Digital Art Zone

 
     
shadow errors
Posted: 15 November 2012 05:36 AM   [ Ignore ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1506
Joined  2010-06-29

Question:

Why is daz3.1.2.xx or daz4.5 pro (64bit) unable to create correct shadows when using ray traced shadow for distant or spot lights?

The top in this render do not touch the skin surface and has space to it and even it is so, there are parts where daz do not create shadow.

this is just an example, I have done a lot renders on which I had to do postwork to have correct shadows.

It has nothing to do with shadow softness, I have tryed a lot different values.

Image Attachments
dx_hippy_chick_-_Kopie.jpg
 Signature  Samples of my renders by cosmo


Every day is your day - not the day of other people - So live your life, not the lifes of others and enjoy it

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 November 2012 06:14 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15167
Joined  2003-10-09

You probably need to lower the Shadow Bias - that’s an offset, in cm, for the sahdow to avoid situations where a surface shadows itself - usually producing ugly banding - but it does mean that things that are close together may fail to show shadows at all. Try dropping the bias down to .1 initially.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 November 2012 11:03 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1506
Joined  2010-06-29
Richard Haseltine - 15 November 2012 06:14 AM

You probably need to lower the Shadow Bias - that’s an offset, in cm, for the sahdow to avoid situations where a surface shadows itself - usually producing ugly banding - but it does mean that things that are close together may fail to show shadows at all. Try dropping the bias down to .1 initially.

hmm, shadow bias was 1 in this render and the distance between the top (shoulder / waistline) is more than a 1cm I guess. is there another value I can change for that? maybe in the main render settings?

 Signature  Samples of my renders by cosmo


Every day is your day - not the day of other people - So live your life, not the lifes of others and enjoy it

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 November 2012 11:14 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1506
Joined  2010-06-29

ah maybe that was it, have changed the value of the shadow bias down to 0.25 and it seems in a first test, that the shadow is okay smile

 Signature 

Samples of my renders by cosmo


Every day is your day - not the day of other people - So live your life, not the lifes of others and enjoy it

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 November 2012 12:33 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1506
Joined  2010-06-29

thanks for the help richard, that was the problem smile I have tried also some things with shadow bias before but maybe in the wrong direction smile not lower but higher values smile my fault

 Signature 

Samples of my renders by cosmo


Every day is your day - not the day of other people - So live your life, not the lifes of others and enjoy it

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 November 2012 02:38 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4545
Joined  2007-09-13

Higher values make it creep more ‘under the edge’, so to speak…and if you go high enough you can almost reverse the direction of the shadow.

 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile