Digital Art Zone

 
   
1 of 5
1
Bryce and Mac (Mountain Lion)
Posted: 18 November 2012 01:44 AM   [ Ignore ]
New Member
Total Posts:  3
Joined  2005-05-08

Hi,

Will there ever be another upgrade to Bryce?  I bought Bryce Pro in 2010 but have not been able to use it since upgrading my computer to Lion and now Mountain Lion.  Still no fix for the problems: the program starts up but almost any box you call up crashes the program.

I would really like to be able to use Bryce again.

Thanks,

Paul

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 November 2012 04:20 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16346
Joined  2003-10-09

This has been covered several times in this forum


http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/9048/

http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/7130/

http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/3645/

http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/10499/

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        NeilV’s Freebies and stuff        Autumn Bryce Rendering Challenge        October Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 November 2012 04:48 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  3
Joined  2005-05-08

Neither of the previous topics answers the question.  It is always said that there is a problem and that it one day might be solved.  But should I keep hoping or is my money for Bryce 7 Pro totally wasted? Should I keep Bryce on my HD or are you never going to fix it?
After 2 years you should have found some time and /or people to fix the issues.
I owned every Bryce version since version 1; I am not a happy customer!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 November 2012 05:21 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16346
Joined  2003-10-09

There was a link to this post

http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/2603/#33731

Those were just the first few threads I found with a quick forum search.  There are several other threads in the Bryce forum about this issue.

It has been explained in other threads that Bryce 7 was released before Apple released OS X 10.7.  The Bryce dev cycle was then wound up, The Mac dev guy who had been working on it was on contract, and his contract ended soon after this.

Some people have managed to get Bryce working in parallells or using bootcamp.

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        NeilV’s Freebies and stuff        Autumn Bryce Rendering Challenge        October Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 November 2012 01:37 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  3
Joined  2005-05-08

I am a software developer myself and I know what it means when you say that no new development cycle for Mac Bryce is planned : the product is dead.
I wish I knew when I bought Bryce 7 Pro!
I haven’t had any need for Parallels and I find it rather offensive that you suggest I run Windows so Daz does not have to fix the problems with Bryce.
It is really a shame; I really liked Bryce….

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 November 2012 04:17 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16346
Joined  2003-10-09

Bryce is not Dead.  Dedicated Brycers refuse to even thing that. THink positive, and keep trying.

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        NeilV’s Freebies and stuff        Autumn Bryce Rendering Challenge        October Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 November 2012 05:17 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  60
Joined  2008-03-27
chohole - 19 November 2012 04:17 AM

Bryce is not Dead.


Seriously? A product that hasn’t by now been fixed to work with what is already a superceded operating system (Lion), and which the owner admits to not even having a developer on staff any more, is, by any reasonable definition of the word, dead.

It’s just that DAZ refuse to admit it and turn off the life support system.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 November 2012 05:22 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16346
Joined  2003-10-09

Brycers refuse to say it, that is the much more important statement.

Users can influence the market in a positive way, instead of being negative about it.

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        NeilV’s Freebies and stuff        Autumn Bryce Rendering Challenge        October Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 November 2012 06:31 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1677
Joined  2007-12-10
kennisp - 19 November 2012 01:37 AM

I am a software developer myself and I know what it means when you say that no new development cycle for Mac Bryce is planned : the product is dead.
I wish I knew when I bought Bryce 7 Pro!
I haven’t had any need for Parallels and I find it rather offensive that you suggest I run Windows so Daz does not have to fix the problems with Bryce.
It is really a shame; I really liked Bryce….

It’s getting a bit old reading people complaining that they can’t use Bryce on their Mac…
Especially when I use it everyday… on a Mac. rolleyes

How do I do this?
My perfectly working 6 year old Mac is running the perfectly working 10.5.8 OS… which in turn runs the perfectly working Bryce 7 Pro.

 

Image Attachments
Mountain-and-Lion.jpg
 Signature 

I’ve got nothing of my own to promote, no models, no tutorials, no website, nothin’, nada, nill, nowt.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 November 2012 10:49 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2642
Joined  2004-07-06
TheSavage64 - 19 November 2012 06:31 AM
kennisp - 19 November 2012 01:37 AM

I am a software developer myself and I know what it means when you say that no new development cycle for Mac Bryce is planned : the product is dead.
I wish I knew when I bought Bryce 7 Pro!
I haven’t had any need for Parallels and I find it rather offensive that you suggest I run Windows so Daz does not have to fix the problems with Bryce.
It is really a shame; I really liked Bryce….

It’s getting a bit old reading people complaining that they can’t use Bryce on their Mac…
Especially when I use it everyday… on a Mac. rolleyes

How do I do this?
My perfectly working 6 year old Mac is running the perfectly working 10.5.8 OS… which in turn runs the perfectly working Bryce 7 Pro.

 

Since you mentioned this I’ve been scanning ebay for one.  It would be handy to have a backup machine and something to test products on cross platform would not go amiss either.  I’m hanging onto the end of the tax year though before I spend any money.  As things stand, things are looking a bit lean…  A situation not helped I am sure by bleak and uninformed pronouncements.  Take DAZ 3D at their word or don’t but as Pam says, if the Brycers are still using Bryce, it has a user base and that in turn will ensure it gets the attention it deserves.

 Signature 

that Bryce Tutorials Info and this Products made by Horo and myself and a link to my gallery at DAZ 3D

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 November 2012 01:23 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  927
Joined  2003-10-09
Aelfric - 19 November 2012 05:17 AM
chohole - 19 November 2012 04:17 AM

Bryce is not Dead.


Seriously? A product that hasn’t by now been fixed to work with what is already a superceded operating system (Lion), and which the owner admits to not even having a developer on staff any more, is, by any reasonable definition of the word, dead.

It’s just that DAZ refuse to admit it and turn off the life support system.

Oh so we should just ignore when an official Daz representative not forom moderators (no offense meant chohole, you’re official in my book :) ) say that when it comes into the next dev cycle fixing the Mac compatability issue is their top priority? I understand the frustration you Mac people feel, it’s not really much different from us PC users frustrated by the fact there is no 64 bit version and any 64 bit version will have to wait until after the Mac problem gets solved. The problem is, and what none of you Mac people that get so upset over this issue seems to understand is that Daz isn’t as big of a company as you would like to believe. It can’t afford to keep the necessary Mac people on board 365, in no small part due to the fact that the Bryce customer base is fairly small. Also obviously since it’s not working for you guys with OSX Lion and above none of you guys are buying additional Bryce products.  This means there isn’t enough money coming in to justify spending the money on keeping the right Mac people around all the time.

What really gets me though is this problem as far as anyone knows is due to Apple dropping rosetta which allowed the old motorola chipset code, that has been in Bryce since the beginning, to work on the newer Intel chipset systems. As I understand it Apple decided to drop it because their license for it expired and they felt everyone should have been able to upgrade to a point of not needing Rosetta by that point. Well it’s all fine and dandy to think that way when you are the richest most profitable company in US history but it’s also alot like the attitude attributed to Marie Antoinette of “Let them eat cake”. I just don’t get why the majority of Mac people that post here about this problem don’t feel like Apple should be expected to continue support for older code? Microsoft had a similar situation when they released Vista and then tried to drop support for XP. However instead of PC users getting all bent out of shape with small 3rd party software companies for not keeping their programs compatible with Vista they pettitoned and forced Microsoft to continue supporting XP until they could make a new OS that was backward compatible.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 November 2012 01:27 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3648
Joined  2004-10-01

Being a Brycer is a life style. Those who want to use Bryce can also make it work. I find it also sad that the users of the new Mac OS are left out. But it’s not all DAZ 3D’s fault. Apple decided to stop supporting OS’s older than 10.7. Such a dramatic change in a dot-release (10.6 to 10.7) is certainly quite uncommon. Windows 7 still supports programs written for DOS 3.2 and that spans over almost 20 years.

 Signature 

**  [ Stuff by David Brinnen and myself**  [ My DAZ 3D Gallery**  [ My Website**  OPC 4565 **

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 November 2012 01:29 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  927
Joined  2003-10-09
kennisp - 19 November 2012 01:37 AM

I am a software developer myself and I know what it means when you say that no new development cycle for Mac Bryce is planned : the product is dead.
I wish I knew when I bought Bryce 7 Pro!
I haven’t had any need for Parallels and I find it rather offensive that you suggest I run Windows so Daz does not have to fix the problems with Bryce.
It is really a shame; I really liked Bryce….

She didn’t mean to be offensive, it’s just that you Mac people come in here all demanding and indignent like this is a major issue that must be fixed right now, this minute. Chohole knows that it’s not going to happen that quick and so she is trying to give you solutions that will work today, right now. Chohole is just a forum moderator, as such she is likely either a volunteer or at best gets a token salary. Yet people speak to her as if she were in charge of Daz. That is being offensive, when you come in here giving the messenger a hard time just because you don’t like the message.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 November 2012 02:11 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16346
Joined  2003-10-09
kennisp - 19 November 2012 01:37 AM

I am a software developer myself and I know what it means when you say that no new development cycle for Mac Bryce is planned : the product is dead.
I wish I knew when I bought Bryce 7 Pro!
I haven’t had any need for Parallels and I find it rather offensive that you suggest I run Windows so Daz does not have to fix the problems with Bryce.
It is really a shame; I really liked Bryce….

Actually the post I linked you to said this.

We are not doing any development at this time on Bryce. The only thing we are trying to do is see if we can update the code for Lion. We’ve had some set-backs so we can’t give a date on when to expect this update.


SO He did not say that there was no planned development for Mac Bryce, but indeed said that the only thing they were working on at this time is to try to get the code fixed so that Bryce will work with the new OS Xs

I do feel for Mac users, as I remember the frustrations I had having to wait till Bryce 2 came out before I could use it as I am a PC user.

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        NeilV’s Freebies and stuff        Autumn Bryce Rendering Challenge        October Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 November 2012 02:01 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  438
Joined  2011-04-18
chohole - 18 November 2012 05:21 AM

Some people have managed to get Bryce working in parallells or using bootcamp.

Why should I be forced to install Windows/Parallels when I prefer to work with the Apple OS? I doubt there is a bridge from my DS 4 (soon DS 4.5) for Mac to Bryce 7 for Parallels/Windows. That means I would have to install DS and all my stuff again on the Parallels partition, and, what is worse, I can’t use ANYTHING I made with DS for Mac. So, Parallels for me is no option.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 November 2012 02:28 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3648
Joined  2004-10-01

Just for the records, Studio content can be installed on any folder of your choice. This has the advantage that it can be copied to any other computer on which Studio runs and have a backup. If you get a new computer, you can just copy that folder with all the sub-folders in it and you’re set. No need to spend weeks to re-install everything.

 Signature 

**  [ Stuff by David Brinnen and myself**  [ My DAZ 3D Gallery**  [ My Website**  OPC 4565 **

Profile
 
 
   
1 of 5
1