Digital Art Zone

 
   
54 of 100
54
Like a Phoenix from the Ashes, Who Wants to Render a Superhero?
Posted: 13 November 2012 02:10 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 796 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  9
Joined  2008-12-14

Hi Joequick,

I’m new to zbrush, so my question maybe very basic.

I want create a simple texture which is a white star shaped image on daz’s supersuit shoulders using zbrush’s default star shaped alpha. And as the rest of the body I just want to use supersuit’s default materials. How do I achieve that?

Thanks//

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 November 2012 02:21 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 797 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  329
Joined  2011-01-22

A new Robin morph that I’ve been working on for the past couple of days.

Image Attachments
Robin002.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 November 2012 06:58 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 798 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  448
Joined  2003-10-09

I like this…

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 November 2012 08:59 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 799 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  379
Joined  2004-08-23

Texture Question for Joe I PM’ed you too about this (or any one who my know). I have the Killer Shark By Joe and loaded him into Poser 2012 MAC, apply the textures manually but the textures don’t line up, em I using the wrong base figure (Male, Female, or Genesis)? Or ‘em I doing something completely wrong?

Image Attachments
Shark.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 November 2012 09:42 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 800 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4451
Joined  2004-08-11
Cagnazzo82 - 13 November 2012 02:21 AM

A new Robin morph that I’ve been working on for the past couple of days.

Very nice looking and very sexy! WOOF!

 Signature 

    —- Wolff On The Prowl—-

Pan Project

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 November 2012 10:26 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 801 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  241
Joined  2003-10-09
Joequick - 11 November 2012 11:53 PM

Before switching to DS4.5 I’d been a Poser 7 user.  I bought 9 this evening, taking advantage of their pre-blackfriday deal.  My intent was just to use it for doing cloth sims on genesis products (up until this point I’d been using a “genesis” morph for V4 to approximate the shape). Still, I decided to do a quick render of Killer Shark (using the default poser lights no less), and I’ve got to say it turned out alright.  Makes me want to go hunt down my favorite light sets and see how they turn out.

Joe, I have a question… How do I open the Killer Shark mouth? I’ve applied the Open Mouth and the Open Mouth Wide morphs and it doesn’t seem to have much effect on the figure. Is there something I’m missing? Possibly something from the readme that I missed?

Thanks.

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 November 2012 01:03 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 802 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  755
Joined  2006-06-12
SmallFry - 13 November 2012 10:26 AM
Joequick - 11 November 2012 11:53 PM

Before switching to DS4.5 I’d been a Poser 7 user.  I bought 9 this evening, taking advantage of their pre-blackfriday deal.  My intent was just to use it for doing cloth sims on genesis products (up until this point I’d been using a “genesis” morph for V4 to approximate the shape). Still, I decided to do a quick render of Killer Shark (using the default poser lights no less), and I’ve got to say it turned out alright.  Makes me want to go hunt down my favorite light sets and see how they turn out.

Joe, I have a question… How do I open the Killer Shark mouth? I’ve applied the Open Mouth and the Open Mouth Wide morphs and it doesn’t seem to have much effect on the figure. Is there something I’m missing? Possibly something from the readme that I missed?

Thanks.

For Rduda, Killer Shark uses the K4 UV Maps, so Genesis must be set to use the K4 UV maps before the maps will display correctly.

For Smallfry, there’s a “Shark Big Gulp” or “big gulp shark” morph in there which opens the mouth very very wide.  I’m not sure where Daz has those things set to show up when you use genesis in poser, for studio, I put it in the head pose dials.

 Signature 

My Daz Store
ShareCG Freebies

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 November 2012 02:07 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 803 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  379
Joined  2004-08-23

For the “Shark Big Gulp” select the body of the figure, then go down to Pose Controls, Head, Mouth and under that you fill find the Shark Big Gulp.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 November 2012 03:29 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 804 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  329
Joined  2011-01-22
Rduda - 13 November 2012 02:07 PM

For the “Shark Big Gulp” select the body of the figure, then go down to Pose Controls, Head, Mouth and under that you fill find the Shark Big Gulp.

Or you can just select the body and type ‘gulp’ in the parameters search filter and it should come up. smile

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 November 2012 07:39 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 805 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  755
Joined  2006-06-12

Here’s a Materials file: http://www.sharecg.com/v/65738/gallery/11/Poser/Killer-Shark-MAT

 Signature 

My Daz Store
ShareCG Freebies

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 November 2012 07:40 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 806 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  755
Joined  2006-06-12
tunggul1101 - 13 November 2012 02:10 AM

Hi Joequick,

I’m new to zbrush, so my question maybe very basic.

I want create a simple texture which is a white star shaped image on daz’s supersuit shoulders using zbrush’s default star shaped alpha. And as the rest of the body I just want to use supersuit’s default materials. How do I achieve that?

Thanks//

I think this is just a job for photoshop or any other image editor.  If you’re in love with the star shaped alpha from zbrush, you should be able to find that in the zbrush file folders and open it up in another image editor.  just stick the star on the uv template and position it?

You might look at one of Atrion’s textures to get an idea of where the star would need to go on the texturemap to wind up on the chest: http://www.sharecg.com/v/65544/browse/21/DAZ-Studio/UPDATED-Yellow-Lantern-SuperSuit

 Signature 

My Daz Store
ShareCG Freebies

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 November 2012 08:39 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 807 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  755
Joined  2006-06-12
RAMWolff - 12 November 2012 08:00 PM

Ah… thanks. 

Another issue has cropped up for me.  I’m on Windows 8 now…. so heads up on that.  GoZ does not function.  There is a “Scripts” folder in the Users/Public/Pixologic/GoZBrush folder apparently.  This is MIA… Just used GoZ 2 weeks ago for fixing up a couple of morphs so not sure what’s gone wrong.  I did look in the Windows.old folder just now but there is nothing from Pixologic in there, just older Windows stuff.  Can you check to see if you have a Scripts folder in the location mentioned?

GoZ just isn’t a part of my workflow.

As an experiment, I used just the basic textures generated by this filter: http://filterforge.com/filters/7753.html to do the texture work on the Pizza below.  So I didn’t use bump maps or anything.  When you use spotlight and the pen brush in zbrush and you turn out zadd or zsub with the brush it will affect the mesh based on the color info.

Image Attachments
pizza1.jpgslicegeo.jpg
 Signature 

My Daz Store
ShareCG Freebies

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 November 2012 08:59 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 808 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2030
Joined  2003-10-09

what? no anchovies?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 November 2012 10:43 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 809 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4451
Joined  2004-08-11

ANCHOVIES?  YUK!  lol That looks good . Yea, I watched a vid on Spotlight where the presenter loaded a plane up, started up Spotlight with some rocks.  First applied the rocks texture to the plane and then used the ZAdd to start the process of bringing the actual rock formations into the plane.  It’s not completely 3D but it would be a really great way to add allot of background detail to a scene that can be zoomed in on.  I was really impressed with this technique!

 Signature 

    —- Wolff On The Prowl—-

Pan Project

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 November 2012 10:51 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 810 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  329
Joined  2011-01-22

Just out of total random curiosity… are there any other problems (like say perhaps playing around in Daz), that might pop up on account of using Windows 8?

I was on the verge of ordering it, but I’ll definitely back off if it screws with my rendering :-S

Profile
 
 
   
54 of 100
54