Digital Art Zone

 
   
1 of 2
1
I have DS 4.5.1.6 but still can’t use Uber Area Lights
Posted: 12 November 2012 01:45 PM   [ Ignore ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  965
Joined  2008-04-29

DS crashes when I try to render a scene with Uber Area Lights. I reported this as a bug and was told that it works OK and I should try installing the Genesis Starter Essentials 1.6 in case there was still an old version of Uber Area Lights in my content. Doing this didn’t work and I don’t know what else to try. The UberAreaLight Base is a .dsa file from 2012. Seems weird to me that it’s not a later file and a .duf.

 Signature 

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club
My deviantART gallery: http://lucia45.deviantart.com/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 November 2012 02:22 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15734
Joined  2003-10-09

My preset is a .dsa from February, so that doesn’t sound wrong - of course that’s only a preset, not the shader itself which is in C:\Program Files\DAZ 3D\DAZStudio4\shaders\DAZ\Uber\surface

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 November 2012 03:44 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  965
Joined  2008-04-29
Richard Haseltine - 12 November 2012 02:22 PM

My preset is a .dsa from February, so that doesn’t sound wrong - of course that’s only a preset, not the shader itself which is in C:\Program Files\DAZ 3D\DAZStudio4\shaders\DAZ\Uber\surface

OK, thanks for that. How do I fix this so I can use Uber Area Lights? Do I submit a ticket with tech support or go to another forum?

 Signature 

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club
My deviantART gallery: http://lucia45.deviantart.com/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 November 2012 04:46 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15734
Joined  2003-10-09

I would try reinstalling both DS and the Starter Essentials. If that doesn’t fix it, try rendering and then when DS crashes go to the log file (C:\Users\You\AppData\Roaming\DAZ 3D\Studio 4\log.txt) and see what the last few messages are.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 November 2012 04:48 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2705
Joined  2012-02-04

Luci45, do you have progressive rendering checked by any chance. That crashes Uber Area lights for me.

 Signature 

New member of the Bald Wizards Club

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 November 2012 05:31 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  965
Joined  2008-04-29
barbult - 12 November 2012 04:48 PM

Luci45, do you have progressive rendering checked by any chance. That crashes Uber Area lights for me.

Wow! Thanks Barbult, that worked. I did have progressive rendering on. When I turned it off, no more crashing. cheese

Thank you, also Richard. I’d rather not reinstall as this same thing happened with 4.5.0.137.

 Signature 

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club
My deviantART gallery: http://lucia45.deviantart.com/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 November 2012 05:38 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2705
Joined  2012-02-04
Luci45 - 12 November 2012 05:31 PM
barbult - 12 November 2012 04:48 PM

Luci45, do you have progressive rendering checked by any chance. That crashes Uber Area lights for me.

Wow! Thanks Barbult, that worked. I did have progressive rendering on. When I turned it off, no more crashing. cheese

Thank you, also Richard. I’d rather not reinstall as this same thing happened with 4.5.0.137.

I’m glad that worked for you! I’m going to go file a bug report right now. When I discovered the problem, I didn’t have a Mantis account. I do now.

 Signature 

New member of the Bald Wizards Club

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 November 2012 05:44 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  965
Joined  2008-04-29
barbult - 12 November 2012 05:38 PM
Luci45 - 12 November 2012 05:31 PM
barbult - 12 November 2012 04:48 PM

Luci45, do you have progressive rendering checked by any chance. That crashes Uber Area lights for me.

Wow! Thanks Barbult, that worked. I did have progressive rendering on. When I turned it off, no more crashing. cheese

Thank you, also Richard. I’d rather not reinstall as this same thing happened with 4.5.0.137.

I’m glad that worked for you! I’m going to go file a bug report right now. When I discovered the problem, I didn’t have a Mantis account. I do now.

Yes, I remember you couldn’t access it. I am also going to report this - they have been ignoring me since Thursday. Maybe if two people tell them the same thing they will be more interested.

 Signature 

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club
My deviantART gallery: http://lucia45.deviantart.com/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 November 2012 12:29 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2705
Joined  2012-02-04
Luci45 - 12 November 2012 05:44 PM
barbult - 12 November 2012 05:38 PM
Luci45 - 12 November 2012 05:31 PM
barbult - 12 November 2012 04:48 PM

Luci45, do you have progressive rendering checked by any chance. That crashes Uber Area lights for me.

Wow! Thanks Barbult, that worked. I did have progressive rendering on. When I turned it off, no more crashing. cheese

Thank you, also Richard. I’d rather not reinstall as this same thing happened with 4.5.0.137.

I’m glad that worked for you! I’m going to go file a bug report right now. When I discovered the problem, I didn’t have a Mantis account. I do now.

Yes, I remember you couldn’t access it. I am also going to report this - they have been ignoring me since Thursday. Maybe if two people tell them the same thing they will be more interested.

Well, reporting it didn’t do us much good , did it!

 Signature 

New member of the Bald Wizards Club

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 November 2012 01:05 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  965
Joined  2008-04-29
barbult - 13 November 2012 12:29 PM
Luci45 - 12 November 2012 05:44 PM
barbult - 12 November 2012 05:38 PM
Luci45 - 12 November 2012 05:31 PM
barbult - 12 November 2012 04:48 PM

Luci45, do you have progressive rendering checked by any chance. That crashes Uber Area lights for me.

Wow! Thanks Barbult, that worked. I did have progressive rendering on. When I turned it off, no more crashing. cheese

Thank you, also Richard. I’d rather not reinstall as this same thing happened with 4.5.0.137.

I’m glad that worked for you! I’m going to go file a bug report right now. When I discovered the problem, I didn’t have a Mantis account. I do now.

Yes, I remember you couldn’t access it. I am also going to report this - they have been ignoring me since Thursday. Maybe if two people tell them the same thing they will be more interested.

Well, reporting it didn’t do us much good , did it!

I just got a reply from Mantis Bug Tracker:

“OK, that makes much more sense. Progressive rendering causes serious memory spikes and crashes when you push it past the limits of your machine.”

Sounds OK, I don’t really need Progressive rendering and had no idea it “causes serious memory spikes.”

Thanks again for your help. I probably never would have figured that out and DAZ never mentioned it as far as I know.

 Signature 

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club
My deviantART gallery: http://lucia45.deviantart.com/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 November 2012 03:01 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  175
Joined  2012-08-07

Thank you all so much for this thread, I was having the same problem with the area lights and IG Studio lights. Contacted DAZ and was told they could not recreate the conditions that were causing the area lights to crash Studio, was also told that IG Studio lights don’t work in Studio 4.5 and was offered a refund if the purchase was less than 30 days (which I didn’t take them up on).

Seeing this thread I turned off Progressive Rendering and it worked, re-installed IG Studio Lights set up a scene and it rendered fine, so now I am a happy chappy, Thanks again barbult and Luci45

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 December 2012 09:53 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  110
Joined  2011-11-17

I’ve just updated my Daz4 to 4.5pro a few days ago so I have the latest build. Learning to render with 3delight. Testing a simple scene with Tori Genesis, with one single IBL sphere with Uber Area Light base. Encountered the same crash issue above. Eventually found the ‘turn off progressive rendering” solution. Works for me now. Thanks a bunch guys and gals. Amazing my 64bit x5670 (i7 equiv) with 12G RAM can’t handle the spike…

Now to the next render weirdness.. Tori’s skin rendered with vertex lines. I loaded Gabi material on her, same issue. The render settings I use is the default one. Am I missing something obvious? Please advice.

 

Image Attachments
daz_render1.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 December 2012 02:11 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  108
Joined  2012-02-05

Ok just out of curiosity; what is the point on progressive rendering sounds to me it’s actually bloody useless.


Also I’m sometimes seeing the same weird artifacts as in the post above when using UE2 so a why would be appreciated

 Signature 

My images on Deviant Art

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 December 2012 02:32 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8335
Joined  2009-05-14

Shading Rate to low, as in too high a value…lower is better…higher is not. smile


In the Advanced Render Settings Pane look for the shading rate and lowered it to , start at .50 and do a test render or lower until it disappears.

These settings is your main Quality control centre. The only other areas of quality you need to take in to consideration is UberEnvironment2 (UE2) as it has some further controls included which need adjusting too Learning UberEnvironment2


Old but good info on Render settings

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Facebook

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 December 2012 03:11 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  108
Joined  2012-02-05
Szark - 01 December 2012 02:32 PM

Shading Rate to low, as in too high a value…lower is better…higher is not. smile


In the Advanced Render Settings Pane look for the shading rate and lowered it to , start at .50 and do a test render or lower until it disappears.

These settings is your main Quality control centre. The only other areas of quality you need to take in to consideration is UberEnvironment2 (UE2) as it has some further controls included which need adjusting too Learning UberEnvironment2


Old but good info on Render settings


I actually knew about the shading rate but in some cases that just doesn’t seem to do the trick, so I was sorta hoping there was something I missed somewhere.

 Signature 

My images on Deviant Art

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 December 2012 03:54 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  442
Joined  2004-04-07

The actual cause of the mesh showing is most likely Shadow Minimum Bias settings too low.

Sometimes a finer shading rate will solve it, sometimes you can increase the subdivisions, sometimes even a change of camera angle!
Changing the Shadow Bias should always solve it. Every light has its own Shadow Bias setting (including UE) so you have to find the one that’s causing it.

 Signature 

regards
prixat

Profile
 
 
   
1 of 2
1