Digital Art Zone

 
   
1 of 2
1
Are there any DAZ buddies?
Posted: 16 November 2012 08:02 PM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  91
Joined  2012-10-04

Several weeks have passed since I first discovered DS4. It is plain to see this is remarkable software but gees wouldn’t it be nice if there was some up to date documentation with a proper index so that I could get on with learning and solving my own problems instead of floundering around the web or coming to this forum.
As a good forum user I’ve spent hours searching to see if my problem has been discussed before and days vainly hoping someone might answer my question.
Usually a few more days experimentation reveals an answer or a work around but I have a sneaky feeling my solutions are clumsy.
I wish I could find a mentor in a similar time zone who, like me, is retired and has time to help.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 November 2012 08:09 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Addict
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4702
Joined  2004-07-01
oldblock - 16 November 2012 08:02 PM

Several weeks have passed since I first discovered DS4. It is plain to see this is remarkable software but gees wouldn’t it be nice if there was some up to date documentation with a proper index so that I could get on with learning and solving my own problems instead of floundering around the web or coming to this forum.
As a good forum user I’ve spent hours searching to see if my problem has been discussed before and days vainly hoping someone might answer my question.
Usually a few more days experimentation reveals an answer or a work around but I have a sneaky feeling my solutions are clumsy.
I wish I could find a mentor in a similar time zone who, like me, is retired and has time to help.

whats your time zone ?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 November 2012 01:43 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  91
Joined  2012-10-04

GMT + 8 but hey I’m not difficult to get along with - responses within 24 hrs would be terrific.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 November 2012 02:02 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Addict
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4702
Joined  2004-07-01
oldblock - 17 November 2012 01:43 AM

GMT + 8 but hey I’m not difficult to get along with - responses within 24 hrs would be terrific.

I am sure some body will be here to help .

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 November 2012 02:52 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16477
Joined  2009-01-22

Hi oldblock I’m in the US central timezone. I’m also one of many Daz3D Community Volunteers that will be happy to help you at anytime as long as I understand the question. We all have different skills and I’m sure you can and will get the help you need. So Just start asking away.

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 November 2012 03:01 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Addict
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4702
Joined  2004-07-01
oldblock - 17 November 2012 01:43 AM

GMT + 8 but hey I’m not difficult to get along with - responses within 24 hrs would be terrific.

you are downunder mate

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 November 2012 03:13 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16477
Joined  2009-01-22
bigh - 17 November 2012 03:01 AM
oldblock - 17 November 2012 01:43 AM

GMT + 8 but hey I’m not difficult to get along with - responses within 24 hrs would be terrific.

you are downunder mate

Sure they are but 24 hours gives me 12 hours to respond in. Plus many of us Daz Helpers are spread out in other places. Some one is online all the time.

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 November 2012 04:13 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  91
Joined  2012-10-04

Ok well thanks for your response, I’m in the process of creating a fairy who will be inserted into a movie of me constructing a Cubby House for my Grandaughter. I’m working in aniMate2. The aniblocks available with aniMate2 are great and I’ve picked up how to do most of the editing. My current problem is a very short movement of a flapping wing cycle which spans 6 frames and is contained in a new aniBlock. If I stretch the block to span several seconds I get a repeating cycle of 30 frames 24 of which have no movement.
Question 1: Can I make a 6 frame aniBlock?
Question 2: If not is it possible to copy and paste the 6 frames and fill the block?
Question 3: Or do neither and and copy and paste it in the other timeline

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 November 2012 04:49 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6439
Joined  2005-08-15

I don’t know if you have seen these or not :

Animate 2 Videos.
http://gofigure3d.com/site/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=93&Itemid=87

Animte 2 User Guide
http://www.gofigure3d.com/site/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=92&Itemid=86

I don’t do animations, but there is an Animation forum here as well here:  http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewforum/42/ and I’m sure someone there could answer any future questions.

I don’t know for sure if you can create a six frame aniblock, I’m sure you can, BUT, that will only last about a quarter of a second.  Are you sure that is what you want to do?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 November 2012 05:03 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7459
Joined  2009-07-13
bigh - 17 November 2012 03:01 AM
oldblock - 17 November 2012 01:43 AM

GMT + 8 but hey I’m not difficult to get along with - responses within 24 hrs would be terrific.

you are downunder mate

I am downunder and my time zone is -9 ?

 Signature 

WARNING do not click tongue rolleye what video horrors will be seen if you do cannot be unseen.
my render thread
        never forget
A Drows Walk
Jaderail is at it again

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 November 2012 05:12 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6439
Joined  2005-08-15

It must be GMT + 9, minus figures are in the US.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 November 2012 09:01 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Addict
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4702
Joined  2004-07-01
oldblock - 17 November 2012 04:13 AM

Ok well thanks for your response, I’m in the process of creating a fairy who will be inserted into a movie of me constructing a Cubby House for my Grandaughter. I’m working in aniMate2. The aniblocks available with aniMate2 are great and I’ve picked up how to do most of the editing. My current problem is a very short movement of a flapping wing cycle which spans 6 frames and is contained in a new aniBlock. If I stretch the block to span several seconds I get a repeating cycle of 30 frames 24 of which have no movement.
Question 1: Can I make a 6 frame aniBlock?
Question 2: If not is it possible to copy and paste the 6 frames and fill the block?
Question 3: Or do neither and and copy and paste it in the other timeline

ok don’t stretch it - you want to copy and paste it 5 times on the aniMate timeline
then right click on the gray - popup will ask if you want to make it on the DS timeline - click yes

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 November 2012 07:23 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  91
Joined  2012-10-04

bigh,
Copy and paste would be nice but here’s the rub - How?
Where do I right click? If I right click on my aniBlock I get Rename, Save as new, Save for legacy animate.
If I right click elsewhere I get Bake to Studio keyframes, Create aniBlock from Studio keyframes, Studio keys, Preferences.
If I right click on a track I get a bunch of options including paste (looks encouraging)
In my right clicking frenzy I accidentally clicked somewhere and got some simple file functions including copy but I haven’t been able to repeat it.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 November 2012 07:27 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7459
Joined  2009-07-13

just drag 6 instances of the block onto the timeline, prob other ways but what I would do.

 Signature 

WARNING do not click tongue rolleye what video horrors will be seen if you do cannot be unseen.
my render thread
        never forget
A Drows Walk
Jaderail is at it again

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 November 2012 07:31 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Addict
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4702
Joined  2004-07-01

If I right click elsewhere I get Bake to Studio keyframes, Create aniBlock from Studio keyframes, Studio keys, Preferences.

thats the one you want - bake to studio keyframe

I guessing you make a aniBlock from the DS timeline - with the wings moving
so then after that - you make as many Block as you need on the aniMate timeline
then do above to do the animation in DS
hope this help

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 November 2012 11:30 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16477
Joined  2009-01-22

To copy a AniBlock its Left Click AniBlock, Copy then select open Area and Right Click, then Paste.

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
   
1 of 2
1