasic.dll in the plugins folder, and even though my previously installed Dynamic Clothing Control dzautoriggercontrol.dll and dzoptitexclothcontrol.dll were still there, when both basic and control versions are present to be loaded in the plugins folder, DS loads the Basic Dynamic Clothing version, not the Control. So the installer for the Control version needed to be run again to disable the two basic plugins by adding the .basic nonsense filetype on the ends of their names again.

But this time I haven’t run the Dynamic Clothing Control installer, but I am getting the full control version in DS and have dzautoriggerbasic.dll,basic and dzoptitexclothbasic.dll.basic in the plugins folder, alongside the control.dlls from when I installed them lst version change.

So either:

(a) DAZ have finally made the installer intelligent enough that it checks if you already have the Control version of Dynamic Clothing, if not puts in the dzautoriggerbasic.dll and dzoptitexclothbasic.dll, but if you do installs the disabled dzautoriggerbasic.dll.basic and dzoptitexclothbasic.dll.basic versions.

or

(b) DAZ have not changed the installer but have just messed up what’s in it by putting the disabled named dzautoriggerbasic.dll.basic and dzoptitexclothbasic.dll.basic in it, so everyone gets the disabled version of the Dynamic Clothing Basic installed, whether they have the Control version or not.

That letter would explain ManStan’s problem - didn’t have the control version, and started up after the install of the new DS with disabled Dynamic Clothing Basic.

Solution for anyone who has .lost Dynamic Clothing Basic:

1) If you have the Dynamic Clothing Control (but without owning it and therefore having no serial), install it, ticking the option to create an uninstaller, then uninstall it with the uninstaller it created.

or

2) Go into your Program Files - DAZ 3D/DAZStudio4/plugins and find dzautoriggerbasic.dll.basic and use rename to remove the .basic from the end so it is just dzautoriggerbasic.dll, and find dzoptitexclothbasic.dll.basic and use rename to remove the .basic from the end so it is just dzoptitexclothbasic.dll

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 November 2012 10:06 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 49 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  349
Joined  2004-03-03
ManStan - 25 November 2012 09:42 AM
DavidGB - 25 November 2012 09:32 AM

Have you run an uninstaller for the Dynamic Clothing Control you installed?

Duh. that got it, now have the panel but why? DCC has always been part of my install and never caused this issue before?

Please see my last post above, which I wrote before seeing this of yours. I believe my suggestion (b) in that post applies - DAZ messed up and put the disabled versions of the basic Dynamic Clothing plugins in the installer (disabled simply by having the bogus filetype .basic appended to their names, as the Control version’s installer does to them on installing the Control plugins) instead of the working ones. So installing then uninstalling the control un-disables them.

{sorry, being slow I’m real touchy about assumed ignorance. I’m slow, not stupid}

I never assume stupidity. I always assume the possibility of forgetting or overlooking even the bleedin’ obvious, simply because while I am supposedly very intelligent, i can and often do forget or overlook things that I normally know perfectly well. The number of times I’ve posted questions/problems over the years, then smacked my head on the wall at the answer, going ‘I know that,,, I know that perfectly well. Why, at this moment, didn’t I think/remember that thing I know so well’ is .... considerable.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 November 2012 10:18 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 50 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1231
Joined  2004-11-07

Thanks again, and it looks like this version has fixed the crashing I was having using the dynamic clothes.  That is why I installed the beta even though I hate beta testing any more. 

Now to see if I can actually get an animation from studio to carrara via DUF and actually have it load and work lol

Edit to add: DUF I/O errored out, fail.
              DAE didn’t save animation, separated skeleton from figure, fail.

Oh well, nothing lost lol

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 November 2012 10:37 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 51 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4270
Joined  2011-11-25

I am having trouble with key commands working in the beta. Ctrl Z is not undoing and delete is not deleting items I want to remove like it did previously. Is there a way to enable this? I know it is not my keyboard, since I can use these commands outside of daz.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 November 2012 01:45 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 52 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  14249
Joined  2003-10-09

Try reloading your layout - I think that should reset your actions, which is where keyboard shortcuts are stored.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 November 2012 02:01 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 53 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4270
Joined  2011-11-25
Richard Haseltine - 25 November 2012 01:45 PM

Try reloading your layout - I think that should reset your actions, which is where keyboard shortcuts are stored.

Thanks! that did work, and now my keyboard shortcuts work again. GRAS! =-)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 November 2012 11:20 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 54 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  977
Joined  2006-02-27

Can’t get the Daz Content Management Service to start with this new release

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 November 2012 12:47 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 55 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1860
Joined  2006-02-17

For those using Wine with DS4.5.1.41, I have successfully loaded the 64 bit version of DS onto a test machine using Wine 1.5.18 under Fedora 17 on a test machine.  I was able to load and completely render the “Ready to Render” scenes on a machine with only 2G of RAM and dual-core AMD Turion.  The speed of the render was impressive.

With the exception of the normal ATI lag, things seem to be “normal” under 1.5.18.

I have not made my normal mods to DS4 or the CMS yet.

UPDATE:  Still crashing on exit.

Kendall

 Signature 

Any opinions expressed in this post are those of Kendall Sears and may, or may not, be more, or less, valid than any other opinion.

The contents of this post are intended for the DAZ forum only, do not re-post any portion to any other forum without his permission.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 November 2012 12:50 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 56 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1860
Joined  2006-02-17

A quick question about the newest Genesis Essentials:  Is there any downside to updating with a mixed 4.5.1.6 and 4.5.1.41 environment.  Will 4.5.1.6 tolerate the new Genesis Essentials changes?  I ask this only due to the warning in the description.

Kendall

 Signature 

Any opinions expressed in this post are those of Kendall Sears and may, or may not, be more, or less, valid than any other opinion.

The contents of this post are intended for the DAZ forum only, do not re-post any portion to any other forum without his permission.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 November 2012 01:13 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 57 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4545
Joined  2007-09-13
Kendall Sears - 28 November 2012 12:47 PM

For those using Wine with DS4.5.1.41, I have successfully loaded the 64 bit version of DS onto a test machine using Wine 1.5.18 under Fedora 17 on a test machine.  I was able to load and completely render the “Ready to Render” scenes on a machine with only 2G of RAM and dual-core AMD Turion.  The speed of the render was impressive.

With the exception of the normal ATI lag, things seem to be “normal” under 1.5.18.

I have not made my normal mods to DS4 or the CMS yet.

UPDATE:  Still crashing on exit.

Kendall

I’ve been wanting to see what the 3Delight improvements actually perform like…reading the changelog looks pretty impressive.

It seems to me, that even number Wine releases (at least the development ones) work better for me than odd numbered ones. 

Well…this may be part of the reason it now works…

atl100: Addeed stub DLL.

Several of the crashes/nonstarts I had were atl100 related.

 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 November 2012 01:32 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 58 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  977
Joined  2006-02-27

is daz tech support closed for the week

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 November 2012 01:32 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 59 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  14249
Joined  2003-10-09
Kendall Sears - 28 November 2012 12:50 PM

A quick question about the newest Genesis Essentials:  Is there any downside to updating with a mixed 4.5.1.6 and 4.5.1.41 environment.  Will 4.5.1.6 tolerate the new Genesis Essentials changes?  I ask this only due to the warning in the description.

Kendall

I believe the potential issue is that if the older content is uninstalled and 1.9 installed in its place, without the newer version of DS, files that have been moved from Essentials to the application will be missing. As I recall you are using a centralised content repository, so in theory as long as it has the files from the new DS and Essentials 1.9 your should be OK.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 November 2012 01:37 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 60 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1860
Joined  2006-02-17
Richard Haseltine - 28 November 2012 01:32 PM
Kendall Sears - 28 November 2012 12:50 PM

A quick question about the newest Genesis Essentials:  Is there any downside to updating with a mixed 4.5.1.6 and 4.5.1.41 environment.  Will 4.5.1.6 tolerate the new Genesis Essentials changes?  I ask this only due to the warning in the description.

Kendall

I believe the potential issue is that if the older content is uninstalled and 1.9 installed in its place, without the newer version of DS, files that have been moved from Essentials to the application will be missing. As I recall you are using a centralised content repository, so in theory as long as it has the files from the new DS and Essentials 1.9 your should be OK.

Exactly my concern.  It’s going to take a little bit of time to convert all of the workstations.  I could always roll back to the last backup, but if I can avoid it… grin

Thanks Richard.

Kendall

 

 Signature 

Any opinions expressed in this post are those of Kendall Sears and may, or may not, be more, or less, valid than any other opinion.

The contents of this post are intended for the DAZ forum only, do not re-post any portion to any other forum without his permission.

Profile
 
 
   
4 of 7
4