Digital Art Zone

 
   
51 of 91
51
SITE UPDATES, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND CUSTOMER SERVICE INFORMATION
Posted: 31 July 2012 07:11 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 751 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  205
Joined  2004-11-14

I fully agree:)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 31 July 2012 02:24 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 752 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  413
Joined  2003-10-09
Sal UK - 30 July 2012 02:52 PM

I put one in 5 days ago for a refund on the hexagon tutorial as I cant get hexagon to work through the tutorial process it keeps coming up with program has stopped working. so I want a refund on it as its no good if I cant keep hexagon working.

Still havent been sorted.. :(

Sal.

Thanks its been sorted now..
Sal.

 Signature 

http://www.daz3d.com/gallery/users/101

Profile
 
 
Posted: 31 July 2012 04:22 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 753 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  2
Joined  2003-10-09

why is the store trying to charge me taxes?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 31 July 2012 08:42 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 754 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  271
Joined  2005-08-20

Because your registered address is in a state that requires DAZ to?

 Signature 

*Sigh* Window->Tabs->Tool Settings->Draw Style->Manipulation: Off
Yeah. It’s like that.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 31 July 2012 08:59 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 755 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  2
Joined  2003-10-09

sigh That must be new then. I’m in GA and the last time I heard it was just Texas or Utah can’t remember which but it was just one state. I bought something recently & wasn’t charged. :/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 August 2012 06:58 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 756 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  945
Joined  2003-10-09
aqrose - 31 July 2012 08:59 PM

sigh That must be new then. I’m in GA and the last time I heard it was just Texas or Utah can’t remember which but it was just one state. I bought something recently & wasn’t charged. :/

There was an announcement of issues with the new store which included clarification of states subject to sales tax.  See “2. Sales Tax” in the link below:

http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewannounce/2055_4/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 August 2012 07:04 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 757 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  86
Joined  2004-03-28

There is a serious Database issue where the store is not acknowledging Monthly Platinum Club memberships purchased prior to the change over. The current work around seems to be that affected members need to purchase the membership again and then Management issues a refund for the difference..

Highly unacceptable.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 August 2012 11:51 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 758 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  927
Joined  2003-10-09

I’m wondering if it would be possible if Daz could give us some idea of how we customers are supposed to handle product updates. Emails announcing updates stopped a good while ago and now with the new forum the sub forum dedicated to updates is no longer available. Just before the site change I saw in the update forum that a bunch of files had been updated but I didn’t have time then to compare it to my itemized purchases. Then when I finally had the time the product update forums were no longer there.


I’ve been a customer for 10 years now and over that time I’ve accumulated well over 3000 items that I’ve purchased. I know daz has been bringing alot of older stuff up to speed for today’s newer technologies. Without product update info though the only choice I have is to keep using older versions that may work poorly or reset every item I’ve ever bought and put myself at a huge inconvenience having to download so many files (many that probably haven’t been updated) so I can compare them to what I have already. Of course that would also mean me being an unnecessary drain on the server for several days as I attempt to download well over 3000 items. Heck, I can’t even compare them to the product page since you stopped giving out the information of how many files an item contained and what the total size of those files were.


I’ve asked this before in other threads about the new site but got no answers. I’ve tried to be understanding and wait so Daz could focus on getting problems worked out. Now I’m really needing an answer because I’m trying to rebuild my runtime and don’t want to waste time and energy installing a bunch of files that need to be updated but I just can’t tell. Surely this has also got to be a major problem for other customers as well?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 August 2012 12:57 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 759 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  429
Joined  2007-10-08
LordHardDriven - 01 August 2012 11:51 AM

I’m wondering if it would be possible if Daz could give us some idea of how we customers are supposed to handle product updates. Emails announcing updates stopped a good while ago and now with the new forum the sub forum dedicated to updates is no longer available. Just before the site change I saw in the update forum that a bunch of files had been updated but I didn’t have time then to compare it to my itemized purchases. Then when I finally had the time the product update forums were no longer there.


I’ve been a customer for 10 years now and over that time I’ve accumulated well over 3000 items that I’ve purchased. I know daz has been bringing alot of older stuff up to speed for today’s newer technologies. Without product update info though the only choice I have is to keep using older versions that may work poorly or reset every item I’ve ever bought and put myself at a huge inconvenience having to download so many files (many that probably haven’t been updated) so I can compare them to what I have already. Of course that would also mean me being an unnecessary drain on the server for several days as I attempt to download well over 3000 items. Heck, I can’t even compare them to the product page since you stopped giving out the information of how many files an item contained and what the total size of those files were.


I’ve asked this before in other threads about the new site but got no answers. I’ve tried to be understanding and wait so Daz could focus on getting problems worked out. Now I’m really needing an answer because I’m trying to rebuild my runtime and don’t want to waste time and energy installing a bunch of files that need to be updated but I just can’t tell. Surely this has also got to be a major problem for other customers as well?


LordHardDriven:


Thank you for the questions. I hope that I can do justice in answering these. We are making several changes moving forward to help with product information and updates. The changes to our store have made it necessary to handle some of this differently. We will be storing the read-me files online in the document center, we are working on having the ability to see and access the read me files on each product page. People will be able to download a PDF of the read-me on each product as needed from the doc center. As we are an online business we feel it’s necessary to handle these files in this way. These files will be updated and kept in one central location. This should make it easier to find and keep up-to-date information on each product.


We are also in the process of finishing and testing an Installation Manager that will help to keep your products up to date. The way the tool is working will be a great way to update each product that needs it. It’s a fast and very easy tool use. It also helps with custom content locations. More information will be available when we get closer to bringing it out.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 August 2012 02:37 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 760 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2637
Joined  2003-12-06
DAZ_bfurner - 01 August 2012 12:57 PM

The changes to our store have made it necessary to handle some of this differently. We will be storing the read-me files online in the document center, we are working on having the ability to see and access the read me files on each product page.

And…? Sorry, I don’t see a reason there to stop putting the readme and related files in the download as well. If the readme is updated, mark the download as updated, just as if it were a dud texture or materials script that had just been fixed.

 Signature 

Gone to Vegas to play poker. Back when I run out of clothes.—Your Muse.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 August 2012 05:36 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 761 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  927
Joined  2003-10-09
DAZ_bfurner - 01 August 2012 12:57 PM
LordHardDriven - 01 August 2012 11:51 AM

I’m wondering if it would be possible if Daz could give us some idea of how we customers are supposed to handle product updates. Emails announcing updates stopped a good while ago and now with the new forum the sub forum dedicated to updates is no longer available. Just before the site change I saw in the update forum that a bunch of files had been updated but I didn’t have time then to compare it to my itemized purchases. Then when I finally had the time the product update forums were no longer there.


I’ve been a customer for 10 years now and over that time I’ve accumulated well over 3000 items that I’ve purchased. I know daz has been bringing alot of older stuff up to speed for today’s newer technologies. Without product update info though the only choice I have is to keep using older versions that may work poorly or reset every item I’ve ever bought and put myself at a huge inconvenience having to download so many files (many that probably haven’t been updated) so I can compare them to what I have already. Of course that would also mean me being an unnecessary drain on the server for several days as I attempt to download well over 3000 items. Heck, I can’t even compare them to the product page since you stopped giving out the information of how many files an item contained and what the total size of those files were.


I’ve asked this before in other threads about the new site but got no answers. I’ve tried to be understanding and wait so Daz could focus on getting problems worked out. Now I’m really needing an answer because I’m trying to rebuild my runtime and don’t want to waste time and energy installing a bunch of files that need to be updated but I just can’t tell. Surely this has also got to be a major problem for other customers as well?


LordHardDriven:


Thank you for the questions. I hope that I can do justice in answering these. We are making several changes moving forward to help with product information and updates. The changes to our store have made it necessary to handle some of this differently. We will be storing the read-me files online in the document center, we are working on having the ability to see and access the read me files on each product page. People will be able to download a PDF of the read-me on each product as needed from the doc center. As we are an online business we feel it’s necessary to handle these files in this way. These files will be updated and kept in one central location. This should make it easier to find and keep up-to-date information on each product.


We are also in the process of finishing and testing an Installation Manager that will help to keep your products up to date. The way the tool is working will be a great way to update each product that needs it. It’s a fast and very easy tool use. It also helps with custom content locations. More information will be available when we get closer to bringing it out.

Yeah I saw those options for the readme files and I guess that offers a counter solution for the now obsolete content manager program I paid good money for to be able to keep info on my files. That still does not adress my questions though as the readme files at least so far do not contain the information of how many files to install a particular item and what the total size of those files were. Since that info is now no longer on the product page just above the templates like it used to be.


Personally what I would like to see is two columns of information be visible in the itemized order history. One column representing the date a file was last updated and another showing when it was last downloaded. A nice optional bonus would be if the update date is ever more current then the last download it generates a private message to the customer’s inbox notifying him/her of the need to reset an item for download. As long as that info is visible a customer can at least browse his/her history and know which files he/she needs to reset and which he/she doesn’t.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 August 2012 05:56 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 762 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2548
Joined  2007-12-07

The store is back showing me a wishlist that I do not have - this time a mere 5 items.

On the plus side it goes away if I do ‘something’, like change items per page to 30.

 Signature 

Some writings by a friend:
http://www.lizardsofthehost.co.uk/11.html
http://www.lizardsofthehost.co.uk/13.html
http://www.lizardsofthehost.co.uk/7.html

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 August 2012 07:46 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 763 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2637
Joined  2003-12-06

Same here, I just did the logout/login dance a few minutes ago and saw my wishlist count bounced up to a couple thousand. When I actually looked at the wishlist it was my own one with only 54 items, though.

<sigh> Here we go again…

 Signature 

Gone to Vegas to play poker. Back when I run out of clothes.—Your Muse.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 August 2012 10:00 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 764 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  12060
Joined  2007-11-06

...OK, now two things.


First,


Links need to open in a new tab if your browser is set to do so.  I am tired of losing everything I’ve written when I click on the “back” arrow after testing an embedded link in “Preview”.


Second.


Yesterday evening I attempted to make a couple purchases using the PC 5$ x 2 coupon.  When I selected the item I wanted, I clicked the big bright Checkout button. Apparently as I discovered to my dismay, doing so bypasses the options page where one can enter coupon/GC codes and completes the order process.  Hence I was billed for the full price of 13.95$ for the V4 Fairy dress.


As I found out, one needs to click on the almost “unnoticeable” Go to shopping Cart link to get the page where coupons/GCs can be redeemed.  This is very bad.  When I tried this with another item the discount was correctly reflected after I entered the coupon code. However, when I advanced to the next step, the item was listed with the full non-discounted price.  Considering what had already happened earlier, I cancelled the order.


As this was my first paid purchase (up until now I have only dealt with the weekly freebies) it really doesn’t instill confidence in the new store software.  Consequently I ended up paying full price for one item, had to cancel out of the order for the second one, and thus never was able to take advantage of the coupon offer before it expired.


This needs to be fixed.  It has now been two and a half months and we still are floundering around like a ship with a broken rudder here.

 Signature 

...it’s five minutes to midnight…

I’d rather have a blue sky above me than a blue screen in front of me.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 August 2012 12:57 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 765 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6396
Joined  2006-02-20
DAZ_bfurner - 01 August 2012 12:57 PM

LordHardDriven:


Thank you for the questions. I hope that I can do justice in answering these. We are making several changes moving forward to help with product information and updates. The changes to our store have made it necessary to handle some of this differently. We will be storing the read-me files online in the document center, we are working on having the ability to see and access the read me files on each product page. People will be able to download a PDF of the read-me on each product as needed from the doc center. As we are an online business we feel it’s necessary to handle these files in this way. These files will be updated and kept in one central location. This should make it easier to find and keep up-to-date information on each product.


We are also in the process of finishing and testing an Installation Manager that will help to keep your products up to date. The way the tool is working will be a great way to update each product that needs it. It’s a fast and very easy tool use. It also helps with custom content locations. More information will be available when we get closer to bringing it out.



Excuse me ... but am I supposed to look through all the online readmes (where I have to remember what I bought) to find out what is updated? That is worse than going through my itemized order history (which contains only things I bought) and resetting.

Will the new Installation manager rely on the content management system?
What about those people who uninstalled CMS after having problems with it?
Or will it rely on the content being installed exactly in the folders as they are in the installers/zips?
I am renaming folders to show the real name of the item, as the folders often have other names than the item’s name in the store.

 Signature 

I like Bryce, DazStudio, Poser and Vue ... in alphabetical order. And I would probably like Carrara too, if I could find the time to become acquainted with it. Peace?
Poser and Daz Studio Free Resources Wiki: https://poserdazfreebies.orain.org

Profile
 
 
   
51 of 91
51