Digital Art Zone

 
     
Perhaps a Mass Installer for models?
Posted: 17 November 2012 01:03 PM   [ Ignore ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  3
Joined  2003-10-09

I love Poser and Daz3d, but man… I have a boatload of models to install. Problem is: There are no mass-installers anymore. I used to use 3D Content Installer (which has vanished, along with the author), but now there is nothing but “click/click/click, install, click the error message.” Help?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 November 2012 02:18 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  616
Joined  2007-08-14

There’s a downloader/installer coming from DAZ soon.

(Newbies take note, “DAZ soon” could mean “tomorrow” but much more likely it means “maybe within a decade, if you’re lucky”)

 Signature 

These are not the tutorials you’re looking for. Move along.
My old profile

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 November 2012 02:35 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16780
Joined  2003-10-09

Oooh,  I’m going to tell,  you used that 4 letter word.

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        NeilV’s Freebies and stuff        Winter Bryce Rendering Challenge        November Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 November 2012 06:51 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  3
Joined  2003-10-09
araneldon - 17 November 2012 02:18 PM

There’s a downloader/installer coming from DAZ soon.

(Newbies take note, “DAZ soon” could mean “tomorrow” but much more likely it means “maybe within a decade, if you’re lucky”)

hehe, I hope it’s soonER smile I am installing my Poser/DAZ library to my new computer…. and it is a -pain-

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 November 2012 10:05 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1615
Joined  2012-01-04

Just try to enjoy it. I just installed 4.5 a week or so ago after deleting all my libraries. I wanted a fresh start because it was such a mess. I then installed quite a bit of content and started to categorize it, but found it was way too difficult, so once again I started over with a clean board.

I am now installing one item at a time and organizing it as I go. It is a process, but I believe it will be well worth it in the long run for two reasons. One is I familiarize myself with the product be seeing what all it contains and the other is I know where in the hell it is.

The one problem I keep coming across is not being sure if I am satisfied with the way I am categorizing them. I keep saying to myself, “Do I need to change this to this”, but I decided to go with my first thought instead because I will always be questioning the way I did it.

I have around a thousand products to install, but I don’t think I will install half of them unless I believe I want to use something. At this point I am just installing Genesis content because all of it has Smart Content. I will then start with Generation 4 content, but I think I am only going to install items that have Metadata and update products once they include Metadata.

What the hell happens whenever we receive the Install Manager sometime down the road, I don’t know. I guess I will cross that bridge when it comes.

 Signature 

Old Post Count: Maybe 3 or 4.
O/S: Windows 7x64
D/S: 4.6.0.18

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 November 2012 10:10 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1231
Joined  2004-11-07

“I am now installing one item at a time and organizing it as I go. It is a process, but I believe it will be well worth it in the long run for two reasons. One is I familiarize myself with the product be seeing what all it contains and the other is I know where in the hell it is.” Ledhead

Enthusiastically agree.

I’m old world and quite used to working in my folders. I actually; most of the time, install to a dummy folder, check everything, then drop it in my working folder, and double check. I very rarely have any content issues; app issues on the other hand LOL

Like I keep saying, I know where my content is because I put it there wink

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 November 2012 10:15 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  197
Joined  2006-09-14

I thought they were converting installers to zips.

 Signature 

My life and times: http://bryonlape.com/
My Deviant: http://brainmuffin.deviantart.com/gallery/
Flickr: https://www.flickr.com/photos/21458942@N08/
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCpSQTqyGGpYN1gsqxxQ2kcQ

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 November 2012 10:16 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  250
Joined  2005-10-16
ManStan - 25 November 2012 10:10 AM

I actually; most of the time, install to a dummy folder, check everything, then drop it in my working folder, and double check. I very rarely have any content issues

Exactly what I do as well.

 Signature 

Gone.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 November 2012 10:21 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16780
Joined  2003-10-09
ropeman - 25 November 2012 10:15 AM

I thought they were converting installers to zips.

Eventually that will happen, At the moment there isn’t an arrival date mentioned.

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        NeilV’s Freebies and stuff        Winter Bryce Rendering Challenge        November Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 November 2012 12:06 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1802
Joined  2008-05-31
chohole - 25 November 2012 10:21 AM
ropeman - 25 November 2012 10:15 AM

I thought they were converting installers to zips.

Eventually that will happen, At the moment there isn’t an arrival date mentioned.

The question is if the converter guys are converting faster than new realeses are being released. Otherwise it can take forever, literally.

 Signature 
Tools for the DAZ store
Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 November 2012 07:16 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2651
Joined  2003-12-06
chohole - 25 November 2012 10:21 AM
ropeman - 25 November 2012 10:15 AM

I thought they were converting installers to zips.

Eventually that will happen, At the moment there isn’t an arrival date mentioned.

In this case, I’m taking “eventually” as equivalent to the s-word. I’ve had a literal handful of new-style zip installers since they were first announced: I think one was a new item, the others were all very old stuff where the installer was re-done, most likely so the product would be easier to install on a modern OS. Everything else I’ve bought from DAZ recently, including brand new stuff, has been the old style installers. If there’s any urgency to converting everything to the new system, I’m not seeing it.

 Signature 

Gone to Vegas to play poker. Back when I run out of clothes.—Your Muse.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 December 2012 09:02 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  3
Joined  2003-10-09
SpottedKitty - 25 November 2012 07:16 PM
chohole - 25 November 2012 10:21 AM
ropeman - 25 November 2012 10:15 AM

I thought they were converting installers to zips.

Eventually that will happen, At the moment there isn’t an arrival date mentioned.

In this case, I’m taking “eventually” as equivalent to the s-word. I’ve had a literal handful of new-style zip installers since they were first announced: I think one was a new item, the others were all very old stuff where the installer was re-done, most likely so the product would be easier to install on a modern OS. Everything else I’ve bought from DAZ recently, including brand new stuff, has been the old style installers. If there’s any urgency to converting everything to the new system, I’m not seeing it.

I don’t see it either, which is why I can see a need to create a mass-installer. Maybe if there is a “DOS” code for silently installing I could make a bulk installer… that would be a lot better.

{EDIT} I just saw from another thread (I finally found it, sue me) that it is possible to copy the DS folders over to the new system… does this work for Poser as well?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 December 2012 09:33 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  904
Joined  2005-11-06
ManStan - 25 November 2012 10:10 AM

“I am now installing one item at a time and organizing it as I go. It is a process, but I believe it will be well worth it in the long run for two reasons. One is I familiarize myself with the product be seeing what all it contains and the other is I know where in the hell it is.” Ledhead

Enthusiastically agree.

I’m old world and quite used to working in my folders. I actually; most of the time, install to a dummy folder, check everything, then drop it in my working folder, and double check. I very rarely have any content issues; app issues on the other hand LOL

Like I keep saying, I know where my content is because I put it there wink

same here. I have a backup runtime set up on my external backup drive that I constantly update/add to and if i need to reinstall or transfer to a new PC i am set. Then again, I do rely on “smart content” either, maybe that says something, LOL.

 Signature 

Regards, Michael

“Documentation? Who needs documentation, just open it and learn!”

My DeviantArt Gallery

My DAZ Gallery

Profile