Digital Art Zone

 
   
89 of 91
89
SITE UPDATES, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND CUSTOMER SERVICE INFORMATION
Posted: 30 November 2012 12:01 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1321 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1303
Joined  2004-02-13
SpottedKitty - 29 November 2012 07:15 PM

Been a bit quiet in here recently. Has this thread been abandoned in favour of all the other “aaaiiieee, help!!!” threads? Or have there just been no major site updates in the last month?

Not abandoned just all the things they have been working on are less visual and more back end and in process so you would see the results before it could really be reported smile But nope not abandoned smile

 Signature 

Aundrea M Anderson (ann0314) (ARTCollaborations) (ARTCollab)
DAZ3D Community Volunteer Program Manager
DAZ3D PA/Customer Relations Liaison
Co-Owner of ARTCollaborations

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 November 2012 09:23 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1322 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  927
Joined  2003-10-09
DAZ_ann0314 - 30 November 2012 12:01 AM
SpottedKitty - 29 November 2012 07:15 PM

Been a bit quiet in here recently. Has this thread been abandoned in favour of all the other “aaaiiieee, help!!!” threads? Or have there just been no major site updates in the last month?

Not abandoned just all the things they have been working on are less visual and more back end and in process so you would see the results before it could really be reported smile But nope not abandoned smile

I’m not sure if this is the right place to report this but I’ll give it a shot. There is a problem I’ve been experiencing with the new site for a long time now but I’ve not brought it up since it wasn’t critical and I figured the problem would likely get solved eventually whether I said anything or not. Yet here we are several months out from the switch to the new site and the problem still persists.

Basically the problem is this I tend to come into the site and before anything else, even logging in, I check the new releases and if there is something there I like I put it in my shopping cart to move over to my wish list. Unfortunately you don’t get the option to move over to the wish list until you log in. When I log in however all of a sudden my shopping cart says it’s empty even though it really isn’t. I say it isn’t because if I go to new releases and try to readd the items to my cart I get that message saying you’re only allowed one of any given item in the cart. Now I’ve tried all the usual suggestions short of clearing my cache (I don’t want to have to do that everytime I use the cart) and nothing helps. If however I go away and come back after say 30 minutes and then log in again the items will finally be there.

Now I could avoid this annoyance altogether if I just train myself to log in first before saving anything to my cart but old habits die hard and the site didn’t used to have this problem. So I’m hoping there is a way this can be fixed and that maybe it hasn’t been addressed because nobody else has pointed it out?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 November 2012 10:07 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1323 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15740
Joined  2003-10-09

The quickest way of dealing with that is to make sure you are logged in, and then add another, different, item to your cart. Suddenly the first item will appear as well.  You can then edit the cart to take out the unawanted item.

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        Neil’Vs Freebies and stuff        L Summer Bryce Rendering Challenge        August Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 November 2012 10:12 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1324 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4538
Joined  2004-08-11

Logging in every 5 minutes gets to be a royal PITA…........ not in the forums but for me it’s the store.  A week or so ago they SEEMED to have that fixed where it was auto logging me in and now that’s gone.  What is their issue that they almost get something fixed and then f it up and we are back to square one?  Are we like almost to a year of this bs now?

 Signature 

    —- Wolff On The Prowl—-

Pan Project

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 November 2012 12:30 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1325 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  564
Joined  2007-02-16
RAMWolff - 30 November 2012 10:12 AM

Logging in every 5 minutes gets to be a royal PITA…........ not in the forums but for me it’s the store.  A week or so ago they SEEMED to have that fixed where it was auto logging me in and now that’s gone.  What is their issue that they almost get something fixed and then f it up and we are back to square one?  Are we like almost to a year of this bs now?

I have the exact same problem and I don’t even bother with the store anymore unless I have to login to get the weekly/monthly freebie or use my coupon. It literally really is every 5 minutes too. I’m on dialup and it takes a good 5-10 minutes to try and load those secure pages only to be logged out minutes later.  If the browser cache was cleared, that time jumps up and it normally takes 20-30 minutes to load the secure pages until things are saved in the cache again :(  I’ve been waiting around on this issue to be fixed since the upgrade and I haven’t seen any progress towards it except the one day you mentioned above, where it did actually log you in and keep you logged in.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 November 2012 01:28 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1326 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4538
Joined  2004-08-11

It’s as if DAZ wants to fail.  I don’t say that as a troll I say that as a concerned customer.  Why in the hell would they not have things like log ons fixed?  Additionally we constantly request a search function be added to the Itemized History area. NADA It’s as if they don’t care, like they say they listen to us but not really.  Getting very tiring.  Got better things to do with my time than being frustrated constantly by sloppy code work.  And I think it was mentioned they did indeed bring in some folks that are experts at working with this forum/store software.  REALLY?  I don’t see it, honestly!  cool mad

I’m sure they are wondering why the forums are about a 1/3 busy as they used to be.  I love DAZ but yea, got better things to do…. C’ya later..

 Signature 

    —- Wolff On The Prowl—-

Pan Project

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 November 2012 02:41 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1327 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  217
Joined  2005-04-05

I have a friend, in fact she turned me onto 3D art and DAZ in the first place, who tried to purchase the new Horse starter bundle, the same night it came out. She got all the way to the final screen, double checked the price and found it had DOUBLED on her. Even with her using the 6 dollar coupon. Needless to say she cancelled the order.

She’s been unhappy with Daz since the switch and this made it worse.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 November 2012 03:37 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1328 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4545
Joined  2007-09-13

I think many of the problems are not on DAZ’s end.

I’ve been researching Cloudflare and it seems many of the problems here are seen more often on Cloudflare enabled sites.  Often it boils down to security measures in place or caching by Cloudflare.  Also, they seem to be dependent on routing…Cloudflare has 23 data centers around the globe, and some of the issues seem to happen when routed to one data center and not another.  It’s as if Cloudflare’s internal syncing is out of balance.

Now, the big question…why Cloudflare.

DAZ is not a large company and does not have the resources to have all their own servers and do completely in-house hosting.  I think we can all agree on that statement.  So that means they need some sort of outside hosting.  Cloudflare is highly recommended and reasonably priced.

Is it the best ‘fit’?

Not too sure about that one…on paper, it probably does look good.  And for the majority of the visitors/customers…little or no problems, but not for everyone.

 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 November 2012 05:56 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1329 ]
Addict
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5529
Joined  2005-04-16
RAMWolff - 30 November 2012 10:12 AM

Are we like almost to a year of this bs now?

Richard, not quite a year, unless you count how long they’ve had the software in house.  The new site went live on May 16…so it’s 28 weeks and 2 days…that’s six months…which is insanely long for this to still be going on anyway.

Dana

 Signature 

Old post count: 7511

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 November 2012 08:49 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1330 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4538
Joined  2004-08-11

I knew you would come along and correct me Dana.  raspberry Thanks… I knew we were getting close!

 Signature 

    —- Wolff On The Prowl—-

Pan Project

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 December 2012 07:15 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1331 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2366
Joined  2003-12-06

Maybe not much of a glitch, but a glitch nonetheless. When I click on a link in a forum reply e-mail, I get taken to the right thread but not to the right post. Seems to have been happening for the last couple of days. Anyone else seeing this?

 Signature 

Gone to Vegas to play poker. Back when I run out of clothes.—Your Muse.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 December 2012 07:20 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1332 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8546
Joined  2007-11-06

I’ve been seeing this recently, seems to be related to images not loading quickly enough.

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ

Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips starting July 2013
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Plugin Version Numbers for DS 4.5
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 December 2012 03:24 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1333 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5782
Joined  2006-02-20

I’ve seen it too - additionally I can’t get the “link to post” to work.  #1331, for example.
Go here:
http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/6841/P105/#178644
Go to post #116
Click on the link to this post
Fun - or not ...

 Signature 

I like Bryce, DazStudio, Poser and Vue ... in alphabetical order. And I would probably like Carrara too, if I could find the time to become acquainted with it. Peace?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 December 2012 11:07 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1334 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4538
Joined  2004-08-11
Kerya - 02 December 2012 03:24 AM

I’ve seen it too - additionally I can’t get the “link to post” to work.  #1331, for example.
Go here:
http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/6841/P105/#178644
Go to post #116
Click on the link to this post
Fun - or not ...

Yup, they had this working fine but now…..  cool mad  My Fantasy Drops DS 4.5 MATS are #116 but the stupid code loads the page at top of the page.  Yea, this is just NOT OK!  Why must they fix things and then break them again?  Can’t they lock the code that’s actually working well?  Makes no sense to me.

 Signature 

    —- Wolff On The Prowl—-

Pan Project

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 December 2012 12:31 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1335 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  564
Joined  2007-02-16

I’ve had that happen as well, and it has nothing to do with images. It’s happening on this topic, where the only images are avatars and a few signature ones that are already loaded into my browser cache so they load almost as fast as they would on a high speed connection (rather than my own lol). With the images saved and coming up almost instantly (and the fact that no image on this page is big enough to push the page up/down while it’s loading from whatever post it’s supposed to load on) it’s still doing it to me.

I keep clicking the new post link, and it’s taking me several posts earlier than where it should. For example, the link I clicked should have taken me to Kerya’s post (2 posts above this one, # 1333) but it loaded immediatly to SpottedKitty’s post (several posts above Kerya’s, # 1331).

It did this yesterday and the day before, and not just this topic. The others usually do have more graphics and I have seen where that can be a problem, however both this thread and the Freebie alert thread in the PC forum do NOT have graphics that would cause this issue.

Please pass this issue along. Enough people are having it and it does seem to be an actual problem. The last time when we had issues staying subscribed, we were told it wasn’t a Daz problem and it was something we could use a workaround to fix. That shouldn’t be the case. We shouldn’t have to come up with a bunch of workarounds to get things to work right :(

Profile
 
 
   
89 of 91
89